Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > General Topics > General Computer & Tech Discussion
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-25-2016, 10:54 PM   #101
RJARRRPCGP
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
City & State: North Springfield, Vermont
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 123-127V 61.5-63.5 Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4,759
Default Re: Win7 updates for upgrading to Win10

Quote:
Originally Posted by Topcat View Post
Linux to me in the past was nothing more than a command prompt....but using it as a desktop OS, its like learning to walk all over again for some of the simplest tasks & settings.
LOL @ the command prompt part... But even back in the Bush era, a GUI was a standard thing in Linux!

I hated that part where it feels like learning to walk again! But, I was able to get a usable Gentoo in summer of 2010!

KDE after 3x is bloated! Compiling KDE made me feel like I was on a 486 SX at 25 Mhz, if not a 386! (You know the chips where even Duke Nukem 3D in 320x240 is slow! LOL!)
__________________
Asus P6T6 WS Revolution

Core i7 Extreme "Bloomfield" 965

Asus Strix GeForce GTX 970

Windows 7 SP1

SoundBlaster ZXR

Corsair TX850M PSU

Looks like I have a laptop that kills a desktop PC!

Received on November 4, 2019:
MSI GF63 Thin 9SC-649US


"There's nothing more unattractive than a chick smoking a cigarette" -Topcat

"Don't eat yellow snow!" -Salem

"did I see a chair fly? I think I did! Time for popcorn!" -ratdude747

Last edited by RJARRRPCGP; 12-25-2016 at 10:58 PM..
RJARRRPCGP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2017, 12:01 PM   #102
Per Hansson
Super Moderator
 
Per Hansson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
City & State: ----
My Country: Sweden
Line Voltage: 230v 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4,314
Default Re: The 2017 Operating System Thread

I'll just put this here:
https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/...-processor-tha

More details:
http://www.techspot.com/news/68553-m...ates-kaby.html
__________________
"The one who says it cannot be done should never interrupt the one who is doing it."
Per Hansson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2017, 12:12 PM   #103
TELVM
Badcaps Veteran
 
TELVM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
City & State: Madrid
My Country: Spain
Line Voltage: 230V 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 534
Default Re: The 2017 Operating System Thread

You may find this video of interest: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u5mFI9spp10
TELVM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2017, 07:14 PM   #104
Topcat
The Boss Stooge
 
Topcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
City & State: Salem, MO
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 240V @ 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 12,588
Default Re: Win7 updates for upgrading to Win10

People still trust & use windows update?
__________________
<--- Badcaps.net Founder & Owner

Badcaps.net Services:

Premade Capacitor Kits
Badcaps.net Capacitor Master List


Motherboard Repair Services


If you've come here in search of replacement capacitors or repair services, please use the links above.
----------------------------------------------
Badcaps.net Forum Members Folding Team
http://folding.stanford.edu/
Team : 49813
Join in!!
Team Stats
Topcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2017, 01:48 PM   #105
grss1982
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
City & State: Cebu
My Country: Philippines
Line Voltage: 220V
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 213
Default Re: Win7 updates for upgrading to Win10

Quote:
Originally Posted by Topcat View Post
People still trust & use windows update?
I certainly don't. Just install and then turn off Windows Updates.

Have not had a problem or a even virus with my current Windows 7 installation since 2013.

Now only if Windows 10 had this ability to make Windows Update stay dead when I tell it to, I would be upgrading to it.
__________________
CPU: Sempron 2500+ / P4 2.8E / P4 2.6C / A64 x2 4000+ / E6420 / E8500 / i5-3470 / i7-3770
GPU: TNT2 M64 / Radeon 9000 / MX 440-SE / 7300GT / Radeon 4670 / GTS 250 / Radeon 7950 / 660 Ti

RIG 1: Intel i7 3770 | MSI B75MA-P45 | ASUS GTX 660 Ti DirectCU (2GB DDR5 | 16GB of DDR3 RAM (4x4GB) | 2x1TB SATA HDD (W.D. & Seagate | 1x500GB (W.D.) | ASUS DVD-RW | 22" LG LED (1920x1080) | Seasonic S12II-620 PSU | Antec 300 | Windows 7 Ultimate with SP1
grss1982 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2017, 07:26 PM   #106
momaka
Badcaps Veteran
 
momaka's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
City & State: VA (NoVA)
My Country: U.S.A.
Line Voltage: 120 VAC, 60 Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 9,065
Default Re: Win7 updates for upgrading to Win10

Quote:
Originally Posted by grss1982 View Post
Now only if Windows 10 had this ability to make Windows Update stay dead when I tell it to, I would be upgrading to it.
There's more (negatives) to Windows 10 than just the Automatic Updates. For one, it sends who knows what kind of personal data back to MS. With Windows 10, your PC is basically NOT yours at all.

That aside, at least the Automatic Updates in Windows 10 are not as irritating (dare I say even somewhat unnoticeable), unlike in previous versions of Windows. So for Windows 10, I don't mind the updates that much - at least on the PCs we have at work. If I got a PC with Win 10 on it, I probably wouldn't use it for anything more than an internet browser. All of my important documents and files are to remain on my Win XP PCs.
momaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2017, 05:01 PM   #107
theDoctor
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
City & State: Kentucky
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 6
Default Re: Win7 updates for upgrading to Win10

I'd like to install a security update to protect against the WannaCry exploit released by the NSA.

Microsoft has released stand-alone patches for most operating systems. These patches are very small file sizes. Yet, apparently, the only way to update Win7 is with a larger Security Rollup which includes god knows what else.

Why no stand-alone patch for Win 7? Here is a list of current OS patches:

http://www.catalog.update.microsoft....aspx?q=4012598
theDoctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2017, 05:02 PM   #108
Topcat
The Boss Stooge
 
Topcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
City & State: Salem, MO
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 240V @ 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 12,588
Default Re: Win7 updates for upgrading to Win10

^
M$ wants to kill off W7, like they had a hell of a time doing with XP.
Topcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2017, 05:22 PM   #109
theDoctor
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
City & State: Kentucky
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 6
Default Re: Win7 updates for upgrading to Win10

Maybe home users on a protected wireless network aren't vulnerable. I'm not sharing files on a network. I don't really know what the Server Message Block (SMB) vulnerability means but perhaps my home network is ok, using only good antivirus software?
theDoctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2017, 05:51 PM   #110
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 21,456
Default Re: Win7 updates for upgrading to Win10

i suspect this will go under any security software.
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2017, 09:08 PM   #111
ratdude747
Black Sheep
 
ratdude747's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
City & State: Madison, IN
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 16,054
Default Re: Win7 updates for upgrading to Win10

Quote:
Originally Posted by theDoctor View Post
Maybe home users on a protected wireless network aren't vulnerable. I'm not sharing files on a network. I don't really know what the Server Message Block (SMB) vulnerability means but perhaps my home network is ok, using only good antivirus software?
You're screwed as soon as some twit gets on your network/wifi and clicks the link. SMB is what domains and workgroups (and mapped drives for that matter) run on... it's highly integrated into the core of the OS AFAIK. Without the patch or completely isolating (unplugged cables, disabled wifi) your computers from any and all networks the vulnerability exists. Even if AV catches it, it's too late, some/all of the damage will have already been done.

My understanding was that MS had no idea as the NSA found it and sat on it rather than quietly let MS know that they had a problem. Had the NSA not been hacked several months ago MS probably still wouldn't have known that pre-windows 10 SMB had an issue.

I don't think MS did this intentionally... I think that the NSA stumbled upon a backdoor before they had a chance to "ask" for one to be added. I couldn't see them adding this big of a hole and not doing anything about it for 4+ major (not counting windows server) operating systems. As for 10 not having the issue, my understanding was that for windows 10 SMB was redone and as a result the issue didn't exist in the new version of the SMB stack to begin with.

Just my $0.02
__________________


(Insert witty quote here)

Last edited by ratdude747; 05-16-2017 at 09:12 PM..
ratdude747 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2017, 09:10 PM   #112
theDoctor
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
City & State: Kentucky
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 6
Default Re: Win7 updates for upgrading to Win10

I'm sure you're right. Assuming that you and others are running
win7 with a limited number of security updates installed (the purpose of this thread), do you intend to install the security rollup put out by microsoft to protect against WannaCry? If not, what is your plan moving forward? Thanks
theDoctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2017, 10:00 PM   #113
RJARRRPCGP
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
City & State: North Springfield, Vermont
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 123-127V 61.5-63.5 Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4,759
Default Re: Win7 updates for upgrading to Win10

Quote:
Originally Posted by RJARRRPCGP View Post

Compiling KDE made me feel like I was on a 486 SX at 25 Mhz, if not a 386! (You know the chips where even Duke Nukem 3D in 320x240 is slow! LOL!)
And that reminds me of my 386 SX, IIRC, where NES emulation with Nesticle, was slllooowww!

And regarding Windows, WSUSOffline wins again!

There's an issue, which may still exist, where wsusscn2.cab is corrupted and the workaround is to change the DNS server!

When the cab is corrupted, it usually can't be more obvious, because if you double click on the cab, the cab file viewer will scream "Cannot open the cabinet file" or similar.

7-zip also will scream as well...

But, for me, wsusscn2.cab hasn't been corrupted for likely 5 or 4 months now...

Last edited by RJARRRPCGP; 05-16-2017 at 10:13 PM..
RJARRRPCGP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2017, 10:34 PM   #114
theDoctor
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
City & State: Kentucky
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 6
Default Re: Win7 updates for upgrading to Win10

Quote:
Assuming that you and others are running win7 with a limited number of security updates installed (the purpose of this thread), do you intend to install the security rollup put out by microsoft to protect against WannaCry? If not, what is your plan moving forward? Thanks
This is what I did to protect my Win7 system from the WannaCry exploit. Please comment on whether you think this is effective.

Setup: WannaCry exploits outdated SMBv1 protocols. So, disable SMBv1. Do not disable SMBv2 or SMBv3.

I followed the instructions under 'How to enable or disable SMB protocols on the SMB client' (will post the link at the bottom). *My laptop isn't a server, so it must be the client, right?

It's a very simple copy/paste of two lines, into an elevated command prompt. To get an elevated command prompt, right-click the command prompt and choose Run as administrator.

Paste, or type, the commands one at a time and hit Enter each time. Here they are:
To disable SMBv1 on the SMB client, run the following commands:
sc.exe config lanmanworkstation depend= bowser/mrxsmb20/nsi
sc.exe config mrxsmb10 start= disabled

See the attachment for a screenshot showing the command prompt after entering both commands.

Here's a link to the instructions per Microsoft.
https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/...ws-server-2012

Feedback?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg command_prompt1.jpg (26.7 KB, 12 views)

Last edited by theDoctor; 05-16-2017 at 10:35 PM..
theDoctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2017, 11:58 AM   #115
Topcat
The Boss Stooge
 
Topcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
City & State: Salem, MO
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 240V @ 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 12,588
Default Re: Win7 updates for upgrading to Win10

My NAS is running S2K8R1, patched up...and that's the only system that has real data contained on it. S2K8R2 is basically Win7....and the patch doesn't work on it....imagine that, since R2 was included in that nonsensical 'rollup'

I did find this:

http://www.catalog.update.microsoft....px?q=KB4012212

Security only patches for S2K8R2 and Win7 without all the telemetry shit of the full rollup.
Topcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2017, 01:26 PM   #116
Per Hansson
Super Moderator
 
Per Hansson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
City & State: ----
My Country: Sweden
Line Voltage: 230v 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4,314
Default Re: Win7 updates for upgrading to Win10

Quote:
Originally Posted by theDoctor View Post
I followed the instructions under 'How to enable or disable SMB protocols on the SMB client' (will post the link at the bottom). *My laptop isn't a server, so it must be the client, right?
<snip>
Feedback?
Actually if you connect from another system, say using WannaCry to your laptop then it is performing the duty of a SMB server.
At least that is how I interpret it...
Per Hansson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2017, 07:44 PM   #117
theDoctor
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
City & State: Kentucky
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 6
Default Re: Win7 updates for upgrading to Win10

Quote:

I did find this:

http://www.catalog.update.microsoft....px?q=KB4012212

Security only patches for S2K8R2 and Win7 without all the telemetry shit of the full rollup.
This is great. I read some stuff about Microsoft putting non-security items in "Security" updates. Are you pretty sure about this being legit?

Thanks for the link!
theDoctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2017, 02:56 AM   #118
Per Hansson
Super Moderator
 
Per Hansson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
City & State: ----
My Country: Sweden
Line Voltage: 230v 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4,314
Default Re: Win7 updates for upgrading to Win10

^^Yes it's much better, still they do sneak some stuff in.
Like this blasphemy:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...914#post733914
Per Hansson is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2019
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:46 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?