Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > General Topics > General Computer & Tech Discussion
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools
Old 12-12-2012, 10:26 PM   #41
Shocker
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
City & State: Albany, Western Australia
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
Posts: 635
Default Re: The ghetto mod thread

Quote:
Nice mod, though. I really need to try something similar for some of my HDDs as well. This old IBM Deskstar DTLA-305030 in my daily-use P3 computer drives me nuts sometimes. Actually, I don't think I'll be able to silence it, even if I used 3x the insulation you did. When it's reading/writing lots of random files, it sounds as if the heads are literally banging on the platters. I've never heard such loud heads in a hard drive before.
I don't know whether it supports AAM, but try it and tell me what happens.

Quote:
Bearings are quite noisy too.
Maybe you could try something like this:

http://www.silentpcreview.com/article67-page1.html

Or just get another drive with a FDB motor.
Shocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 09:45 AM   #42
TELVM
Badcaps Veteran
 
TELVM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
City & State: Madrid
My Country: Spain
Line Voltage: 230V 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 534
Default Re: The ghetto mod thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by momaka View Post
... the HP case it's in has great acoustics, so all of that noise is amplified at least 10x ... Oh and that thing runs hot too. It's 20 to 21C in my house right now, and it still manages to run at 36 to 40C. In the summer when it's close to 27C in the house, this thing easily reaches 44+C. I can't even imagine how hot it would run in a tight insulated enclosure ...
Enclosing such a hot rod could fry it, but you could try decoupling it from the case to kill resonant vibrations, which sometimes are the main source of noise from HDDs:

http://www.silentpcreview.com/article8-page2.html

http://www.silentpcreview.com/article109-page1.html

http://www.silentpcreview.com/article39-page1.html

Even after enclosing my WD with the black box, vibrations were still transmitted to the case frame. Then I suspended the box from elastic bands and vibrations finally disappeared.



However the best procedure for silencing HDDs is replacing them with SSDs . If SSDs weren't still so expensive per GB I would have totally discarded platters.

And this gives me the excuse to torment you with another of my mods:
The Poor Man's SSD

First we get a CF card, the larger and faster the better. I got a Trascend 8GB 400x.


Then we get an IDE adapter for CF cards:






(Careful here: Desktop PCs use 40-pin IDE, while laptops use 44-pin IDE, so adapters are not interchangeable).

Then we plug it in our dinosaur PIII:


Problem now is that Windows XP will try to break our party labelling it as 'removable device' and complaining that it's not a boot drive. So we cheat XP with the Hitachi microfilter trick (scroll down to 'On flash drive only the first partition works'):

http://www.uwe-sieber.de/usbtrouble_e.html

Now that we can smoothly boot XP from the CF card, next problem is that, unlike Se7en, XP doesn't correctly align the partition. So we use Paragon to correctly align it (otherwise there will be stuttering when writing to the CF card):




Then we finally enjoy the much faster access times from our flash CF card, even under the castrating UDMA33 of this ancient i440BX PIII carrack.

Last edited by TELVM; 12-13-2012 at 10:26 AM..
TELVM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 02:27 PM   #43
Junk Parts
Court Jester
 
Junk Parts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
City & State: Baltimore-A Rat Hole With A Harbor
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC@60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 8,725
Default Re: The ghetto mod thread

This is my world. I wish it had more neat computer sruff in it.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q972LRH0OzQ
__________________
“It ain't what you don't know that gets you into
trouble. It's what you know for sure that just ain't so.”
Mark Twain
"I wish to have no connection with any ship that does not sail fast; for I intend to go in harm's way."
John Paul Jones

There is a fifth dimension, beyond that which is known to man. It is a dimension as vast as space and as timeless as infinity. It is the middle ground between light and shadow, between science and superstition, and it lies between the pit of man's fears and the summit of his knowledge. This is the dimension of imagination. It is an area which we call the Twilight Zone.

Rod Serling
Junk Parts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 03:18 PM   #44
ben7
Capaholic
 
ben7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
City & State: Trenton, NJ
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 240/120V 60Hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 3,982
Default Re: The ghetto mod thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by TELVM View Post
Enclosing such a hot rod could fry it, but you could try decoupling it from the case to kill resonant vibrations, which sometimes are the main source of noise from HDDs:

http://www.silentpcreview.com/article8-page2.html

http://www.silentpcreview.com/article109-page1.html

http://www.silentpcreview.com/article39-page1.html

Even after enclosing my WD with the black box, vibrations were still transmitted to the case frame. Then I suspended the box from elastic bands and vibrations finally disappeared.



However the best procedure for silencing HDDs is replacing them with SSDs . If SSDs weren't still so expensive per GB I would have totally discarded platters.

And this gives me the excuse to torment you with another of my mods:
The Poor Man's SSD

First we get a CF card, the larger and faster the better. I got a Trascend 8GB 400x.


Then we get an IDE adapter for CF cards:






(Careful here: Desktop PCs use 40-pin IDE, while laptops use 44-pin IDE, so adapters are not interchangeable).

Then we plug it in our dinosaur PIII:


Problem now is that Windows XP will try to break our party labelling it as 'removable device' and complaining that it's not a boot drive. So we cheat XP with the Hitachi microfilter trick (scroll down to 'On flash drive only the first partition works'):

http://www.uwe-sieber.de/usbtrouble_e.html

Now that we can smoothly boot XP from the CF card, next problem is that, unlike Se7en, XP doesn't correctly align the partition. So we use Paragon to correctly align it (otherwise there will be stuttering when writing to the CF card):




Then we finally enjoy the much faster access times from our flash CF card, even under the castrating UDMA33 of this ancient i440BX PIII carrack.
Wow! How well does that work?

Would it be possible to make home-made adapters for those.

I am intrigued
__________________
Muh-soggy-knee
ben7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 03:37 PM   #45
Topcat
The Boss Stooge
 
Topcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
City & State: Salem, MO
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 240V @ 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 12,596
Default Re: The ghetto mod thread

^
I'm intrigued as well....where do you get the adapters? I could see all kinds of interesting uses for that, especially for field servicing.
__________________
<--- Badcaps.net Founder & Owner

Badcaps.net Services:

Premade Capacitor Kits
Badcaps.net Capacitor Master List


Motherboard Repair Services


If you've come here in search of replacement capacitors or repair services, please use the links above.
----------------------------------------------
Badcaps.net Forum Members Folding Team
http://folding.stanford.edu/
Team : 49813
Join in!!
Team Stats
Topcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 04:36 PM   #46
TELVM
Badcaps Veteran
 
TELVM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
City & State: Madrid
My Country: Spain
Line Voltage: 230V 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 534
Default Re: The ghetto mod thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by ben7 View Post
Wow! How well does that work?
Been working flawlessly for a year or so. However (politically correct disclaimer follows) CF cards aren't designed for this application, so try it at your own risk.

Quote:
Would it be possible to make home-made adapters for those.
I'm sure you electronics gurus could DIY it easily.

http://pinouts.ru/DiskCables/ide2cf_cable_pinout.shtml



Quote:
Originally Posted by Topcat
where do you get the adapters?
Got it from Amazon Spain for 12€ or so. In the US you can get it everywhere, just search for 'CF IDE adapter':

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...dapter&x=0&y=0

http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_no...cf+ide+adapter


BTW with Windows 98SE it's even easier, just plug&play, no tricks needed.

Last edited by TELVM; 12-13-2012 at 04:56 PM..
TELVM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2012, 01:50 PM   #47
eccerr0r
Solder Sloth
 
eccerr0r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
City & State: CO
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 4,360
Default Re: The ghetto mod thread

I was looking into the CF-IDE adaptor solution and it tends to be more expensive than getting a real SSD per GB except if you don't have SATA ports... or if you can get the CF cards cheap.

It seems to work quite well as long as the CF card supports the old PCMCIA IDE mode - as CF is a subset of PCMCIA, most of them do support IDE mode transfers. I used to use it on one of my embedded boxes with a 1G CF card. Have to watch out, some cheap CF-IDE adaptors don't have DMA wired, and some CF cards don't support DMA. The former causes hell to break loose if the CF card supports it, and the latter is very slow...

I modded two of these "broken" CF-IDE adaptors with bits of 30-gauge kynar wire to support DMA/UDMA... would that be called ghetto?

Last edited by eccerr0r; 12-16-2012 at 01:53 PM..
eccerr0r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2012, 06:26 PM   #48
momaka
Badcaps Veteran
 
momaka's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
City & State: VA (NoVA)
My Country: U.S.A.
Line Voltage: 120 VAC, 60 Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 9,069
Default Re: The ghetto mod thread

Here's a failed attempt at ghetto modding that I tried a few weeks ago:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/attachm...1&d=1356135914
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/attachm...1&d=1356135914
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/attachm...1&d=1356135914
Basically, a friend of mine gave me 2 "naked" HiPro PSUs. I wanted to just take the cases from some of the low-end junk PSUs I had, but it turned out the spacing for the mounting holes on the PCBs of these HiPro PSUs was slightly different. This called for a custom PSU case! (Or so I thought.) Unfortunately, the roll of galvanized steel sheet I had was too thin (probably 24 AWG or more). After bending into the above shape, it still felt very very flimsy. Actually, I still think there's a way to make it work. However, I have put this whole project on hold/at the end of the queue because I wanted to get at least 1 of these HiPro PSUs running so I could use it for testing. Last week, I was finally able to complete a case for the other, but I haven't taken pictures of that yet. It's , but not as much as my failed attempt above.

Also, here's another non-computer project of mine - this one worked, though:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/attachm...1&d=1356135914
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/attachm...1&d=1356135914
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/attachm...1&d=1356135914
In case anyone is wondering what it is... it's a 9.6V "battery-powered" drill hooked to a 203W Xbox 360 power supply . I've used it only once so far, but it works. I still don't trust it too much, though, just because that brown wire I used is only 20 AWG and the drill has a 550 size motor in it (so it probably uses a few good amps at 12V). Also, the brown wire is very hard so it's kind of annoying to work with the drill. But even if that wasn't so, I still prefer our corded Ryobi drill - it's much stronger and more fun to use .
Attached Images
File Type: jpg custom PSU case (1).jpg (261.6 KB, 197 views)
File Type: jpg custom PSU case (2).jpg (333.3 KB, 157 views)
File Type: jpg custom PSU case (3).jpg (120.6 KB, 133 views)
File Type: jpg Xbox 360 drill (1).jpg (212.8 KB, 154 views)
File Type: jpg Xbox 360 drill (2).jpg (92.3 KB, 114 views)
File Type: jpg Xbox 360 drill (3).jpg (86.0 KB, 118 views)
momaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2013, 05:02 AM   #49
Per Hansson
Super Moderator
 
Per Hansson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
City & State: ----
My Country: Sweden
Line Voltage: 230v 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4,315
Default Re: The ghetto mod thread

Aww yeah!

http://www.jonnyguru.com/forums/showthread.php?t=9708
__________________
"The one who says it cannot be done should never interrupt the one who is doing it."
Per Hansson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2013, 08:55 AM   #50
TELVM
Badcaps Veteran
 
TELVM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
City & State: Madrid
My Country: Spain
Line Voltage: 230V 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 534
Default Re: The ghetto mod thread

That's why they switched from iron to aluminum for cylinder heads back in the day, better thermal management.

Reminds me of the Heatsink from Hell.
TELVM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2013, 11:06 PM   #51
momaka
Badcaps Veteran
 
momaka's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
City & State: VA (NoVA)
My Country: U.S.A.
Line Voltage: 120 VAC, 60 Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 9,069
Default Re: The ghetto mod thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by TELVM View Post
Reminds me of the Heatsink from Hell.
I have a 3 GHz Pentium 4 Prescott sitting here that could probably use such a heat sink .
.
.
Here's some handy work I did recently (scroll at the end of that thread to see the pictures):
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showpos...97&postcount=8
Basically, I replaced a SOIC-8 MOSFET with a DPAK MOSFET. Soldered some used up braid on the tab of the DPAK MOSFET as its heat sink. It doubles as a holder for it too .
The hack works and the buck regulator is outputting the proper voltage. Unfortunately, the mobo is still dead. Good thing I didn't waste money on a replacement SOIC-8 MOSFET. I have plenty of DPAK MOSFETs.
momaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2013, 11:14 PM   #52
ratdude747
Black Sheep
 
ratdude747's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
City & State: Madison, IN
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 16,054
Default Re: The ghetto mod thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Topcat View Post
^
I'm intrigued as well....where do you get the adapters? I could see all kinds of interesting uses for that, especially for field servicing.
Fry's sells them... I have one in my junk box as well.
__________________


(Insert witty quote here)
ratdude747 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2013, 10:40 AM   #53
gilly1984
Badcaps Veteran
 
gilly1984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
City & State: Manchester
My Country: UK
Line Voltage: 240VAC 50Hz, or is it 230VAC? God knows, had as low as 206VAC
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 686
Default Re: The ghetto mod thread

I am now an expert at fixing traces on circuit boards, that good you cant even tell where i mended them

The fix/mod/whatever can be found in the audio section on this site.

Amp is now working fine, just a dim vfd

http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthread.php?t=25220
Attached Images
File Type: jpg FILE0645.jpg (579.9 KB, 113 views)
File Type: jpg FILE0647.jpg (685.4 KB, 128 views)
File Type: jpg FILE0649.jpg (619.3 KB, 98 views)
File Type: jpg FILE0650.jpg (574.0 KB, 117 views)
File Type: jpg FILE0651.jpg (531.5 KB, 77 views)
File Type: jpg FILE0656.jpg (491.2 KB, 85 views)
File Type: jpg FILE0657.jpg (510.9 KB, 82 views)
__________________
Do NOT touch heatsinks when testing for voltages as they may be LIVE!
gilly1984 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2013, 08:39 PM   #54
momaka
Badcaps Veteran
 
momaka's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
City & State: VA (NoVA)
My Country: U.S.A.
Line Voltage: 120 VAC, 60 Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 9,069
Default Re: The ghetto mod thread

Cool repair. Glad it works too . One of my friends tried to repair a laptop before but ended up scratching traces on the board badly when he had an "oopsie" moment with the screwdriver. Asked me to mend the traces and I did. Those were all tiny hair-like traces as well going between the CPU and SB and I could solder only to the vias. He never found the original problem with the laptop, though, so it was a complete waste of my time (I kind of knew that already).

On the line of fine repairs, here's an S939 AMD Athlon 64 FX-57 CPU I fixed:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/attachm...1&d=1357267053
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/attachm...1&d=1357267053
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/attachm...1&d=1357267053
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/attachm...1&d=1357267053
This CPU was left by some customer in my friends repair shop and sat on my friend's desk for over a year (if not 2). During that time, the CPU has had various stuff sitting on it. It even took a drop to the floor a few times. As a result, almost all of its pins were severely bent. 2 of them were actually broke when I found it, but as the pictures show, I was able to solder a thin piece of wire from some through-hole 1/4 W resistors. I expected fireworks when I plugged it in my mobo, but it actually worked fine. Unfortunately, my only working S939 motherboard - an AsRock 939Dual-SataII - is a finicky piece of turd that crashes very often even with my Athlon 64 3200+. Installing the FX-57 just made the board crash even more often (in games, that is).

By the way, sorry for the crappy pictures. My camera cannot take such close up shots so I had to use an old camcoder that can only take snapshots in 640x480 res.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg AMD Athlon 64 FX-57 (1).JPG (63.5 KB, 114 views)
File Type: jpg AMD Athlon 64 FX-57 (2).JPG (61.0 KB, 114 views)
File Type: jpg AMD Athlon 64 FX-57 (3).JPG (61.5 KB, 86 views)
File Type: jpg AMD Athlon 64 FX-57 (4).JPG (56.4 KB, 105 views)

Last edited by momaka; 01-03-2013 at 08:43 PM..
momaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2013, 10:04 PM   #55
gilly1984
Badcaps Veteran
 
gilly1984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
City & State: Manchester
My Country: UK
Line Voltage: 240VAC 50Hz, or is it 230VAC? God knows, had as low as 206VAC
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 686
Default Re: The ghetto mod thread

Is it worth the time to fix that cpu? I have no idea about 939 cpus?
gilly1984 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 12:30 AM   #56
loknar28
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
City & State: Westminster, MD
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3
Default Re: The ghetto mod thread


Added a heatsink from an old SGI Origin 200, which allowed me to overclock the router safely in DDWRT. Plus it looks fast.... ;-)
Attached Images
File Type: jpg router_zps65486c4a.jpg (80.6 KB, 488 views)

Last edited by loknar28; 01-04-2013 at 12:34 AM..
loknar28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 12:36 AM   #57
ratdude747
Black Sheep
 
ratdude747's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
City & State: Madison, IN
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 16,054
Exclamation Re: The ghetto mod thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by loknar28 View Post
FYI, don't do what you originally did with the image... Please upload them using the "manage attachments" tool in the new post editor. One uploaded, you can post the internal link inline.

We ask this because offsite images slow down page loading quite a bit and also ruin posts when the offsite image ceases to exist.

Don't worry this time, I fixed it.
ratdude747 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 01:17 AM   #58
c_hegge
Badcaps Veteran
 
c_hegge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
City & State: North Coast, NSW
My Country: Australia
Line Voltage: 240V 50Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 5,052
Default Re: The ghetto mod thread

That router reminds me. I did something like that to a Netgear DGN1000. I might still have it.
__________________
I love putting bad caps and flat batteries in fire and watching them explode!!

No wonder it doesn't work! You installed the jumper wires backwards

Main PC: Core i7 3770K 3.5GHz, Gigabyte GA-Z77M-D3H-MVP, 8GB Kingston HyperX DDR3 1600, 240GB Intel 335 Series SSD, 750GB WD HDD, Sony Optiarc DVD RW, Palit nVidia GTX660 Ti, CoolerMaster N200 Case, Delta DPS-600MB 600W PSU, Hauppauge TV Tuner, Windows 7 Home Premium

Office PC: HP ProLiant ML150 G3, 2x Xeon E5335 2GHz, 4GB DDR2 RAM, 120GB Intel 530 SSD, 2x 250GB HDD, 2x 450GB 15K SAS HDD in RAID 1, 1x 2TB HDD, nVidia 8400GS, Delta DPS-650BB 650W PSU, Windows 7 Pro
c_hegge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 11:15 AM   #59
TELVM
Badcaps Veteran
 
TELVM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
City & State: Madrid
My Country: Spain
Line Voltage: 230V 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 534
Default Re: The ghetto mod thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by momaka View Post
... almost all of its pins were severely bent. 2 of them were actually broke when I found it, but as the pictures show, I was able to solder a thin piece of wire from some through-hole 1/4 W resistors. I expected fireworks when I plugged it in my mobo, but it actually worked fine ...
That's superb craftmanship . Processor pin fiddling is a difficult art that can easily drive you insane . My Tualatin 1400-S is still trembling from the incredibly harsh language it required to run OK in the i440BX mobo .
TELVM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 07:33 PM   #60
kc8adu
Super Moderator
 
kc8adu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
City & State: dayton ohio
My Country: U.S.A!
Line Voltage: 12vdc,120/240vac,480vac 3ph on my bench
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 8,288
Default Re: The ghetto mod thread

looks like my overclocked desk lamp with the altilon led mod.
i dont think there is anything on my workbenches or desk that has not been modded.

Quote:
Originally Posted by loknar28 View Post

Added a heatsink from an old SGI Origin 200, which allowed me to overclock the router safely in DDWRT. Plus it looks fast.... ;-)
kc8adu is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums © 2003 - 2019
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:19 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?