Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > General Topics > General Computer & Tech Discussion
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-16-2018, 09:45 AM   #41
Snayperskaya
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
City & State: N/A
My Country: Brazil
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 45
Default Re: Dell Dimension 1100? ...or is it? The Ultimate Sleeper System

Cool! I didn't know there was microATX sized dual LGA771 boards. All the ones I've seen were EEB. Nice little system you got there.
Snayperskaya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2018, 10:58 AM   #42
Topcat
The Boss Stooge
 
Topcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
City & State: Salem, MO
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 240V @ 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 12,588
Default Re: Dell Dimension 1100? ...or is it? The Ultimate Sleeper System

Just a postscript to this thread with what became of the extra board.....

Celeron Compaq? Couldn't be....


Don't worry, it's not!






Now how cool was all that!! This case came from the house of a heavy smoker....it was nasty & skuzzy, so it had to be hotwashed twice to get the sludge & stench off it. It also needed a moderate amount of modifying for fitment....but what the hell... Some day when I'm dead and gone, this bizarre computer collection will be worth millions!



I built this one with what I had on hand. Its a dual quad-core Xeon E5410 @ 2.33/1333 8gb RAM and a quadro FX4800 GPU.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg x7dca_0151.JPG (242.7 KB, 162 views)
File Type: jpg x7dca_0152.JPG (280.8 KB, 162 views)
File Type: jpg x7dca_0153.JPG (324.5 KB, 162 views)
File Type: jpg x7dca_0154.JPG (322.7 KB, 160 views)
File Type: jpg x7dca_0155.JPG (269.6 KB, 160 views)
__________________
<--- Badcaps.net Founder & Owner

Badcaps.net Services:

Premade Capacitor Kits
Badcaps.net Capacitor Master List


Motherboard Repair Services


If you've come here in search of replacement capacitors or repair services, please use the links above.
----------------------------------------------
Badcaps.net Forum Members Folding Team
http://folding.stanford.edu/
Team : 49813
Join in!!
Team Stats
Topcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2018, 12:16 AM   #43
momaka
Badcaps Veteran
 
momaka's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
City & State: VA (NoVA)
My Country: U.S.A.
Line Voltage: 120 VAC, 60 Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 9,065
Default Re: Dell Dimension 1100? ...or is it? The Ultimate Sleeper System

Man, that looks hella-neat!

And the whole system cooling looks like it will all work together very well, with the CPU fans drawing air through the bottom half of the case, and the GPU + PSU from the top half. I bet it runs cool!
... well, maybe save for that FX4800 perhaps.

But seriously, top-notch system!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Topcat
Some day when I'm dead and gone, this bizarre computer collection will be worth millions!
Yeah, at least to those of us who know what a real computer should be built like / have inside. I don't know if any kids from the newer generations will understand this, though. I tried showing my neighbor's kids how to build a desktop PC with some parts I had on hand (a low-power AM2 AMD quad core and not-that-old of a Gigabyte motherboard in a somewhat modern Dell XPS Studio case). They thought the computer would be super-slow because it looked big (they called the computer box "the CPU", lol). I'm not sure if my teaching session changed their perspective, either, even though that PC is likely a lot more powerful than either of their 1-3 year old laptops... when it comes to games, of course. But I digress.

Last edited by momaka; 03-24-2018 at 12:20 AM..
momaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2018, 09:59 AM   #44
ratdude747
Black Sheep
 
ratdude747's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
City & State: Madison, IN
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 16,054
Default Re: Dell Dimension 1100? ...or is it? The Ultimate Sleeper System

I think I found the case SM intended for these things:

https://www.ebay.com/itm/Generic-mic...torefresh=true

And as I typed this I won the best offer on it. Now I have a project all right...
__________________


(Insert witty quote here)
ratdude747 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2018, 11:03 PM   #45
momaka
Badcaps Veteran
 
momaka's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
City & State: VA (NoVA)
My Country: U.S.A.
Line Voltage: 120 VAC, 60 Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 9,065
Default Re: Dell Dimension 1100? ...or is it? The Ultimate Sleeper System

^ Nice deal on that case. Seriously, $20 for a case like that is an absolute steel. (lame pun, I know... but fitting ).
momaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2018, 11:09 AM   #46
Topcat
The Boss Stooge
 
Topcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
City & State: Salem, MO
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 240V @ 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 12,588
Default Re: Dell Dimension 1100? ...or is it? The Ultimate Sleeper System

The only external hint that things may not be as they appear to be...

Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20180425_105842.jpg (280.1 KB, 109 views)
Topcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2019, 01:22 PM   #47
Topcat
The Boss Stooge
 
Topcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
City & State: Salem, MO
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 240V @ 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 12,588
Default Re: Dell Dimension 1100? ...or is it? The Ultimate Sleeper System

My ohh my...............

Attached Images
File Type: jpg x7dca_3335.JPG (305.6 KB, 75 views)
Topcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2019, 12:44 PM   #48
Dan81
SNES-powered
 
Dan81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
City & State: Romania
My Country: Bacau
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 986
Default Re: Dell Dimension 1100? ...or is it? The Ultimate Sleeper System

Reminds me of 2 PCs I just revamped.

First one was a Davio "Gamer" - yeah right.

Original specs were a Sempron 2000+ Skt462 with a noname 400W PSU and a 80GB drive running XP, all in a pretty nice Delux MG760 case which imitates a BMW M3.

The new specs are a recapped 500W FSP Bluestorm II, a Core 2 Quad Q9400 (wanted to go for a X5450 but haven't found any), a Gigabyte EP45T-DS3R and 8GB of DDR3 RAM, as well as a 1TB drive and a GTX750Ti.

The second one was some noname Athlon XP 2500+ machine that was halfway gutted. When I bought it, the only things left were the case (made by JNC) , the mobo (ASRock K7S41GX) and that's pretty much all. Not to mention the rooftop on this one was pretty bent. I had a few pieces left from two other cases I trashed, which fortunately used the same kind of metal frame.

Now it sports a recapped Raidmax RX-500XT (made by Pangu Power, and it's pretty decent), a ASUS P5QD Turbo, an plexiglass sidepanel (factory made by JNC, which is something), about 320GB of storage, 4GB of DDR2, a MSI DVD-RW and a Gainward GT630.


The former one with the BMW case is now my main machine (I've put the i3 3220 combo for a sleeper IBM machine until I can get a beefy SFX PSU - it has a 155W PSU as we speak) running Windows 10 Enterprise LTSC (v1809), and the former runs Windows 8.1.

I can post up some pics if you want.
__________________
Main rig:
ASUS H61M-A
Core i3-3220 3.30GHz
MSI Twinfrozr GTX 750Ti 2GB GDDR5
6GB DDR3-1066
Samsung SH-224AB DVD-RW
Raidmax RX-500XT (recapped)
Seagate Barracuda ES.2 ST31000340NS 1TB
JNC RJA-52 case
Dan81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2019, 01:10 PM   #49
momaka
Badcaps Veteran
 
momaka's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
City & State: VA (NoVA)
My Country: U.S.A.
Line Voltage: 120 VAC, 60 Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 9,065
Default Re: Dell Dimension 1100? ...or is it? The Ultimate Sleeper System

Quote:
Originally Posted by Topcat View Post
My ohh my...............
Another one?!
Nice!

With that GTX480, it should even still be able to handle modern games too - at least Fortnite for sure (well, that's not really modern now anymore, or so the "cool" kids say these days.) But Apex Legends will probably run OK too.
momaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2019, 02:34 PM   #50
ratdude747
Black Sheep
 
ratdude747's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
City & State: Madison, IN
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 16,054
Default Re: Dell Dimension 1100? ...or is it? The Ultimate Sleeper System

Quote:
Originally Posted by momaka View Post
Another one?!
Nice!

With that GTX480, it should even still be able to handle modern games too - at least Fortnite for sure (well, that's not really modern now anymore, or so the "cool" kids say these days.) But Apex Legends will probably run OK too.
Mine runs pretty much all the modern stuff... but it has a GTX970 thrown in:

https://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthread.php?t=69058

Solid platform for sleepers, that's for sure.
ratdude747 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2019, 10:14 PM   #51
Topcat
The Boss Stooge
 
Topcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
City & State: Salem, MO
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 240V @ 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 12,588
Default Re: Dell Dimension 1100? ...or is it? The Ultimate Sleeper System

Yea, another one....the board was a SM tree freebie..... I picked up 2x 3GHz 1333FSB CPU's for 22 shipped. The big fat solid copper heatsinks were leftover from some old socket 604 system (sinks are the same for lga771)....I actually have 4 of them, I have 2 remaining now. I had 8gb ECC RAM in the bin...but I'll grab more....its cheap, and the board supports 48gb. I did find a case that this will fit.... Goin for the trifecta!! One Dell, one Compaq, and one soon to be HP case....
Topcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2019, 11:23 AM   #52
momaka
Badcaps Veteran
 
momaka's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
City & State: VA (NoVA)
My Country: U.S.A.
Line Voltage: 120 VAC, 60 Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 9,065
Default Re: Dell Dimension 1100? ...or is it? The Ultimate Sleeper System

But but Compaq and HP are the same thing

You should do an eMachines case, if you have one. The silver ones from the XP/P4/AXP era are really well built. I bet no one would suspect an eMachines will ever have such hardware inside. Just don't be re-using them Bestec ATX-250-12E power supply, haha. (Though the everell 5VSB fix works pretty well on them.)

Last edited by momaka; 10-01-2019 at 11:28 AM..
momaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2019, 11:25 AM   #53
Topcat
The Boss Stooge
 
Topcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
City & State: Salem, MO
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 240V @ 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 12,588
Default Re: Dell Dimension 1100? ...or is it? The Ultimate Sleeper System

Quote:
Originally Posted by momaka View Post
But Compaq and HP are the same thing
It's prior to their merger....so it still counts.
Topcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2019, 03:35 PM   #54
momaka
Badcaps Veteran
 
momaka's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
City & State: VA (NoVA)
My Country: U.S.A.
Line Voltage: 120 VAC, 60 Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 9,065
Default Re: Dell Dimension 1100? ...or is it? The Ultimate Sleeper System

Quote:
Originally Posted by Topcat View Post
It's prior to their merger....so it still counts.
Oh fine!



I still expect to see an e-Machines, though.
momaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2019, 06:08 PM   #55
ratdude747
Black Sheep
 
ratdude747's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
City & State: Madison, IN
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 16,054
Default Re: Dell Dimension 1100? ...or is it? The Ultimate Sleeper System

Quote:
Originally Posted by momaka View Post
But but Compaq and HP are the same thing

You should do an eMachines case, if you have one. The silver ones from the XP/P4/AXP era are really well built. I bet no one would suspect an eMachines will ever have such hardware inside. Just don't be re-using them Bestec ATX-250-12E power supply, haha. (Though the everell 5VSB fix works pretty well on them.)
Beat you to the punch:

https://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthread.php?t=69058

That one had a Prescott era celeron in it originally.
ratdude747 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2019, 08:33 PM   #56
momaka
Badcaps Veteran
 
momaka's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
City & State: VA (NoVA)
My Country: U.S.A.
Line Voltage: 120 VAC, 60 Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 9,065
Default Re: Dell Dimension 1100? ...or is it? The Ultimate Sleeper System

Quote:
Originally Posted by ratdude747 View Post
Oh yeah, I forgot that one. (But now that you linked to that thread, I do remember reading it and thinking that's one really cool project.)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ratdude747 View Post
That one had a Prescott era celeron in it originally.
I have a similar silver eMachines case from more or less the same era. Was an Athlon XP system, IIRC. Motherboard (FIC AM37) was dead due to a Bestec 250W 12E PSU (along with the keyboard and mouse connected to that system! ) Now that case is retrofitted with my top single-core AMD chip: the Athlon 64 FX-57. But I might move that in another case and have my next main rig built into this eMachines PC. I'm thinking a dual core Athlon 64 with a X2 4200+ and an MSI MS-7184 board I have. (Yes, that's all very old hardware, but I want to keep it DDR1 and maybe try to squeeze a few more years out of Windows XP Pro - as if I haven't enough already. )

Last edited by momaka; 10-21-2019 at 08:35 PM..
momaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2019
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:25 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?