Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > General Topics > General Capacitor Questions & Issues
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-03-2003, 06:20 PM   #1
Ravenous
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 4
Default Help. I'm a newbie.

Help. Well first off I'm new at the cap replacment thing. I can do and I have do it for 2 motherboards and everything worked out fine. I have a lot of motherboards with what I believe to be cap problems and I will be contacting you guys to discuss purchasing so of your cap kits but what I want to know is how can I truely be sure that the cap is bad. These mobos have a lot of caps and I dont want to replace all of them. That would take forever. Other that the obvious simptoms and visuals how can I be sure how many and which caps are bad. I do have some electronic tools which I dont know really how to use a Tektronix tds 220 scope and a Fluke 867b Graphical MM and several other DMM's. Can these help me point out the baddies?
Ravenous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2003, 06:57 PM   #2
Topcat
The Boss Stooge
 
Topcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
City & State: Salem, MO
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 240V @ 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 12,583
Default

First of all, I would recommend replacing all caps 1000uF and up, even if you don't think they're bad. If others on the board of same brand and value have gone bad, it's just a matter of time for the rest. Replacing all will eliminate more headaches and aggrivation down the road! It really doesn't take too long to remove and replace a cap, far less than it would take to rip the system down again to correct oversights and goofs...

Honestly, I only break out the oscilloscope when I get a 'tough dog' repair. This is a board that I can't seem to get functioning again by simple methods. If you recap your board and it is still acting funny, thats when you want to get your scope and meters out to check for ripple and other abnormalities.

To be sure of bad cap problems, well if they're bulged and leaking gunk, you can be 100% sure that caps are your troubles. Let us know what boards you are working with, some are known for bad caps and won't show physical faults. Knowing the board might help....

TC
__________________
<--- Badcaps.net Founder & Owner

Badcaps.net Services:

Premade Capacitor Kits
Badcaps.net Capacitor Master List


Motherboard Repair Services


If you've come here in search of replacement capacitors or repair services, please use the links above.
----------------------------------------------
Badcaps.net Forum Members Folding Team
http://folding.stanford.edu/
Team : 49813
Join in!!
Team Stats
Topcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2003, 10:53 PM   #3
Ravenous
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 4
Default

Well they are IBM Netvista PC's Model 6579, as well as QDI Brillant 1/s mobos and a few are DFI CB61's. Does this help any?
Ravenous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2003, 08:39 AM   #4
kc8adu
Super Moderator
 
kc8adu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
City & State: dayton ohio
My Country: U.S.A!
Line Voltage: 12vdc,120/240vac,480vac 3ph on my bench
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 8,288
Default

seems ibm got bit hard by the bad caps.
seen lots of server boards with cap trouble.
kc8adu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2004, 09:09 AM   #5
wolch
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2
Default

The IBM 6579s were definitely affected by the badcaps. I work for a company that just had IBM acknowledge this by coming in and replacing about 30 mobos at their cost on a so called "proactive replacement".
wolch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2004, 01:22 PM   #6
willawake
Super Modulator
 
willawake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
City & State: Αθήνα
Posts: 8,006
Default

kc8adu : server boards!!!! which ones? i nearly bought an old x series.
willawake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2019, 10:52 PM   #7
Logistics
Badcaps Veteran
 
Logistics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
City & State: San Jose, CA
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 650
Default Re: Help. I'm a newbie.

Since it's the only mention I see of the DFI CB61's, I have to ask if anyone knows for certain whether they were confirmed, affected by the capacitor plague. I'm close to doing a recap on a CB61, which is used in a Gannomat station, and the PSU, while a 250W, badged only as "KM" "Made in Korea", is equipped with all Nichicon's, and doesn't have a single bloated cap. But every single 8mm cap on the board is toast, even the lonely, 16V cap by the ISA slots!
__________________
M-Audio Delta 410, Schiit Modi 2 Uber, Schiit Magni 3, Sony MDR-V700
Logistics is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2019, 02:29 AM   #8
brethin
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
City & State: Owensboro, KY.
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 1,727
Default Re: Help. I'm a newbie.

Necro a 15 year old thread, why not start a new one?
brethin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2019, 03:59 PM   #9
Logistics
Badcaps Veteran
 
Logistics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
City & State: San Jose, CA
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 650
Default Re: Help. I'm a newbie.

I dont need to start a new thread about a board, which relates to only a single post on the entire forum. And since his query as to those specific boards did not get answered, it made sense to just being it up, again in the same thread. I know TC works hard to keep the forums streamlined.
Logistics is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2019
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:33 AM.
Did you find this forum helpful?