Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > General Topics > General Computer & Tech Discussion
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-29-2017, 07:24 PM   #101
Galvatron
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
City & State: warschau
My Country: polen
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 5
Default Re: [HOWTO] Fix/Repair "Chassis Intruded Fatal Error System Halted" on Asus P5QL

What is odd, when I plug and power my mobo, it first flashes with red diode(like it would work) but then powers down(blue) and starts again into chasiss error(red). Moreover after unplugging it and leaving off for longer periods of time then connecting(blue), it doesn't start after pressing power. But if I leave it like that it will start(red) into error after 2-3 minutes, like it would be somehow delayed.
Galvatron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2017, 12:08 PM   #102
momaka
Badcaps Veteran
 
momaka's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
City & State: VA (NoVA)
My Country: U.S.A.
Line Voltage: 120 VAC, 60 Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 9,063
Default Re: [HOWTO] Fix/Repair "Chassis Intruded Fatal Error System Halted" on Asus P5QL

Quote:
Originally Posted by Galvatron View Post
Is there any way of fixing it without removing transistor and soldering wire? I had this problem before and somehow things started to work fine after some time, all by themselves. But the problem is back again, and I have no idea what to do.
It's a hardware issue so you need a hardware fix.

Also, issues that "fix" themselves also tend to come back by themselves. So once something is not working right, don't ignore it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Galvatron View Post
Also, does anybody have transistor/3.3v locations for P5B-Deluxe? It was one of most sold P5 boards out there. Pics are easily available on google images.
For 3.3V locations, just grab it directly from a 3.3V pin on the ATX connector or nearby MOSFET and run it through a 1 KOhm resistor or so (to prevent smoke/melting wires/burned components if something short-circuits.)

As for the transistor... use a multimeter to find which one it is. Should be somewhere near the chassis intrusion jumper. Probably SOT-23 package.

I'll try to have a look at the board later tonight and see if I can locate it for you (I'm on a very old and slow laptop right now, so browsing through images online is not very easy).
momaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2017, 08:22 PM   #103
Galvatron
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
City & State: warschau
My Country: polen
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 5
Default Re: [HOWTO] Fix/Repair "Chassis Intruded Fatal Error System Halted" on Asus P5QL

Hey there, thanks for answer. Sadly it seems that "chassis intrusion" wasn't the only problem my board had and it's bricked now. But to add bit to discussion, I have reminded myself that when my board stopped to work with "chassis intrusion" for the first time, it took me nearly 12 hours of keeping it powered down and unplugged. Then I have connected everything like it was before problem happened(battery/bios was zeroed) and it somehow launched normally. Board kept working fine for next few months, just until now.
Galvatron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2017, 10:02 PM   #104
Galvatron
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
City & State: warschau
My Country: polen
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 5
Default Re: [HOWTO] Fix/Repair "Chassis Intruded Fatal Error System Halted" on Asus P5QL

And one more thing, I do believe that I've tried swapping PSU's and it could have some effect too.
Galvatron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2017, 11:11 AM   #105
RJARRRPCGP
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
City & State: North Springfield, Vermont
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 123-127V 61.5-63.5 Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4,754
Default Re: [HOWTO] Fix/Repair "Chassis Intruded Fatal Error System Halted" on Asus P5QL

Quote:
Originally Posted by Galvatron View Post
What is odd, when I plug and power my mobo, it first flashes with red diode(like it would work) but then powers down(blue) and starts again into chasiss error(red). Moreover after unplugging it and leaving off for longer periods of time then connecting(blue), it doesn't start after pressing power. But if I leave it like that it will start(red) into error after 2-3 minutes, like it would be somehow delayed.
Do P5QLs even have a red LED to indicate a CPU init failure or a bad socket pin?
I know the ROG versions do and the red LED of doom is likely a bad socket pin!

The only one I saw was an older-style round green one on the bottom for stand-by power...
__________________
Asus P6T6 WS Revolution

Core i7 Extreme "Bloomfield" 965

Asus Strix GeForce GTX 970

Windows 7 SP1

SoundBlaster ZXR

Corsair TX850M PSU

Looks like I have a laptop that kills a desktop PC!

Received on November 4, 2019:
MSI GF63 Thin 9SC-649US


"There's nothing more unattractive than a chick smoking a cigarette" -Topcat

"Don't eat yellow snow!" -Salem

"did I see a chair fly? I think I did! Time for popcorn!" -ratdude747

Last edited by RJARRRPCGP; 07-01-2017 at 11:12 AM..
RJARRRPCGP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2017, 08:16 PM   #106
Galvatron
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
City & State: warschau
My Country: polen
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 5
Default Re: [HOWTO] Fix/Repair "Chassis Intruded Fatal Error System Halted" on Asus P5QL

I have P5B Deluxe and there is no LED there. MOBO acts now like it would be bricked, I have two exactly same PSU's, when I connect one nothing happens and when I connect another, blue light comes up(means powered but not running). I can't even get to "chassis intrusion" error anymore, and that's not solved yet. Both PSU's work fine with other motherboards, don't know how it's possible that one doesn't even turn mobos blue light on.

I had E8400@4GHz that worked just fine, no problems with Windows 10 and internet browser or videos, but those times are gone. I will be probably getting some other parts, and I gave up with ASUS motherboards.

Thanks for attempts, cheers.

Last edited by Galvatron; 07-01-2017 at 08:19 PM..
Galvatron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2018, 11:36 AM   #107
theoxyd
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
City & State: Valence
My Country: france
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2
Default Re: [HOWTO] Fix/Repair "Chassis Intruded Fatal Error System Halted" on Asus P5QL

Hi dudes !
I've only removed the transistor and the motherboard is working perfectly !
I'm happy because i haved scratched the gate pad when desoldering.......

Thank's all ;->
theoxyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2018, 11:37 AM   #108
theoxyd
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
City & State: Valence
My Country: france
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2
Default Re: [HOWTO] Fix/Repair "Chassis Intruded Fatal Error System Halted" on Asus P5QL

Quote:
Originally Posted by theoxyd View Post
Hi dudes !
I've only removed the transistor and the motherboard is working perfectly !
I'm happy because i haved scratched the gate pad when desoldering.......

Thank's all ;->
Edit it is on p5kpl-am motherboard
theoxyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2018, 01:53 AM   #109
drhabib
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
City & State: qazvin
My Country: iran
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1
Unhappy Re: [HOWTO] Fix/Repair "Chassis Intruded Fatal Error System Halted" on Asus P5QL

Hello
I have an asus p5kpl/1600 motherboard that show same prompt "Chassis Intruded " and i follow your instruction but problem didn't fixed please help me.
Thanks.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 2018-05-05-4041.jpg (602.7 KB, 13 views)
File Type: jpg 2018-05-06-4049.jpg (698.4 KB, 13 views)
drhabib is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2018, 09:20 AM   #110
mockingbird
Badcaps Veteran
 
mockingbird's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4,892
Default Re: [HOWTO] Fix/Repair "Chassis Intruded Fatal Error System Halted" on Asus P5QL

I have a P5K-E that basically ignores the CMOS battery... If power is disconnected from the system completely, it loses all the BIOS settings. Is this also because of a weak transistor?

Thanks
__________________
...Their plight, in fact is even worse, they don't realize that they're cantonists, they think they're free men. What a slavery that is - to confuse slavery for light, and bitter darkness for bright light.
-Rabbi Menachem Mendel Schneersohn
mockingbird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2018, 09:21 AM   #111
Th3_uN1Qu3
Believe in
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
City & State: Bucharest
My Country: Romania
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 5,358
Default Re: [HOWTO] Fix/Repair "Chassis Intruded Fatal Error System Halted" on Asus P5QL

There is a dual diode which feeds power to CMOS memory from two places: 5VSB rail of PSU via 3.3V regulator, and the coin cell. You should trace the circuit going from the coin cell holder until you get to that diode. Either the diode is bad or a leaking battery corroded the trace so the battery simply does not get connected to the circuit.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeteS in CA View Post
Remember that by the time consequences of a short-sighted decision are experienced, the idiot who made the bad decision may have already been promoted or moved on to a better job at another company.
A working TV? How boring!
Th3_uN1Qu3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2018, 07:19 PM   #112
momaka
Badcaps Veteran
 
momaka's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
City & State: VA (NoVA)
My Country: U.S.A.
Line Voltage: 120 VAC, 60 Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 9,063
Default Re: [HOWTO] Fix/Repair "Chassis Intruded Fatal Error System Halted" on Asus P5QL

Quote:
Originally Posted by drhabib View Post
Hello
I have an asus p5kpl/1600 motherboard that show same prompt "Chassis Intruded " and i follow your instruction but problem didn't fixed please help me.
Thanks.
Double-check your 3.3V source and make sure it actually has enough current to drive the LPC/SIO chip. I would run a wire from the 3.3V rail directly and hook it up with a 1K-4.7K resistor instead.
momaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2018, 06:36 PM   #113
djbordie
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
City & State: ontario
My Country: canada
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3
Default Re: [HOWTO] Fix/Repair "Chassis Intruded Fatal Error System Halted" on Asus P5QL

great info, thanks for keeping this alive.

i have an odd one here;

p5q

5v showing on the pin4 (ground)

So i read another tutorial saying if you have voltage on the ground pin, the pins wont jump and put intrusion detection at its normal state. (jumped signal and ground)

I have 5v on the ground pin...so i tried grounding the signal and ground pin on that header to a psu ground.
This did not work unfortunately.


my workaround so far has been no cmos battery, AMIBCP to modify the bios to my liking and just let it restore defaults every boot.
problem with this, is i can not overclock or tune the bios much.

any thoughts on the matter?
djbordie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2018, 06:37 PM   #114
djbordie
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
City & State: ontario
My Country: canada
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3
Default Re: [HOWTO] Fix/Repair "Chassis Intruded Fatal Error System Halted" on Asus P5QL

*cant edit my message

but i also have continuity to more than one transistor, so i decided not to go ahead with the mod. pin 3 (intrusion signal) has continuity to multiple spots on the motherboard.

a head scratcher for sure
djbordie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2018, 07:20 PM   #115
RJARRRPCGP
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
City & State: North Springfield, Vermont
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 123-127V 61.5-63.5 Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4,754
Default Re: [HOWTO] Fix/Repair "Chassis Intruded Fatal Error System Halted" on Asus P5QL

Quote:
Originally Posted by Galvatron View Post
I have P5B Deluxe and there is no LED there. MOBO acts now like it would be bricked, I have two exactly same PSU's, when I connect one nothing happens and when I connect another, blue light comes up(means powered but not running). I can't even get to "chassis intrusion" error anymore, and that's not solved yet.
Be careful, the P5Bs possibly have bad caps! Likely before Asus regularly used Fujitsu/FP cap caps! Being a P5B, it possibly has bad wet electrolytic caps!

If wet electrolytic caps, probably Ost. Ost caps are known to sometimes, if not randomly fail.

Last edited by RJARRRPCGP; 12-22-2018 at 07:24 PM..
RJARRRPCGP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2018, 12:27 PM   #116
ChaosLegionnaire
HC Overclocker
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
City & State: Singapore
My Country: Singapore
Line Voltage: 240VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 1,597
Default Re: [HOWTO] Fix/Repair "Chassis Intruded Fatal Error System Halted" on Asus P5QL

Quote:
Originally Posted by djbordie View Post
problem with this, is i can not overclock or tune the bios much.

any thoughts on the matter?
my asus maximus 2 formula has an option to save the cmos settings to the hard drive. not sure if the asus p5q has that function as well...

anyway, i heard there are programs that boot to a dos prompt and let u save the cmos settings to a floppy or to the hard drive. everytime u power on the system, boot the cmos program and load the cmos settings saved previously and apply it to the cmos then reboot. saves the trouble of having to constantly change the cmos settings back to what u want them.

another way is to mod the bios to change the cmos settings defaults but bios modding is a highly advanced skillset and u risk bricking the board if u mod the bios incorrectly.

however, none of the above options still exempt u from having to set the system clock to the correct time each time u power on. however, there is now internet time server synchronisation so that is not really a big issue.
ChaosLegionnaire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2018, 12:31 PM   #117
djbordie
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
City & State: ontario
My Country: canada
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3
Default Re: [HOWTO] Fix/Repair "Chassis Intruded Fatal Error System Halted" on Asus P5QL

yea that works sort of,

i modded my bios to a somewhat decent set of defaults.

the issue is that if i constantly test/reset/test it eventually says chassis intruded.

however given my situation is a bit different (ground has 5v.) and i could not fix it yet, i am stuck with bios modding.

nearly impossible to overclock and save the settings, but im getting by..
djbordie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2018, 11:27 PM   #118
momaka
Badcaps Veteran
 
momaka's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
City & State: VA (NoVA)
My Country: U.S.A.
Line Voltage: 120 VAC, 60 Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 9,063
Default Re: [HOWTO] Fix/Repair "Chassis Intruded Fatal Error System Halted" on Asus P5QL

Might help to make your own thread with pictures so we can help you more specifically. If you have a multimeter and know how to use it, finding a way to actually fix the Chassis Intruded issue may actually be easier than messing with BIOS modding.
momaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2019, 12:35 PM   #119
SlowRabbit
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
City & State: Vlissingen
My Country: Nethetlands
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1
Default Re: [HOWTO] Fix/Repair "Chassis Intruded Fatal Error System Halted" on Asus P5QL

I thank the gods for your fix OP

Found myself a now fixed asus p6t se
From being a pain in my ass as going for space i got this coolermaster cosmos s fully up and running again.

Found the mosfet not where i suspected
Keep em running

Asus P6T SE fix in pics
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_20190227_132435.jpg (897.9 KB, 18 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_20190227_132501.jpg (900.0 KB, 17 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_20190227_132514.jpg (697.8 KB, 16 views)
SlowRabbit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2019, 12:58 AM   #120
t8c
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
City & State: Stavanger
My Country: Norway
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2
Thumbs up Re: [HOWTO] Fix/Repair "Chassis Intruded Fatal Error System Halted" on Asus P5QL

Quote:
Originally Posted by fu-raz View Post
So, there we go... Thanks for the help Th3_uN1Qu3! Found a new 3.3v point, cleaned the board and reset the CMOS. Everything is working now.

In the attachment is my final solution for the Asus P5E Deluxe
Thanks so much. I did the exact same thing on my Asus P5E and it is working perfectly. I used a soldering iron cranked on 420c together with a pre-tinned wire, plus flux on the tinned wire and the surface mount components. I also used electrical tape on neighboring components in order to shield them from heat.
t8c is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2019
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:29 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?