Recapping GA-M55plus-S3G using lower rated capacitance

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Recapping GA-M55plus-S3G using lower rated capacitance

My computer has failed for about a week now. I tried power supply replacement after finding that my computer would turn on then immediately off.

After more troubleshooting and removing peripherals, I found that the computer would not stay on with the 12V ATX 4pin connected. My capacitors were bulging and they were shorted.

I replaced (5) 3300uF capacitors 6.3V rating

with

(3) 1,000uF capacitors 10V rating
    (2) 1,000uF capacitors 16V rating

While I know decreasing the capacitance is not recommended my computer has been stable for an hour. I plan on getting a new mobo, CPU barebones at the end of next month.

Less capacitance means less time that the capacitor can hold the charge, these ones are meant to keep the power going to the CPU stable correct?

I have a degree in electronics but it has been so long since I have had to use any of those skills.

What exactly can using a lower capacitance rating do?

Not be able to supply voltage for a certain duration when its needed?

Discharges to fast?

Any help would be appreciated, I have a decent back ground, but most I have learned about caps were how they worked in power supplies to reduce ripple.

Re: Recapping GA-M55plus-S3G using lower rated capacitance

There is a large chance that they used so high capacitance values just to get the required ESR. Capacitor technology has progressed a lot in the past few years. If the board runs fine there's nothing to worry about.
    Originally posted by PeteS in CA
    Remember that by the time consequences of a short-sighted decision are experienced, the idiot who made the bad decision may have already been promoted or moved on to a better job at another company.
    A working TV? How boring!

Comment

just for reference..
      http://bambooz.pytalhost.net/badcaps/M55Plus-S3G.jpg