Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting TVs and Video Sources
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-18-2016, 03:23 PM   #1
ReeceyBurger123
Never Give Up !
 
ReeceyBurger123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
City & State: Telford
My Country: Britain
Line Voltage: 240 VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 7,124
Default RUNTK 5351TP No Picture Failure

Got a 32" Samsung Smart Led Tv here a UE32F5300, the fault is so no picture backlight working but Lcd is not being driven. Uppon some testing and removing cables I was able to diagnose that the Tcon is at fault and the Lcd and motherboard are working ok.

I found that on this Tcon IC200 which is a ISL9860 a QFN type DC-DC converter Ic. This chip is getting input voltages but is not outputting anything about 6MV at most. Its also burning hot so im guessing this is failed.

Has anyone else seen this before on these Tcons ? Will replacing the IC likely fix this board ? I want to try and fix it as another board is 50 and I don't want to be spending that much but I know QFN is very hard to solder.
Attached Images
File Type: jpeg image.jpeg (285.9 KB, 508 views)
__________________
Please Do Not PM My Page Asking For Help Badcaps Is The Place For Advise, Page Linked For Business Reasons Only. Anyone Doing So Will Be Banned Instantly !

https://www.facebook.com/Telford-Tel...7894576335359/

Last edited by ReeceyBurger123; 05-18-2016 at 03:27 PM..
ReeceyBurger123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2016, 03:54 PM   #2
budm
Badcaps Veteran
 
budm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: S.F. Bay area
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 36,374
Default Re: RUNTK 5351TP No Picture Failure

None of the outputs showing any low resistance (due to bad loads)?
__________________
Never stop learning
Basic LCD TV and Monitor troubleshooting guides.
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...956#post305956

Voltage Regulator (LDO) testing:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...999#post300999

Inverter testing using old CFL:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...er+testing+cfl

Tear down pictures : Hit the ">" Show Albums and stories" on the left side
http://s807.photobucket.com/user/budm/library/

TV Factory reset codes listing:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthread.php?t=24809
budm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2016, 03:56 PM   #3
ReeceyBurger123
Never Give Up !
 
ReeceyBurger123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
City & State: Telford
My Country: Britain
Line Voltage: 240 VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 7,124
Default Re: RUNTK 5351TP No Picture Failure

No bud, the output of it tests fine across the Ic not so good. Certain its the Ic mate.
ReeceyBurger123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2016, 04:47 PM   #4
flocko
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
City & State: dover
My Country: uk
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1,093
Default Re: RUNTK 5351TP No Picture Failure

I reported these Sharp T.Con failing over a year ago on this model, and yes its is the IC replacing it will fix the problem
flocko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2016, 04:50 PM   #5
ReeceyBurger123
Never Give Up !
 
ReeceyBurger123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
City & State: Telford
My Country: Britain
Line Voltage: 240 VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 7,124
Default Re: RUNTK 5351TP No Picture Failure

Ahh cool, you got the link please flocky ?
ReeceyBurger123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2016, 03:06 AM   #6
flocko
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
City & State: dover
My Country: uk
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1,093
Default Re: RUNTK 5351TP No Picture Failure

I dont know were it is sorry? i think some of the older post have been lost with the last site update, could well have been 2-3years ago thinking about it. I repaired one and remember the ICs were very hard to get seated right, then someone got hold of some new boards that were selling on ebay for about 60-70 so used them after to save me the problem of fitting the ICs. not had one in for a very long time. Try replacing the IC worth a shot if i could do it you should be able to
flocko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2016, 04:09 PM   #7
victor_cj
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
City & State: Cluj-Napoca
My Country: Romania
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 90
Default Re: RUNTK 5351TP No Picture Failure

I fixed this model UE32F5300 with RUNTK 5351TP many times, i had ISL98602IRAAZ faulty or ISL98602IRAAZ and KL5T3067 faulty, but there have been cases like the one in the link: http://www.elforum.ro/topic/114908-d...e32f5500awxxh/
use google translate it is in Romanian.
__________________
The art of fighting without fighting
victor_cj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2016, 04:15 PM   #8
ReeceyBurger123
Never Give Up !
 
ReeceyBurger123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
City & State: Telford
My Country: Britain
Line Voltage: 240 VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 7,124
Default Re: RUNTK 5351TP No Picture Failure

The first part of any repair is to remove the faulty part. Used hot air and heated under the Pcb due to small SMD caps and resistors on the top, they could have been blown off by the air. Chip now desoldered just to wait on the new one.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 1.jpg (347.6 KB, 436 views)
File Type: jpg 2.jpg (269.6 KB, 364 views)
File Type: jpg 3.jpg (312.6 KB, 384 views)
File Type: jpg 4.jpg (188.6 KB, 333 views)
File Type: jpg 5.jpg (334.7 KB, 384 views)
File Type: jpg 6.jpg (219.0 KB, 347 views)
File Type: jpg 7.jpg (269.3 KB, 390 views)

Last edited by ReeceyBurger123; 05-19-2016 at 04:22 PM..
ReeceyBurger123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2016, 04:23 PM   #9
ReeceyBurger123
Never Give Up !
 
ReeceyBurger123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
City & State: Telford
My Country: Britain
Line Voltage: 240 VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 7,124
Default Re: RUNTK 5351TP No Picture Failure

Quote:
Originally Posted by victor_cj View Post
I fixed this model UE32F5300 with RUNTK 5351TP many times, i had ISL98602IRAAZ faulty or ISL98602IRAAZ and KL5T3067 faulty, but there have been cases like the one in the link: http://www.elforum.ro/topic/114908-d...e32f5500awxxh/
use google translate it is in Romanian.
Ok thanks
ReeceyBurger123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2016, 04:27 PM   #10
budm
Badcaps Veteran
 
budm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: S.F. Bay area
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 36,374
Default Re: RUNTK 5351TP No Picture Failure

Quote:
Originally Posted by ReeceyBurger123 View Post
The first part of any repair is to remove the faulty part. Used hot air and heated under the Pcb due to small SMD caps and resistors on the top, they could have been blown off by the air. Chip now desoldered just to wait on the new one.
How many minutes did it take you to remove that IC? Very clean job! and at only 330c?
budm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2016, 04:37 PM   #11
ReeceyBurger123
Never Give Up !
 
ReeceyBurger123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
City & State: Telford
My Country: Britain
Line Voltage: 240 VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 7,124
Default Re: RUNTK 5351TP No Picture Failure

Quote:
Originally Posted by budm View Post
How many minutes did it take you to remove that IC? Very clean job! and at only 330c?
Cheers Bud, also yes 330c for about 2mins or so. I used some generic gel flux and heated from the bottom of the board. I then manipulated it with tweezers after heating for a min, when it it moved I knew the solder was molten and lifted the Ic off being careful not to knock the little Smd parts.
ReeceyBurger123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2016, 04:39 PM   #12
ReeceyBurger123
Never Give Up !
 
ReeceyBurger123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
City & State: Telford
My Country: Britain
Line Voltage: 240 VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 7,124
Default Re: RUNTK 5351TP No Picture Failure

I will not be cleaning the solder off any of the pads and will be reusing it for the replacement Ic as the solder left is perfect for the replacement.
ReeceyBurger123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2016, 05:13 PM   #13
ReeceyBurger123
Never Give Up !
 
ReeceyBurger123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
City & State: Telford
My Country: Britain
Line Voltage: 240 VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 7,124
Default Re: RUNTK 5351TP No Picture Failure

You ever worked on QFN bud ?
ReeceyBurger123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2016, 05:33 PM   #14
budm
Badcaps Veteran
 
budm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: S.F. Bay area
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 36,374
Default Re: RUNTK 5351TP No Picture Failure

No, but last week I replaced the AS19 with exposed pad, I heat up the area at 200c for about 2 minutes and then turn up the heat to 390~400c then the IC just slipped off. The hard one are the one with exposed pad.
budm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2016, 05:37 PM   #15
ReeceyBurger123
Never Give Up !
 
ReeceyBurger123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
City & State: Telford
My Country: Britain
Line Voltage: 240 VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 7,124
Default Re: RUNTK 5351TP No Picture Failure

They are easy IMO, to put the new one on place Ic on top. Heat then the solder on the centre pads aligns the Ic perfect then solder the pins. I always use hot air to take AS15's off. QFN is going to be hard as no area for solder iron to make contact, but I will give it a shot only lost 1 on it so far.
ReeceyBurger123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2016, 04:04 AM   #16
flocko
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
City & State: dover
My Country: uk
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1,093
Default Re: RUNTK 5351TP No Picture Failure

That is just how i did it, lots of flux when you replace it, the ICs I got from China I think 5 for 3.00 were dull looking on the back (pads) so I cleaned them up to be a bit more solder friendly,and the use of a digital microscope also helps,I did mark the four corners before I removed the IC. I had a look though yesterday to see if I still had any of the ICs left. but think I remember giving them to a mate to repair a set he had in for a customer. anyway good luck with it. I am sure we will hear how it goes
flocko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2016, 04:54 AM   #17
ReeceyBurger123
Never Give Up !
 
ReeceyBurger123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
City & State: Telford
My Country: Britain
Line Voltage: 240 VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 7,124
Default Re: RUNTK 5351TP No Picture Failure

Cheers mate, will keep you updated when it comes
ReeceyBurger123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2016, 09:14 AM   #18
angel-boy
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
City & State: Constanta
My Country: Romania
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 501
Default Re: RUNTK 5351TP No Picture Failure

i have a RUNTK 5351TP , i change the IC200, ISL, but still no image, the fuse is good, any ideea ?
angel-boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2016, 09:35 AM   #19
ReeceyBurger123
Never Give Up !
 
ReeceyBurger123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
City & State: Telford
My Country: Britain
Line Voltage: 240 VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 7,124
Default Re: RUNTK 5351TP No Picture Failure

The main processor can also fail, this is bga soldered.
ReeceyBurger123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2016, 10:09 AM   #20
angel-boy
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
City & State: Constanta
My Country: Romania
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 501
Default Re: RUNTK 5351TP No Picture Failure

and i should reball it ? i will try
angel-boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2019
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:54 AM.
Did you find this forum helpful?