Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Motherboards with Bad Capacitors > All Others Motherboards
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-23-2015, 10:20 PM   #21
jesscat606
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
City & State: Xenia, OH
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 15
Default Re: DFI-ITOX G4S600-B with Chemicon KZGs - compatible caps?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mockingbird View Post
Nice job! Any reason you chose not to replace the 5 or so 6.3mm OST caps, most of them near the northbridge?
As far as I know, only the KZGs are known problem causers. I only replaced those. Are there issues with the OST caps too?
jesscat606 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2015, 10:41 PM   #22
c_hegge
Badcaps Veteran
 
c_hegge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
City & State: North Coast, NSW
My Country: Australia
Line Voltage: 240V 50Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 5,052
Default Re: DFI-ITOX G4S600-B with Chemicon KZGs - compatible caps?

^
The small 6mm ones aren't usually under a lot of stress, and so they may not be a problem, but OST aren't a reliable brand. The Nichicon HMs may also be a problem if they are older than 2005. The date codes are usually something like H0324 or A0324 (which would mean 2003, Week 24)
__________________
I love putting bad caps and flat batteries in fire and watching them explode!!

No wonder it doesn't work! You installed the jumper wires backwards

Main PC: Core i7 3770K 3.5GHz, Gigabyte GA-Z77M-D3H-MVP, 8GB Kingston HyperX DDR3 1600, 240GB Intel 335 Series SSD, 750GB WD HDD, Sony Optiarc DVD RW, Palit nVidia GTX660 Ti, CoolerMaster N200 Case, Delta DPS-600MB 600W PSU, Hauppauge TV Tuner, Windows 7 Home Premium

Office PC: HP ProLiant ML150 G3, 2x Xeon E5335 2GHz, 4GB DDR2 RAM, 120GB Intel 530 SSD, 2x 250GB HDD, 2x 450GB 15K SAS HDD in RAID 1, 1x 2TB HDD, nVidia 8400GS, Delta DPS-650BB 650W PSU, Windows 7 Pro
c_hegge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2015, 12:43 PM   #23
jesscat606
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
City & State: Xenia, OH
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 15
Cool Re: DFI-ITOX G4S600-B with Chemicon KZGs - compatible caps?

Quote:
Originally Posted by c_hegge View Post
Looks good! The caps all look like they are installed correctly. Fire it up and see how it goes.
Looks good. Voltages booted up pretty close:
+1.5 = 1.5
+3.3 = 3.39
+5.0 = 5.18
+12.0= 12.09
-12.0 = -12.28
5VSB =5.06



I'll let it run for a while on the test bench - any other burn-in procedures I need to know about?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_20150424_133702333.jpg (607.6 KB, 33 views)
jesscat606 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2015, 12:50 PM   #24
jesscat606
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
City & State: Xenia, OH
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 15
Default Re: DFI-ITOX G4S600-B with Chemicon KZGs - compatible caps?

Quote:
Originally Posted by c_hegge View Post
^
The small 6mm ones aren't usually under a lot of stress, and so they may not be a problem, but OST aren't a reliable brand. The Nichicon HMs may also be a problem if they are older than 2005. The date codes are usually something like H0324 or A0324 (which would mean 2003, Week 24)
The Nichi's are all 06's.
jesscat606 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2015, 04:22 AM   #25
Bungz
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
City & State: UK
My Country: UK
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 90
Default Re: DFI-ITOX G4S600-B with Chemicon KZGs - compatible caps?

Looks good.

But just so you know the outside of anti static bags can be conductive.
Bungz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2015, 05:54 AM   #26
c_hegge
Badcaps Veteran
 
c_hegge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
City & State: North Coast, NSW
My Country: Australia
Line Voltage: 240V 50Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 5,052
Default Re: DFI-ITOX G4S600-B with Chemicon KZGs - compatible caps?

^
I didn't pick up on that on the picture, but yes, it is true. Don't test stuff on Anti-static bags or foam. I usually use a motherboard box for that.

EDIT: 5200RPM? That CPU fan must sound like a jet engine.
c_hegge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2015, 07:46 AM   #27
kc8adu
Super Moderator
 
kc8adu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
City & State: dayton ohio
My Country: U.S.A!
Line Voltage: 12vdc,120/240vac,480vac 3ph on my bench
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 8,288
Default Re: DFI-ITOX G4S600-B with Chemicon KZGs - compatible caps?

i fix a lot of those and the worst complication is a vrm fet failure that sometimes totals the board.
if it posts its fine.
as for the fan who cares.it needs all the help it can get in an exporter.
slap it together and put it back on the air.
rebuild the power supply as an "oh shit" spare.
i use panasonic fm in those.
its just a fsp with a connector added custom.

Last edited by kc8adu; 04-27-2015 at 07:54 AM..
kc8adu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2015, 10:42 AM   #28
jesscat606
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
City & State: Xenia, OH
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 15
Default Re: DFI-ITOX G4S600-B with Chemicon KZGs - compatible caps?

haha yeah, that fan is pretty loud. And also, that's the inside of the bag.

Thanks, guys, for all your help! I doubt I'd have attempted this without your advice!
jesscat606 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2019, 12:44 PM   #29
jesscat606
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
City & State: Xenia, OH
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 15
Default Re: DFI-ITOX G4S600-B with Chemicon KZGs - compatible caps?

Followup: this board was still running happily when it was retired recently. For aynyone else needing it, here is what I used.
jesscat606 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2019
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:37 AM.
Did you find this forum helpful?