Dell U2311Hb 2 sec. to black, advanced edition

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Dell U2311Hb 2 sec. to black, advanced edition

I posses multiples of this monitor so it was easy to rule out the CCFLs by swapping power boards. The issue followed the board.

A full recap did not fix it.

Been probing between the bad board and a good one off and on for 2 days, as much as I can stand it. xfmrs, HV output caps, all 2 and 3 legged silicon all check out the same with a multimeter.

Couple hours under the microscope looking for bad joints, finally in frustration resorted to baking the board...no change.

sometimes this hobby is not so much fun

Power board in question is 4H.14W02.AF0 which is based on the more general E162030 VOL.3 design if I am guessing right. That latter google search returns many similar boards.

I am a capable board mechanic, but certainly no theory genius. I am a bit reluctant to start probing a live board without a better idea what I am looking for. Switch mode supplies frequently confound me.

Any suggestions are greatly appreciated.

board pics attached per the sticky, thank you
    Attached Files

Re: Dell U2311Hb 2 sec. to black, advanced edition

hmmmm, I had rather feared that the replies would be slim on this one,

probably best just order a new board from China 'eh?

Comment

My guide lists all the possible problems (well 95%) with 2 second to black.

1) Did you check the 8 pin mosfets on the back side of the pcb to see if they are shorted?

2) What resistance readings do you get on the inverter transformer (secondary windings)?
      Last edited by retiredcaps; 11-03-2015, 01:34 PM.
      --- begin sig file ---

If you are new to this forum, we can help a lot more if you please post clear focused pictures (max resolution 2000x2000 and 2MB) of your boards using the manage attachments button so they are hosted here. Information and picture clarity compositions should look like this post.