Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

DDR2 for Intel and AMD ?

Guys,

I got some memory modules worked well on AMD motherboard but I tried them on Intel motherboard, it didn't work....did I get compatibility issue ?
    May be the motherboard manual can tell me which one is compatible ?

Re: DDR2 for Intel and AMD ?

If it's 4gb sticks I'm not surprised. If they are 2gb, they usually always work in both platforms.

Comment

It's 2Gb and 1Gb 800MHz...

Comment

Indeed, usually good motherboards have a list of memory modules that were tested with it written in its manual. I've never tried 4GB modules before, highest I've used are 2GB and so far so good (all Intel motherboards...)

Comment

could it be because of incompatible CPU I used celeron D 340...and I can't find it in a compatibility list :
          http://processormatch.intel.com/Proc...entName=dg31pr

Comment

It could be high density memory. High density ram will work with AMD but won't work on Intel boards.

Comment

More important than the CPU , you should check the bus speed of the board , and what Ram it takes . So start with the Intel board manual first . Evenmore , some Intel boards requires buffered Rams and others , non buffered . If the Rams are 533 or even 667 MHZ , they might not work on boards that requires 800 Mhz bus speed .
              Add to that , not finally , that some Intel boards within third party manufacturers , require double channel alignment or Channel A and channel B proper placing .

Comment

It depends on the board.

Asus boards are pretty forgiving with memory. For example, DDR2 ECC modules will work on them (unbuffered ECC, not PC2-xxxxP that has the larger IC in the center of the module), whereas they will not on Foxconn boards. Some older Asus Athlon boards will even take Registered memory (But not FB-DIMMs).