Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > General Topics > Network Design & Troubleshooting
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-14-2017, 10:14 AM   #41
Captain Bill grace digger
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
City & State: Mumbai/Maharashtra
My Country: India
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 55
Default Re: Unable to access NETGEAR WGR614v7 browser user interface after resetting

Quote:
Originally Posted by stj View Post
btw, Bahamut could sell you cheap caps - i'm surprised he hasnt offered yet.
Thank's for personal messing me but are the capacitors offered of good quality.

Last edited by Captain Bill grace digger; 12-14-2017 at 10:41 AM..
Captain Bill grace digger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2017, 05:42 AM   #42
Behemot
Badcaps Veteran
 
Behemot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Prague, 504'52.22"N, 1423'30.45"E
My Country: CZ
Line Voltage: 230 V/50 Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4,244
Default Re: Unable to access NETGEAR WGR614v7 browser user interface after resetting

Hey I cannot watch everything ya know

I got Chemi-Cons KZM 470/6.3, even slightly better than FR. From the picture, you can also fit D812-15 cap bent 90. Or put two 470uF in parallel, in the second vacant spot too.
__________________
Less jewellery, more gold into electrotech industry! Half of the computer problems is caused by bad contacts

Exclusive caps, meters and more!
Hardware Insights - power supply reviews and more!

Last edited by Behemot; 12-15-2017 at 05:44 AM..
Behemot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2017, 09:28 AM   #43
Captain Bill grace digger
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
City & State: Mumbai/Maharashtra
My Country: India
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 55
Default Re: Unable to access NETGEAR WGR614v7 browser user interface after resetting

Is it true that if I use an old router it will be less prone to hacking like my NETGEAR WGR614v7 router as I read somewhere that old computers and old computer hardware like floppy disks, routers etc. are less prone to hacking.

Last edited by Captain Bill grace digger; 12-22-2017 at 09:30 AM..
Captain Bill grace digger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2017, 03:50 AM   #44
kc8adu
Super Moderator
 
kc8adu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
City & State: dayton ohio
My Country: U.S.A!
Line Voltage: 12vdc,120/240vac,480vac 3ph on my bench
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 8,217
Default Re: Unable to access NETGEAR WGR614v7 browser user interface after resetting

the fewer fancy "features" the smaller the attack surface is.
best to use open source firmware on it and keep up on any patches.
i also disable config via wifi.
this forces a wouldbe attacker to gain wired access to even try.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Captain Bill grace digger View Post
Is it true that if I use an old router it will be less prone to hacking like my NETGEAR WGR614v7 router as I read somewhere that old computers and old computer hardware like floppy disks, routers etc. are less prone to hacking.
kc8adu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2017, 03:46 PM   #45
Curious.George
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 509
Default Re: Unable to access NETGEAR WGR614v7 browser user interface after resetting

Quote:
Originally Posted by Captain Bill grace digger View Post
Is it true that if I use an old router it will be less prone to hacking like my NETGEAR WGR614v7 router as I read somewhere that old computers and old computer hardware like floppy disks, routers etc. are less prone to hacking.
No. This is a misconception based on a lack of understanding of technology and how it can be (ab)used.

Once an exploit is known, it can be catalogued and then called up as needed and applied to whichever target is of interest. E.g., you can design a web site to look at the browser being used (not just rely on the information that the browser provides to identify itself -- cuz that can be spoofed) and deliver a customized page designed to confound that particular client at that particular time. Another client accessing the same page could receive a different payload tailored to his vulnerabilities.

Likewise, your host(s) can be probed to determine which services are running and those services probed to determine their vulnerabilities.

Even basic network traffic can reveal the identity of the OS that is behind it.

My "secure" laptop (e-commerce) is a stripped down system with no extraneous applications, no unnecessary services, etc. And, it has no persistent storage! Turn it off and the system forgets every exploit that may have been (successfully) targeted at it while it was running. Turn it back on and the effects of the exploit are gone, completely.

I.e., you use it for a specific purpose and then turn it off. You forego the convenience of checking your mail, opening PDF's, surfing the web, etc. in order to maximize its resilience.

Machines on which I want that sort of convenience trade it for a complete absence of any information/access that an attacker might want. So, if ever successfully breached, I am forced to reload all of those applications (from the disk image that I made when I built the machine -- a 15 minute recovery effort).

As a result, I don't have to stay current with the latest "security updates" from OS vendors. Nor perpetually update all of the applications I've installed. Nor worry about 0-day exploits! And, I don't take the performance hit of running (and keeping up-to-date) an AV/ID product.

[C'mon, computers are cheap enough that if you can't afford to have one for on-line use and one for REAL use, off-line, you're not trying very hard! ]
Curious.George is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2017, 03:54 PM   #46
Curious.George
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 509
Default Re: Unable to access NETGEAR WGR614v7 browser user interface after resetting

Quote:
Originally Posted by kc8adu View Post
the fewer fancy "features" the smaller the attack surface is.
best to use open source firmware on it and keep up on any patches.
FOSS isn't a panacea as evidenced by the vulnerability in the HTTPd of his WGR614

One of the problems with FOSS is that folks don't think they need to understand the technology in order to benefit (in terms of savings in development costs) from using the existing codebase. That's why you see TV's (and other "smart" appliances) that crash -- cuz the code wasn't designed to run on an appliance! Or, in a potentially "hostile" environment.

[I.e., the folks using/deploying the code never take the time to read through it with an eye towards understanding its limitations and how it can fail]
Curious.George is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2018
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:10 AM.

Did you find this forum helpful?