Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > General Electronics Technical Discussion
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-24-2017, 11:51 PM   #21
retiredcaps
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
City & State: Canada
Posts: 9,101
Default Re: FLUKE 179 problems

Quote:
Originally Posted by bwilliams60 View Post
I started tracing the circuit from the beginning and found a bad connection between the inductor and the board.
Just like I referenced in post #16. The measured value of the inductor is also in that thread in post #16 as measured my Modemhead.
__________________
--- begin sig file ---

If you are new to this forum, we can help a lot more if you please post clear focused pictures (max resolution 2000x2000 and 2MB) of your boards using the manage attachments button so they are hosted here. Information and picture clarity compositions should look like this post.

We respectfully ask that you make some time and effort to read some of the guides available for basic troubleshooting. After you have read through them, then ask clarification questions or report your findings.

Please do not post inline and offsite as they slow down the loading of pages.

--- end sig file ---
retiredcaps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2017, 12:01 AM   #22
retiredcaps
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
City & State: Canada
Posts: 9,101
Default Re: FLUKE 179 problems

Quote:
Originally Posted by bwilliams60 View Post
I am going to compare it to a couple of other meters just to see how they compare but we are further ahead today then we were yesterday
Calibration will likely be within specification +/- 1 count. They can take a lot of abuse and still be within spec.
retiredcaps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2017, 06:45 PM   #23
bwilliams60
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
City & State: London, Ontario
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 95
Default Re: FLUKE 179 problems

Thank you to Redwire and Retiredcaps for your help. It was indeed because of that article that I took a closer look. I also noticed on one of the pics I snapped, that the connection didn't look good but I put it off to lighting at first. When I finally checked the pathway, it all made sense. So I took a pick and easily pulled the inductor off the board. I will try it for the next few days before I am convinced that is all there is. For now, a sigh of relief. Simple fixes are best
bwilliams60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2017, 05:31 AM   #24
jondoe
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
City & State: A
My Country: UK
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 537
Default Re: FLUKE 179 problems

I was given a Fluke 187 which didn't seem to work correctly, turned out to be the input jacks, they were cracked at the PCB, but you couldn't easily see it, replacing the whole jack assay fixed the meter and it passed calibration
jondoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2017, 07:45 AM   #25
CapLeaker
Leaking Member
 
CapLeaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
City & State: Atlantic Canada
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: Ground, 0Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 4,175
Default Re: FLUKE 179 problems

Quote:
Originally Posted by stj View Post
there is a "supercap" in some fluke meters that leaks - check that out.
I think that was on the 289 / 287. The 179 doesn't have any memory etc...
CapLeaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2017, 02:56 PM   #26
retiredcaps
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
City & State: Canada
Posts: 9,101
Default Re: FLUKE 179 problems

Quote:
Originally Posted by CapLeaker View Post
I think that was on the 289 / 287. The 179 doesn't have any memory etc...
Here is the very long thread at eevblog.

https://www.eevblog.com/forum/testge...unt-coin-cell/
retiredcaps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2017, 02:58 PM   #27
retiredcaps
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
City & State: Canada
Posts: 9,101
Default Re: FLUKE 179 problems

Quote:
Originally Posted by jondoe View Post
I was given a Fluke 187 which didn't seem to work correctly, turned out to be the input jacks, they were cracked at the PCB, but you couldn't easily see it, replacing the whole jack assay fixed the meter and it passed calibration
Yes, we have seen bad input jacks over time. See

http://mrmodemhead.com/blog/fluke-80...embly-rebuild/

The 187 is one of my favourite meters.
retiredcaps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2017, 07:00 PM   #28
CapLeaker
Leaking Member
 
CapLeaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
City & State: Atlantic Canada
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: Ground, 0Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 4,175
Default Re: FLUKE 179 problems

Quote:
Originally Posted by retiredcaps View Post
Here is the very long thread at eevblog.

https://www.eevblog.com/forum/testge...unt-coin-cell/
Thanks retiredcaps!
CapLeaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2019
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:29 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?