Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting Audio Equipment
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-14-2019, 09:26 AM   #1
tomodachi
Badcaps Veteran
 
tomodachi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
City & State: Istanbul
My Country: Turkey
Line Voltage: 220
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 353
Default LG Xboom PK5 demo mode..probably

Got 2 pieces of new LG Xboom PK5 bluetooth speakers for really cheap price, thanks to a friend. He told me these are demo products as it says on the box
"Not for sales"
Speaker powered by Type-C USB charger cable but not charging battery, I tore one down and checked the battery and charging circuit inside,all ok.
Capacity remains at %10 and not charging above it to (I guess) keep battery from cycling and wearing effect since designed as a unit to stay on a store shelf for a period of time.
You need to plug charger to make it power on, and once you plug charger you can't turn it off with power button because its totally effectless.
Unit runs at full volume when powered, you need to adjust volume from source since volume up & down buttons not working.
Obviously this unit is on demo mode, does anyone have an idea how to turn it in to normal mode ? any ideas will be appreciated.
tomodachi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2019, 09:39 AM   #2
petehall347
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
City & State: worcester
My Country: United Kingdom
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1,923
Default Re: LG Xboom PK5 demo mode..probably

try using the reset hole in the rear panel

https://www.lg.com/in/support/support-product/lg-PK5

Last edited by petehall347; 11-14-2019 at 09:41 AM..
petehall347 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2019, 09:42 AM   #3
petehall347
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
City & State: worcester
My Country: United Kingdom
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1,923
Default Re: LG Xboom PK5 demo mode..probably

if that fails try this .
Power off at the mains. Then hold power button on the top of the sound bar and the power on at the mains then
release power button and it should be out of demo mode.
petehall347 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2019, 10:18 AM   #4
tomodachi
Badcaps Veteran
 
tomodachi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
City & State: Istanbul
My Country: Turkey
Line Voltage: 220
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 353
Default Re: LG Xboom PK5 demo mode..probably

Quote:
Originally Posted by petehall347 View Post
try using the reset hole in the rear panel

https://www.lg.com/in/support/support-product/lg-PK5
this didn't work, all that do is restarting

Quote:
Originally Posted by petehall347 View Post
if that fails try this .
Power off at the mains. Then hold power button on the top of the sound bar and the power on at the mains then
release power button and it should be out of demo mode.
this also didn't work, another thing I forgot to mention is without charger it starts and chimes but battery indicator light glows red and unit turns itself off. With a full battery it does same but with battery indicator green
tomodachi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2019, 11:27 AM   #5
petehall347
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
City & State: worcester
My Country: United Kingdom
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1,923
Default Re: LG Xboom PK5 demo mode..probably

maybe there is a firmware update that might fix it ?
petehall347 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2019, 11:55 AM   #6
vinceroger69
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
City & State: Nuneaton Warwickshire
My Country: uk
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 5,834
Default Re: LG Xboom PK5 demo mode..probably

if you have the app https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...xboom&hl=en_GB
im sure if you go into settings there is a update section maybe this will update the firmware?
vinceroger69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2019, 02:26 PM   #7
tomodachi
Badcaps Veteran
 
tomodachi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
City & State: Istanbul
My Country: Turkey
Line Voltage: 220
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 353
Default Re: LG Xboom PK5 demo mode..probably

Quote:
Originally Posted by vinceroger69 View Post
if you have the app https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...xboom&hl=en_GB
im sure if you go into settings there is a update section maybe this will update the firmware?
thanks for the suggestion, I did it but still not fixed, maybe I should find a good one and copy the firmware and flash it to mine
tomodachi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2019, 02:32 PM   #8
tomodachi
Badcaps Veteran
 
tomodachi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
City & State: Istanbul
My Country: Turkey
Line Voltage: 220
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 353
Default Re: LG Xboom PK5 demo mode..probably

This speaker can't be hardwired to work as a demo right ?
tomodachi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2019, 07:34 PM   #9
momaka
Badcaps Veteran
 
momaka's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
City & State: VA (NoVA)
My Country: U.S.A.
Line Voltage: 120 VAC, 60 Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 9,089
Default Re: LG Xboom PK5 demo mode..probably

Quote:
Originally Posted by tomodachi View Post
This speaker can't be hardwired to work as a demo right ?
It's possible.
But it wouldn't make sense to hardwire anything. After all, why do that, when you can just take any production floor model, and program a Demo mode to activate by pressing some buttons in a certain sequence or by selecting from a menu. This is what many other modern electronics (like TVs, for example) do, so I don't see why they would try to hardwire anything.
momaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2019, 07:47 PM   #10
petehall347
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
City & State: worcester
My Country: United Kingdom
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1,923
Default Re: LG Xboom PK5 demo mode..probably

"Not for sales" might be they are broken waiting to be fixed .
petehall347 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2019, 10:30 PM   #11
tomodachi
Badcaps Veteran
 
tomodachi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
City & State: Istanbul
My Country: Turkey
Line Voltage: 220
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 353
Default Re: LG Xboom PK5 demo mode..probably

Quote:
Originally Posted by momaka View Post
It's possible.
But it wouldn't make sense to hardwire anything. After all, why do that, when you can just take any production floor model, and program a Demo mode to activate by pressing some buttons in a certain sequence or by selecting from a menu. This is what many other modern electronics (like TVs, for example) do, so I don't see why they would try to hardwire anything.
So true

Quote:
Originally Posted by petehall347 View Post
"Not for sales" might be they are broken waiting to be fixed .
I don't think so, the person I got them from said he has loads of these and they all have same issue, said he bought them from a bankrupted company
tomodachi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2019, 04:11 AM   #12
tomodachi
Badcaps Veteran
 
tomodachi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
City & State: Istanbul
My Country: Turkey
Line Voltage: 220
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 353
Default Re: LG Xboom PK5 demo mode..probably

Update :
I discovered that speaker s charging circuit working, on mobile application you can see current capacity, now its %100 percent full, but still don't allow me to use it, it turns itself off when turned on. But when connect charger it turns on its own
tomodachi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2019, 07:21 AM   #13
tomodachi
Badcaps Veteran
 
tomodachi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
City & State: Istanbul
My Country: Turkey
Line Voltage: 220
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 353
Default Re: LG Xboom PK5 demo mode..probably

Any chance to find firmware binary file I can reflash ? any suggestions ? I can reflash the firmware to its motherboard.
tomodachi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2019, 05:15 PM   #14
momaka
Badcaps Veteran
 
momaka's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
City & State: VA (NoVA)
My Country: U.S.A.
Line Voltage: 120 VAC, 60 Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 9,089
Default Re: LG Xboom PK5 demo mode..probably

Quote:
Originally Posted by tomodachi View Post
Any chance to find firmware binary file I can reflash ? any suggestions ? I can reflash the firmware to its motherboard.
Would be interesting to see if that indeed solves the issue.

Hoping that someone sees this and can get a firmware dump here.

When it comes to firmware, I usually throw in the towel - but that's just me: I prefer to stick to hardware issues only.
momaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2019, 04:14 AM   #15
tomodachi
Badcaps Veteran
 
tomodachi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
City & State: Istanbul
My Country: Turkey
Line Voltage: 220
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 353
Default Re: LG Xboom PK5 demo mode..probably

Quote:
Originally Posted by momaka View Post
Would be interesting to see if that indeed solves the issue.

Hoping that someone sees this and can get a firmware dump here.

When it comes to firmware, I usually throw in the towel - but that's just me: I prefer to stick to hardware issues only.
haha thanks, I m also a hardware guy myself but gadgets nowadays piss me off with their strange firmware issues
tomodachi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2019
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:30 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?