Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > General Electronics Technical Discussion
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-13-2019, 02:04 PM   #1
evilkitty
Senior Member
 
evilkitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
City & State: VA
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 164
Default Thermal cut-off sensor/fuse

I got this unit free cause it did not work, was claimed to be DOA and past it's return window on the way to the dumpster
The issue seems to be this part:
https://canada.newark.com/thermodisc...50v/dp/67C6643
i guess this blows at >10A or overheats at 117C
given this part is bad either it was defective or blew on 1st use (power surge?)
when bypassing it the unit pulls 12.7A (clamp on meter)
maybe it was a bad combination of tolerances?

Perhaps i should replace it with this?
https://www.newark.com/nte-electroni...77v/dp/29C4799
or should i replace it with the original part

Last edited by evilkitty; 01-13-2019 at 02:08 PM..
evilkitty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2019, 02:47 PM   #2
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 20,760
Default Re: Thermal cut-off sensor/fuse

use a part that can handle atleast 15A, maybe 20 - or your asking for trouble!

btw, i hope you know you shouldnt solder those - try to use crimp-sleeves if you can.
i'v seen them trip while being soldered!

Last edited by stj; 01-13-2019 at 02:52 PM..
stj is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2019, 04:42 PM   #3
sam_sam_sam
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
City & State: Sunny Jacksonville FL
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120 Volts 60 HZ
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1,381
Default Re: Thermal cut-off sensor/fuse

Quote:
Originally Posted by evilkitty View Post
Perhaps i should replace it with this?
https://www.newark.com/nte-electroni...77v/dp/29C4799
or should i replace it with the original part
The 15 amp should be alright I would not go higher than that

You can only crimp these thermo fuses

Or

You can solder them however you need to put a wet rag on fuse part of it to keep the heat off of it will make it hard to solder
__________________
9 PC LCD Monitor
6 LCD Flat Screen TV
30 Desk Top Switching Power Supply
10 Desk Top Power Supply
10 Battery Charger Switching Power Supply for Power Tool
6 18v Lithium Battery Power Boards for Tool Battery Packs
1 XBox 360 Switching Power Supply and M Board
25 Servo Drives 220/460 3 Phase
6 De-soldering Station Switching Power Supply 1 Power Supply
1 Dell Mother Board
15 Computer Power Supply
1 HP Printer Supply & Control Board * lighting finished it *


These two repairs where found with a ESR meter...> Temp at 50*F then at 90*F the ESR reading more than 10%

1 Over Head Crane Current Sensing Board
2 Hem Saw Computer Stack Board

All of these had CAPs POOF
All of the mosfet that are taken out by bad caps

Last edited by sam_sam_sam; 01-13-2019 at 04:43 PM..
sam_sam_sam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2019, 05:36 PM   #4
petehall347
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
City & State: worcester
My Country: United Kingdom
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1,704
Default Re: Thermal cut-off sensor/fuse

hemostats
petehall347 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2019
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:23 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?