Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > General Topics > General Capacitor Questions & Issues
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-25-2018, 02:11 PM   #1
Cartel
Member
 
Cartel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 52
Question Digikey sold me caps that are over 4 years old

2014...thats pushing it for new prices isn't it?

And these 2700uf test pretty high...usually new caps test below a bit, old ones test high.

I dunno, seems a bit odd to me. Am I just being picky?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_3392.JPG (597.3 KB, 53 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_3393.JPG (414.6 KB, 45 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_3394.JPG (585.5 KB, 41 views)
Cartel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2018, 02:27 PM   #2
Cartel
Member
 
Cartel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 52
Default Re: Digikey sold me caps that are over 4 years old

These 450V caps I paid over $60 bucks for these...2014 too.

Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_3395.JPG (505.9 KB, 39 views)
Cartel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2018, 06:06 PM   #3
sam_sam_sam
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
City & State: Sunny Jacksonville FL
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120 Volts 60 HZ
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1,234
Default Re: Digikey sold me caps that are over 4 years old

I got cap from DigiKey before
I did not have any problem with them

I have used these types of capacitor in servo controller power supply with out any problem

This is my two cents worth
__________________
9 PC LCD Monitor
6 LCD Flat Screen TV
30 Desk Top Switching Power Supply
10 Desk Top Power Supply
10 Battery Charger Switching Power Supply for Power Tool
6 18v Lithium Battery Power Boards for Tool Battery Packs
1 XBox 360 Switching Power Supply and M Board
25 Servo Drives 220/460 3 Phase
6 De-soldering Station Switching Power Supply 1 Power Supply
1 Dell Mother Board
15 Computer Power Supply
1 HP Printer Supply & Control Board * lighting finished it *


These two repairs where found with a ESR meter...> Temp at 50*F then at 90*F the ESR reading more than 10%

1 Over Head Crane Current Sensing Board
2 Hem Saw Computer Stack Board

All of these had CAPs POOF
All of the mosfet that are taken out by bad caps
sam_sam_sam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2018, 08:14 PM   #4
Topcat
The Boss Stooge
 
Topcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
City & State: Salem, MO
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 12,114
Default Re: Digikey sold me caps that are over 4 years old

They aren't produce or meats from a grocery store....they'll be fine.
__________________
<--- Badcaps.net Founder & Owner

Badcaps.net Services:

Premade Capacitor Kits
Badcaps.net Capacitor Master List


Motherboard Repair Services


If you've come here in search of replacement capacitors or repair services, please use the links above.
----------------------------------------------
Badcaps.net Forum Members Folding Team
http://folding.stanford.edu/
Team : 49813
Join in!!
Team Stats
Topcat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2018, 08:30 PM   #5
goontron
5000!
 
goontron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
City & State: South Greeley, Wyoming
My Country: US
Line Voltage: 13.9kv HT service and some 240v center tap oddity.
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 3,949
Default Re: Digikey sold me caps that are over 4 years old

The capacitance is higher because the oxide layer is thinner. Once you put them in use they will reform and be fine.
__________________
Things I've fixed: anything from semis to crappy Chinese $2 radios.

"Dude, this is Wyoming, i hopped on and sent 'er. No fucking around." -- Me

Excuse me while i do something dangerous

My "Extremest" views: I will spread my knowledge to whoever will receive it. It is their prerogative if they do bad with it.

You must have a sad, sad boring life if you hate on people harmlessly enjoying life with an animal costume.

Sometimes you need to break shit to fix it.... Thats why my lawnmower doesn't have a deadman switch or engine brake anymore
goontron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2018, 12:23 AM   #6
retiredcaps
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
City & State: Canada
Posts: 9,080
Default Re: Digikey sold me caps that are over 4 years old

I'm not defending digikey, but 2700uF 25V may not be a "popular" value so the turnover for these caps might not be very high? Say compared to 1000uF 16V.
__________________
--- begin sig file ---

If you are new to this forum, we can help a lot more if you please post clear focused pictures (max resolution 2000x2000 and 2MB) of your boards using the manage attachments button so they are hosted here. Information and picture clarity compositions should look like this post.

We respectfully ask that you make some time and effort to read some of the guides available for basic troubleshooting. After you have read through them, then ask clarification questions or report your findings.

Please do not post inline and offsite as they slow down the loading of pages.

--- end sig file ---
retiredcaps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2018, 10:49 AM   #7
budm
Badcaps Veteran
 
budm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: S.F. Bay area
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 34,894
Default Re: Digikey sold me caps that are over 4 years old

2902uF is only +8% way within spec. for 2700uF rated cap which has tolerance of +/-20%.
PW series cap: http://products.nichicon.co.jp/en/pdf/XJA043/e-pw.pdf
__________________
Never stop learning
Basic LCD TV and Monitor troubleshooting guides.
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...956#post305956

Voltage Regulator (LDO) testing:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...999#post300999

Inverter testing using old CFL:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...er+testing+cfl

Tear down pictures : Hit the ">" Show Albums and stories" on the left side
http://s807.photobucket.com/user/budm/library/

TV Factory reset codes listing:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthread.php?t=24809

Last edited by budm; 09-26-2018 at 10:52 AM..
budm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2018, 10:58 AM   #8
Per Hansson
Super Moderator
 
Per Hansson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
City & State: ----
My Country: Sweden
Line Voltage: 230v 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4,223
Default Re: Digikey sold me caps that are over 4 years old

Read the section "shelf life" in the above PDF.
If you want to threat them nicely you can read this:
https://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthread.php?t=50530

Me? I'd just put them in circuit and be done with it
__________________
"The one who says it cannot be done should never interrupt the one who is doing it."
Per Hansson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2018, 02:33 PM   #9
PeteS in CA
Badcaps Veteran
 
PeteS in CA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
City & State: San Jose, CA
My Country: USA, Unsure of Planet
Line Voltage: 120VAC, 60Hz & 115VAC, 400Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 2,802
Default Re: Digikey sold me caps that are over 4 years old

1.) PW series does not use the water-based electrolyte that has caused a shelf-life issue with some vendors and series. And AFAIK, water-based electrolytes have not been used for high voltage electrolytics.

2.) As "retiredcaps" said, 2700uF is not a popular value like 2200uF or 3300uF.

3.) As budm said, ~2800uF is well within spec. Cheap crap caps tend to be toward the low end of their spec, if not fraudulently low.

All in all, I would not think twice about using those parts.
__________________
PeteS in CA

Power Supplies should be boring: No loud noises, no bright flashes, and no bad smells.

Where might is right
There is no right.
- Sophocles in "Antigone"
****************************
All that is gold does not glitter,
Not all those who wander are lost;
- J.R.R. Tolkien, The Fellowship of the Ring
****************************
To kill personal responsibility, initiative or success, punish it by taxing it. To encourage irresponsibility, improvidence, dependence and failure, reward it by subsidizing it.
PeteS in CA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2018, 11:53 PM   #10
Cartel
Member
 
Cartel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 52
Default Re: Digikey sold me caps that are over 4 years old

Thanks for the replies.

The reason I buy caps at digikey and not aliexpress or ebay is because they are supposed to be fresh stock.

It bothers me to see 2014 on a cap I paid $8 a piece for.
The 25v caps...I can live with but the 450v ones it doesn't sit well with me.
I bought 5000 hour caps so I can enjoy the long life, not digikey's parts shelf.

Blowing up a $4000 amplifier would really piss me off.

/rant
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_3236.JPG (614.6 KB, 31 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_3237.JPG (594.8 KB, 23 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_3239.JPG (634.8 KB, 23 views)
Cartel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2018, 12:09 AM   #11
goontron
5000!
 
goontron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
City & State: South Greeley, Wyoming
My Country: US
Line Voltage: 13.9kv HT service and some 240v center tap oddity.
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 3,949
Default Re: Digikey sold me caps that are over 4 years old

4 Grand? What band is it exaclty?
goontron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2018, 03:06 AM   #12
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 20,246
Default Re: Digikey sold me caps that are over 4 years old

a modern re-make of something old??
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2018, 04:49 AM   #13
Cartel
Member
 
Cartel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 52
Default Re: Digikey sold me caps that are over 4 years old

Quote:
Originally Posted by goontron View Post
4 Grand? What band is it exaclty?
160m-6m, its an acom 1000


The other thing about these old caps is nichicon gives them a 2 year shelf life.
http://www.nichicon.co.jp/english/pr...f/aluminum.pdf

Then I'm supposed to apply 450v though a 1k resistor for 1 hour (x's 8 caps) and then bleed them with a 1 ohm

Quote:
Connect a 1kΩ resistor in series with the subject capacitor, and apply the DC voltage as high as the Rated Voltage for 1 hour.
Discharge the capacitor through a resistor of about 1Ω/Volt after the electrification
Seriously? Pay $61 plus shipping then spend a week reforming them, buying a 450v power supply to boot?
Like I got all the time and money in the world to do that on my kitchen table right?

I just want to unsolder the old ones and replace them with new caps...this is ridiculous I'm sorry.

*I just called digikey and they said they would replace them with some rubycons of the same values.
They said the rubycons were delivered (to them) in August 2018.
That sounds ok.
This sure is alot of stress though and it sounds like they want me to pay to ship these back.

I spent alot of time (hours) going through data sheets, figuring out lead spacing and heights to reach the decision to buy the nichicons.
wasted hours of my life with this and now wasting more.

Last edited by Cartel; 09-27-2018 at 05:18 AM..
Cartel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2018, 09:52 AM   #14
goontron
5000!
 
goontron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
City & State: South Greeley, Wyoming
My Country: US
Line Voltage: 13.9kv HT service and some 240v center tap oddity.
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 3,949
Default Re: Digikey sold me caps that are over 4 years old

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cartel View Post
160m-6m, its an acom 1000


The other thing about these old caps is nichicon gives them a 2 year shelf life.
http://www.nichicon.co.jp/english/pr...f/aluminum.pdf

Then I'm supposed to apply 450v though a 1k resistor for 1 hour (x's 8 caps) and then bleed them with a 1 ohm



Seriously? Pay $61 plus shipping then spend a week reforming them, buying a 450v power supply to boot?
Like I got all the time and money in the world to do that on my kitchen table right?

I just want to unsolder the old ones and replace them with new caps...this is ridiculous I'm sorry.

*I just called digikey and they said they would replace them with some rubycons of the same values.
They said the rubycons were delivered (to them) in August 2018.
That sounds ok.
This sure is alot of stress though and it sounds like they want me to pay to ship these back.

I spent alot of time (hours) going through data sheets, figuring out lead spacing and heights to reach the decision to buy the nichicons.
wasted hours of my life with this and now wasting more.

Ah, wideband. No wonder....

usually i would say put them in a let the reform on their own, but seeing as how wideband amps are easy to drive into oscillation, i don't blame you for being weary....
goontron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2018, 10:09 AM   #15
budm
Badcaps Veteran
 
budm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: S.F. Bay area
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 34,894
Default Re: Digikey sold me caps that are over 4 years old

"They said the rubycons were delivered (to them) in August 2018." but do they they date code for those rubycons?
budm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2018, 11:03 AM   #16
Cartel
Member
 
Cartel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 52
Default Re: Digikey sold me caps that are over 4 years old

They refunded me for the 450v and the 25v that were 2014 and said to toss them.
I'm happy for that and will continue to use digikey.
Cartel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2018, 10:48 PM   #17
brethin
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
City & State: Owensboro, KY.
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 1,673
Default Re: Digikey sold me caps that are over 4 years old

I bet you are, way to scam them., I'm sure they were perfectly fine, it's not bread or milk. Meanwhile our prices go up because of this..
brethin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2018, 01:25 AM   #18
Cartel
Member
 
Cartel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 52
Default Re: Digikey sold me caps that are over 4 years old

Quote:
Originally Posted by brethin View Post
I bet you are, way to scam them., I'm sure they were perfectly fine, it's not bread or milk. Meanwhile our prices go up because of this..
I didn't ask for a refund, I was going to send them back and buy Rubycons.
They just did it and refunded the 2700uf 25v caps on their own, I didn't even mention those to them.
Cartel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2018, 12:44 PM   #19
retiredcaps
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
City & State: Canada
Posts: 9,080
Default Re: Digikey sold me caps that are over 4 years old

So far all the feedback I hear regarding Digikey resolving their mistakes has been positive. That is, they don't question the customer and quickly resolve the problem by shipping out the correct or missing parts within 24 to 48 hours at no additional cost to the customer.

Same for Mouser.
retiredcaps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2018, 08:47 AM   #20
kc8adu
Super Moderator
 
kc8adu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
City & State: dayton ohio
My Country: U.S.A!
Line Voltage: 12vdc,120/240vac,480vac 3ph on my bench
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 8,268
Default Re: Digikey sold me caps that are over 4 years old

i would be much more concerned about the bleeder resistors in that acom rather than a few years old caps.
they drift due to heat.
and when one opens you start hearing snapping as the cap it is across breaks down internally.
i always replace all of them in any hf amp i service.
failure of 1 resistor sets the whole chain of failure rolling.
kc8adu is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2019
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:39 AM.
Did you find this forum helpful?