Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Equipment Usage, Soldering, Techniques, and Reviews
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-09-2014, 03:58 PM   #1
abeeftec
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
City & State: Florida
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 42
Default Did I ruin this?

Emergency question!

On this PSU Board for a Monitor, Between R403 and ZD406 there is a capacitor leg.

I used Red and Blue pen in the picture to point at what I believe is traces connecting these three parts together.

If I pulled a pad off removing that capacitor can I just solder that one leg of that capacitor directly to the leg of R403 and ZD406 or use one of those circuit pens to reestablish a connection or is my PSU finished?

This really sucks. I believe I pulled the pad right through the hole with the capacitor wire.


Does the leg closest to the outer edge of the PCB between R403 and ZD406 connect both R403 and ZD406 or does it only connect to R403?

Am I correct in thinking I can repair this or is this a done deal?

I was close to half done removing capacitors when this happened.

I included a picture so you can see what I am talking about.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg BOARD.JPG (86.2 KB, 95 views)

Last edited by abeeftec; 04-09-2014 at 04:00 PM..
abeeftec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2014, 05:03 PM   #2
clearchris
Badcaps Veteran
 
clearchris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
City & State: San Antonio
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120v 60hz / 240v 60hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 227
Default Re: Did I ruin this?

I wouldn't mess with a circuit pen, just solder a new wire on there.

If you had to tear a pad, that was a good one.

Last edited by clearchris; 04-09-2014 at 05:04 PM..
clearchris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2014, 05:23 PM   #3
abeeftec
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
City & State: Florida
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 42
Default Re: Did I ruin this?

Quote:
Originally Posted by clearchris View Post
I wouldn't mess with a circuit pen, just solder a new wire on there.

If you had to tear a pad, that was a good one.

Do I have to solder an actual wire or can I just stretch the solder over?

Also, Does it go between both ZD406 and R403?



you know since this happened I have learned to flux every damned thing! Whodda thought, Flux! .
abeeftec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2014, 05:31 PM   #4
tom66
EVs Rule
 
tom66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
City & State: Leeds
My Country: UK
Line Voltage: 230Vac 50Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 32,374
Default Re: Did I ruin this?

Wire is best... solder can crack if stretched.
__________________
Please do not PM me with questions! Questions via PM will not be answered. Post on the forums instead!
Free service manuals: http://www.toms-service-manuals.com/ -- 72 LED/LCD TVs, 5 monitors, 28 plasma TVs, and 2 AVR 6.1 amplifiers fixed! -- I repair Pioneer 9G Plasma Main Boards & KRP-M01 Media Receivers (PM me for info)

2 Pioneer KURO 9G, 12 Panasonic LCD/Plasma, 1 Sony LCD, 1 NEC Plasma, 2 Yamaha HTS, 5 Sharp LCDs, 5 Toshiba LCDs, 7 Philips Plasma/LCD, 1 Hitachi Plasma, 11 LG LCD/Plasma, 18 Samsung LED/LCD/Plasma, 1 Thomson Plasma, 1 Atec LCD, 1 Hanspree LCD, 1 Xerox LCD, 1 Harwa LCD, 2 Proview LCD, 2 Hyundai LCD, 1 "Onn" LCD, 1 Grundig LCD, 1 Dell LCD, 1 iiyama LCD, 1 Acer LED, 1 Logik LCD, 1 Baird (China) LCD, 6 Bush LCDs, 22 Vestel LCDs (Best->Worst)
tom66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2014, 05:33 PM   #5
abeeftec
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
City & State: Florida
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 42
Default Re: Did I ruin this?

Quote:
Originally Posted by tom66 View Post
Wire is best... solder can crack if stretched.
Thanks to you both! I really didn't want to fork out 60 more dollars to fix this monitor that I already paid far too much for!
abeeftec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2014, 12:56 PM   #6
abeeftec
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
City & State: Florida
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 42
Default Re: Did I ruin this?

One more mistake.

One of the two pictures included shows a Capacitor leg with a red dot.

Can someone tell me what components surrounding is it connected to? I also believe I broke this pad as well?

I think there is a difference between what appears to be a raised line(trace maybe?) going from the leg to R713 and what appears may be a line but not a trace going to both Q704 and R712?

Am I correct? I need to know what to connect this leg to so I can consider myself finished and test this board.

I included a picture of my board with what I believe is a broken pad in that area.

I soldered 22 joints and this is the first time I ever soldered with the exception of when I had no clue what I was doing and tried to solder a power jack back on.t sucks that I broke these pads but I now know what not to do and believe even if I destroyed this PSU it would be worth the learning experience.

Also one last thing, IS flux capacitive and do I have to clean it all off before starting the board or can I start it and let it burn off? LOL. I just don't know how to clean the flux off without an alcohol bath
Attached Images
File Type: jpg BOARD PROBLEM.JPG (96.1 KB, 44 views)
File Type: jpg BOARD PROBLEM2.JPG (103.6 KB, 44 views)

Last edited by abeeftec; 04-10-2014 at 01:03 PM..
abeeftec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2014, 04:02 PM   #7
momaka
Badcaps Veteran
 
momaka's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
City & State: VA (NoVA)
My Country: U.S.A.
Line Voltage: 120 VAC, 60 Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 8,952
Default Re: Did I ruin this?

Quote:
Originally Posted by abeeftec View Post
I think there is a difference between what appears to be a raised line(trace maybe?) going from the leg to R713 and what appears may be a line but not a trace going to both Q704 and R712?

Am I correct?
I can't say for 100% sure, but I think you are right. At least, it looks so to me as well. However, if that hole under it is for the other lead of the capacitor, then this makes me wonder what exactly is the capacitor doing in that circuit. Just the way that resistor R713 is connected makes it appear as if the capacitor isn't doing anything (which we know can't be right, otherwise the manufacturer would not put it there and save a cent or two).

Would it be possible to provide more pictures? (and possibly higher quality too). Also, two clear pictures of the overall PSU board (both top and bottom) would help to see where this capacitor is located and hopefully also find its function (so that way we don't have to double-guess what it is connected to).
momaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2014, 07:58 AM   #8
abeeftec
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
City & State: Florida
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 42
Default Re: Did I ruin this?

I actually was correct. ODDLY!
I put it all back together and so far so good!
After changing 23 Capacitors (2 of which were on the mainboard) the monitor powered on and the power button issue is gone. I am now waiting to see if the snowing after 45 minute issue and the black out flashes stop too.

Thanks!
abeeftec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2014, 08:07 AM   #9
SteveNielsen
Retired Tech
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
City & State: Newport, OR
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 2,306
Default Re: Did I ruin this?

Good so far. Concerning the flux, it's not going to burn off in normal operation. Alcohol will dissolve it without damaging the board.
SteveNielsen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2014, 10:12 AM   #10
abeeftec
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
City & State: Florida
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 42
Default Re: Did I ruin this?

Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveNielsen View Post
Good so far. Concerning the flux, it's not going to burn off in normal operation. Alcohol will dissolve it without damaging the board.

Thanks!

I alcohol bathed the board. Was a bit scary but 91% has a pretty fast evap time.

It has been running for 3 hours now straight without issue. It wouldn't go 45 minutes before being recapped.

Also the power button was pushed on and off about 30 times and not one mishap! I couldn't push it 3 times before the recap without it not working and needing to be pushed a bunch of times to get it to come on.

Seems fixed. But I still want to give it a day of full run time and have someone game on it for a few hours to be certain that its solid.
abeeftec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2014, 10:40 AM   #11
SteveNielsen
Retired Tech
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
City & State: Newport, OR
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 2,306
Default Re: Did I ruin this?

Good work
SteveNielsen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2019
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:35 AM.
Did you find this forum helpful?