Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting & Designing Networks
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-03-2010, 07:04 PM   #21
Wrog
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
City & State: Florida
Posts: 450
Default Re: House wiring

Quote:
Originally Posted by smason View Post
Zoneminder ROCKS! And it's free. It will also work with IP cameras, and wireless IP cameras, even cheap USB webcams.
Sweet, I see that they even support some wireless IP cameras we already have (ABS Megacam 4220). Will definitely check into using this.

Quote:
Originally Posted by smason View Post
A good dual shield RG6 is fine, quadshield is ok, but overkill. I use dual shield for 60 foot runs of Gigahertz sat feed, and it's fine.
Overkill isn't bad sometimes; we plan to stay in the house until retirement, and who knows what kind of technology will be out by then that may be able to take advantage of better wiring.

Quote:
Originally Posted by smason View Post
Those On-q, and Leviton all-in-one boxes are waaaay overpriced, that's why that builder "swears by them" huge markup Just get a standard 110 patch panel and a decent switch.
Cat 6 for phone is overkill, but I always recommend it, as you can switch to data later, or VOIP without having to re-wire.
I kind of figured that; these types of systems are high margin even taking the labor into account. We've already told the builder we'll be doing our own wiring along with the hardware. We'll let them concentrate on actually building the house! Thanks a lot for your insight, it seems we have a bit more research to do.
Wrog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2010, 07:05 PM   #22
Wrog
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
City & State: Florida
Posts: 450
Default Re: House wiring

Quote:
Originally Posted by ratdude747 View Post
do quadshield, if you ever do satellite, you need it, 1000mhz is for digital cable only. dualshield is harder to find as well. swapping splitters is much less of a paint than swapping cable... do it right the first time.
Totally agree with this; the cost difference ($50?) is worth it in my opinion.
Wrog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2010, 10:19 PM   #23
kaniki
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: City of Idiots, Pennsylvania
Posts: 512
Default Re: House wiring

partly right.. standard RG6 starts at duel shielding.. Here that is very easy to find.. If you are going to want the better stuff, I would more watch toward getting solid copper cable instead of copper clad (copper coated steel "center data wire only"). The copper clad will work, but the solid copper is more flexible, and because of it being a solid copper core wire, it has less signal drop..
kaniki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2010, 05:05 PM   #24
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 20,221
Default Re: House wiring

i only use 6.6mm oxygen-free copper core with copper foil wrap + copper braid.
the loss figures on that are tiny.

Last edited by stj; 08-04-2010 at 05:09 PM..
stj is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2010, 09:42 PM   #25
Wrog
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
City & State: Florida
Posts: 450
Default Re: House wiring

Thanks guys, I will keep that in mind when I start shopping. Speaking of shopping, I started looking at prices for Cat6 and Cat6A... I can't believe Cat6A is 3X more expensive! I wonder how much a few thousand feet of fiber (and related equipment) would cost.
Wrog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2010, 07:06 PM   #26
thesavo
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
City & State: Albany, NY
Posts: 13
Default Re: House wiring

Depends on if you want single mode or Multi-mode.
thesavo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2010, 07:14 PM   #27
shadow
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
City & State: Melbourne, Victoria
My Country: Australia
Posts: 725
Default Re: House wiring

Not only...damn those specialised equipment needed to terminate fibre cables!
shadow is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2019
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:43 AM.
Did you find this forum helpful?