Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting & Designing Networks
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-13-2010, 10:46 AM   #1
blowing_in_the_watts
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 21
Default Dual or triple firewalls?

ok the modem always has a firewall now right?
then you have a real firewall behind that
which goes out to your beloved unsecured wireless connection

so, how do you make them all happy and work together?
NETWORKING!!!

anyone using 192.168.. should be shot

you can still use 192 but really why? it just makes it easier for backtrack4 to get you


oh whats that? you have a verison tower wireless modem with WEP128 encryption?
guess that will take me about 2 hours of sitting in my car next to your house to crack with my laptop and a bootable dvd
blowing_in_the_watts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2010, 02:05 PM   #2
ratdude747
Black Sheep
 
ratdude747's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
City & State: Madison, IN
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 15,845
Default Re: Dual or triple firewalls?

please don't shoot me! all my stuff is 192.168.1._... whoch will be (whn my move is done) a router and a LAN printer... all else is dhcp.

no problems... and the router is a netgear wireless g unit, will be replaced with a linksys wireless g +mimo unit, w/ddwrt... i had to turn securitys off because wep is useless (hacked so easily) and my computer with a wireless b card needed to connect...
__________________


(Insert witty quote here)
ratdude747 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2010, 02:16 PM   #3
smason
Badcaps Veteran
 
smason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: Alberta
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: 120VAC 61Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 1,589
Default Re: Dual or triple firewalls?

Oh noes..... My 192.168.20.x network behind an enterprise class hardware firewall and monitored by a very good IDS is in danger!!!!111ONE

I'll watch my IDS logs for all you super haxors....
smason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2010, 12:19 AM   #4
Colt45ws
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
City & State: Central Washington
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 170
Default Re: Dual or triple firewalls?

WPA2-Enterprise
Colt45ws is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2010, 07:42 PM   #5
kaniki
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: City of Idiots, Pennsylvania
Posts: 512
Default Re: Dual or triple firewalls?

I'm still trying to figure out the point of this topic.. Networking??? Uhh, if you have more then 1 computer on your home network then you are networking.. as for the the security... well, tell me, what firewall encryption is flawless and cant be cracked.. answer.. NONE!!! as for the 192.168 remark.. I see nothing wrong with it. I have a wireless network and what I do is keep the wireless 192.168. network a separate network then my main network. after all, if i am using the wireless, it is only to get on the net so no need to get to my other PCs with it. That is what the extra wired cat5 cable is for.. As for the encryption, all that does is keep the honest or stupid people off your network and gives a little privacy and less high-jacking of you connection to the net. pretty much every one here knows all this....

so as my previous remark stated.. the point of this topic is????
kaniki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2010, 07:58 PM   #6
toastygoodness
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
City & State: Chicago, IL
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 813
Default Re: Dual or triple firewalls?

i don't get it. 192.168 = dhcp/nat. that in itself is enough protection.

you're incorrect, people with 10. ~ . ~ . ~ should be shot. why? that's the default setting on _apple_ routers.

but i probably can't make fun of that, i have an airport extreme, although it was free.
toastygoodness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2010, 09:41 PM   #7
shadow
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
City & State: Melbourne, Victoria
My Country: Australia
Posts: 725
Default Re: Dual or triple firewalls?

There are good reasons for your local LAN to use IP addresses within the private IP address space. If you assign an IP address outside these regions, it is possible for you to find certain sites on the Internet totally inaccessible due to IP address conflicts. Therefore it is strongly recommended to use one of these IP address ranges:
10.0.0.0 10.255.255.255
172.16.0.0 172.31.255.255
192.168.0.0 192.168.255.255

IP Addresses within the private IP address space are guaranteed to not be in use on the Internet and most ISP routers would be setup to immediately block traffic from these IP ranges (as they do not belong on the Internet).

By the way, there is no security advantage by using say 172.16.4.x address range over 192.168.1.x.

Last edited by shadow; 07-14-2010 at 09:47 PM..
shadow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2010, 10:18 PM   #8
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 20,230
Default Re: Dual or triple firewalls?

i dont need a firewall, i dont leave any ports open other than the ssh and ftp servers.
fuck the password up twice on either and your I.P. is blacklisted.
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2010, 02:58 AM   #9
kaniki
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: City of Idiots, Pennsylvania
Posts: 512
Default Re: Dual or triple firewalls?

yea but as long as it is a router or something of the sort, you always have the option of resetting the device back to factory standards..

as for the IP range and internet thing.. That is soo true. I remember once when I was in school, the teacher showed us what would happen and changed the IP addy of the one PC to that of an actual site (like MSN.COM).. had nothing but problems trying to ping, get info, or pretty much do anything that used the network.. at least as long as that PC was connected to the net..
kaniki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2010, 12:59 PM   #10
AudioCraZ
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
City & State: Bakersfield, CA
Posts: 147
Default Re: Dual or triple firewalls?

Used to love IPCop, but they havn't updated in a while. IPFire is pretty good, lots of addons as well to add to the router for extra functions. For anybody who has an older working computer laying around, you can make a really fast, and solid router.
AudioCraZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2010, 08:28 PM   #11
blowing_in_the_watts
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 21
Default Re: Dual or triple firewalls?

ipcop is good, i have a 1.5ghz moble intel celeron on a slim/micro pc with a 2.5inch 3gb laptop hdisk from...1997...
yeah you know those "upgrade" cpu on laptops you do... what to do with the spare cpu? throw it in another handme down junk pc
also it has one single pci slot which i put a second 10/100 fast ethernet low profile card + the onboard
one in, one out
sure it adds .ms of latency
but at the speed of light who can complain when a device checks the packets and source?


i'll have to check out IPFire


i have a friend who works for a firewall company
hes only a marketing manager, ie: business tool
but they create IDS and IPS software for their enterprise firewalls

once in a temp warehouse job, summer job, i was privelaged to package into 6 boxes a total of $48,000 of cisco firewalls
each firewall according to the MSRB on the invoice product list was worth $4,800 each
i really loved working there being a gear on the warehouse floor
distribution sites that shipped solely buy.com, amazon, newegg, and walmart
you know what walmart sells site2store free shipping?
TONS OF COMPUTERS! and LCD screens etc
blowing_in_the_watts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2010, 03:18 AM   #12
japlytic
Badcaps Veteran
 
japlytic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
City & State: Rockhampton, Queensland, Australia
My Country: Australia
Line Voltage: 240VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist
Posts: 1,951
Default Re: Dual or triple firewalls?

When I choose ADSL modems (for ourselves or others), I naturally prefer those with a hardware firewall (Our first ever ADSL modem had a hardware firewall).
The Windows firewall combined with the ADSL modem firewall would make it a double firewall.
Many firewalls (mainly those for SOHO use) are virtually useless against wireless intruders too.
__________________
My first choice in quality Japanese electrolytics is Nippon Chemi-Con, which has been in business since 1931... the quality of electronics is dependent on the quality of the electrolytics.
japlytic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2010, 04:54 AM   #13
Scenic
o.O
 
Scenic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
City & State: Duisburg
My Country: Germany
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
Posts: 2,615
Default Re: Dual or triple firewalls?

Quote:
Originally Posted by blowing_in_the_watts
i really loved working there being a gear on the warehouse floor
distribution sites that shipped solely buy.com, amazon, newegg, and walmart
buy.com? those fucktards who spam ebay germany with 10000s of overpriced items in the wrong categories? >.<

every f*ckin time i look for something on ebay i have to manually exclude buy_deutschland and another one of
those spamming f*cktards, densus_de (which is actually even worse in terms of wrong categories and overpriced items)

BTT.. i have to take a look at IPCop and IPFire (or something else) some day..
not really satisfied with all of the consumer grade routers i've had so far.
plus i've got 2 neat little low-wattage x86 based thinclients to play with
__________________
The USA have Barack Obama, Bob Hope, Stevie Wonder and Jonny Cash.
We have Angela Merkel, no hope, no wonder, no cash.

Last edited by Scenic; 07-16-2010 at 04:59 AM..
Scenic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2010, 04:31 PM   #14
weirdlookinguy
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
City & State: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,611
Default Re: Dual or triple firewalls?

I am extremely confused with what this thread is about. Are you making a big fuss over the remote possibility that some nerd might pull up to my house in his Prius and spend two hours trying to crack my wifi?
weirdlookinguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2010, 04:48 PM   #15
Scenic
o.O
 
Scenic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
City & State: Duisburg
My Country: Germany
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
Posts: 2,615
Default Re: Dual or triple firewalls?

don't bother trying to figure it out.. his posts/threads make no sense.. -.-
wannabe troll..
Scenic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2010, 06:44 PM   #16
NxB
Badcaps Veteran
 
NxB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,587
Default Re: Dual or triple firewalls?

Why would you have an unsecured wireless connection and 3 firewalls? Windows firewall seems like it lets most things connect out anyway. Home users usually get hit with malware and not local intruders.

What if someone breaks into your house and plugs into your switch. Where is your firewall then?

WEP cracking IS something I would worry about, you can generate your own traffic and crack it in like 15-20 minutes.
NxB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2010, 10:39 AM   #17
seanc
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
City & State: Cambridge, UK
Posts: 1,270
Default Re: Dual or triple firewalls?

The original post makes little sense to be too.

My WPA encryption and Smoothwall will do me just fine thanks.
seanc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2010, 10:16 PM   #18
Uranium-235
Muffins
 
Uranium-235's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
City & State: tehas
My Country: US
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 3,164
Default Re: Dual or triple firewalls?

i'm only going to say this once..

pfsense
Uranium-235 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2010, 12:09 PM   #19
seanc
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
City & State: Cambridge, UK
Posts: 1,270
Default Re: Dual or triple firewalls?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Uranium-235
i'm only going to say this once..

pfsense
We have one of those running in the office. There are a few deal breakers, which we're working around, but I think they'll be fixed in the next release.
seanc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2010, 02:00 PM   #20
mattch
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
City & State: Orlando FL
Line Voltage: 116V
Posts: 121
Default Re: Dual or triple firewalls?

Quote:
Originally Posted by blowing_in_the_watts
ok the modem always has a firewall now right?
then you have a real firewall behind that
which goes out to your beloved unsecured wireless connection

so, how do you make them all happy and work together?
NETWORKING!!!

anyone using 192.168.. should be shot

you can still use 192 but really why? it just makes it easier for backtrack4 to get you


oh whats that? you have a verison tower wireless modem with WEP128 encryption?
guess that will take me about 2 hours of sitting in my car next to your house to crack with my laptop and a bootable dvd

you outgh to be shot! backtrack4! dude backtrack 3 did that long ago, bt4 makes it easier. hell the last release of auditor probably had all the tools to do so i think!
Whats the security issue with using a class c private network, the only issue i can conceive is that you have to guess the network out of 255 choices then find your targets from the 254 hosts available, even thats a lame conception of ideas.... so whats the point i dont see one. .. take the work out of guessing and get a scanner network scanner!

i bet your using WAP2 right?!?! well guess what, yea you guessed it, like everythign else in this world, it can be broken into as well...... maybe not as fast and easily as wep128 but still.. you should get the point. besides who is going to take all the time and effort for somethign not even worth it. Now enterprises, thats a whole new topic on security. give it a year or so next edition of BT or somethign else will probably make it much easier by providing all the tools and making them work together nicely on a bootable dvd..

anyway sounds like your interested in networking, cool beans!!!!
mattch is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2019
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:59 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?