Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting & Designing Networks
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-13-2010, 10:43 AM   #1
blowing_in_the_watts
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 21
Default Syslog your firewall friend

Most of you own router/firewalls
do they come with syslog options?
the better ones do yes.

How would you like to capture that stuff automatically?
udp port 514 is your new friend
just configure your pc to capture it into a log!
then without even going to your browser to gui login to your router/firewall you can open the log and there you go!

or if you are a linux person just set an option in syslog and then syslog.conf set the debug.info to your firewall.log file
blowing_in_the_watts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2010, 10:21 PM   #2
Uranium-235
Muffins
 
Uranium-235's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
City & State: tehas
My Country: US
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 3,204
Default Re: Syslog your firewall friend

thank you for making a topic where you ask and answer your own questions

pfsense supports external syslog servers, which I would prefer in cases where pfsense is installed on flash media (like a CF ide card and such)
Uranium-235 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2010, 11:35 PM   #3
ratdude747
Black Sheep
 
ratdude747's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
City & State: Madison, IN
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 15,926
Default Re: Syslog your firewall friend

why does this seem to be quasi spam based on how it is worded?
__________________


(Insert witty quote here)
ratdude747 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2010, 12:51 AM   #4
Uranium-235
Muffins
 
Uranium-235's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
City & State: tehas
My Country: US
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 3,204
Default Re: Syslog your firewall friend

I would think so, but there is no real product advertised
Uranium-235 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2010, 11:17 AM   #5
toastygoodness
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
City & State: Chicago, IL
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 813
Default Re: Syslog your firewall friend

maybe he used to be one of those interwebz manual spammers, like my friend. pays well but your english skills end up like a thrid-world sales pitch.
toastygoodness is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2019
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:22 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?