Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting Power Supplies and Power Supply Design
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-27-2018, 05:14 PM   #1
Y. Signal
Member
 
Y. Signal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
City & State: South Spain
My Country: Spain
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 60
Question PSU with KME capacitors, recap or not?

Hello, I have this PSU from 1994 using Chemi-con KME and Chemi-con W (custom?) capacitors and I'd like to know if it's better to recap or leave it as is. These are the capacitors used in this power supply:
  • 1x 100 uF 10V Chemi-con KME
  • 1x 120 uF 200V Chemi-con W
  • 3x 330 uF 16V Chemi-con KME
  • 3x 2200 uF 10V Chemi-con KME
  • 1x 2200 uF 16V Chemi-con KME

Initially I've considered to recap using KMG, the indicated KME replacement, but some of them are very expensive to order here. Looking for another suitable replacement I've found that Rubycon PX have almost identical rated ripple current (some times just a bit more), but ESR is not indicated. For the Chemi-con W, since it seems to be the input filter, I've considered using Rubycon BXW or some similar capacitor rated 250V (or more if it fits?)

Since this circuit uses GP caps, does that mean that it's not very picky about ESR? if so, are the Rubycon PX or another GP caps with the same or a bit higher ripple current suitable?

Chemi-con KME datasheet
Chemi-con KME datasheet with max.ESR
Rubycon PX datasheet
Attached Images
File Type: jpg fuente-alimentacion-hst-3200.jpg (87.5 KB, 21 views)
Y. Signal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2018, 05:55 PM   #2
dmill89
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
City & State: Harrisburg, PA
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
Posts: 1,626
Default Re: PSU with KME capacitors, recap or not?

non-water based Chemi-Cons like these will probably last until the seals finally dry-out and shrink (which could be a long time I've got equipment from the 1970s with quality Japanese caps that are still good). Granted they are 24 years old and if replacing them certainly won't hurt anything (as long as you don't accidently damage something in the process), but it may not provide much benefit either. Unless you're experiencing issues or the equipment is in a critical application I probably wouldn't bother.
dmill89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2018, 05:25 AM   #3
Y. Signal
Member
 
Y. Signal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
City & State: South Spain
My Country: Spain
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 60
Default Re: PSU with KME capacitors, recap or not?

Thanks, nice to know that KME are good. This PSU gets a bit hot since it's in a plastic case with not much ventilating holes, anyway I think I'll leave it with these capacitors meanwhile it works fine. The machine is mostly turned off and it's turned on for 1-2 hours from time to time.

Anyway, are my proposed replacement adequate? any other suggestion?
Y. Signal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2018, 07:01 AM   #4
momaka
Badcaps Veteran
 
momaka's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
City & State: VA (NoVA)
My Country: U.S.A.
Line Voltage: 120 VAC, 60 Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 8,952
Default Re: PSU with KME capacitors, recap or not?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Y. Signal View Post
Anyway, are my proposed replacement adequate?
Yes, Rubycon PX is more or less directly equivalent to Chemicon KME/KMG, along with Nichicon VZ. I forgot what the Panasonic equivalent GP caps were. I think NHG?

Anyways, I agree with dmill89 - no need to replace these caps if there's no issue. I have amplifiers from the late 70's to the early 90's - all with original caps and still going strong.
momaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2018, 07:14 AM   #5
Y. Signal
Member
 
Y. Signal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
City & State: South Spain
My Country: Spain
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 60
Default Re: PSU with KME capacitors, recap or not?

Thanks momaka. I'll leave them meanwhile the unit works fine, anyway it's nice to know what would be a suitable replacement.

I think so, NHG are GP 105șC too: https://industrial.panasonic.com/cdb...A0000C1215.pdf
Y. Signal is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums © 2003 - 2019
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:14 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?