Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting Power Supplies and Power Supply Design
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-28-2011, 09:03 PM   #1
smason
Badcaps Veteran
 
smason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: Alberta
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: 120VAC 61Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 1,589
Default *&^%ing wall-warts

So my wireless access point has been crapping out off and on lately, mainly because a house guest was torrenting a few gigs of movies
So every time my wife's internet dissapears I tell her to power reset it and it's good again. So houseguests leave and all is well 'till I get a call "the internet is down" Me: "power cycle the access point"
Nope, still down. I connect to my Linux server from work and do some pings.
Interesting. All wired devicdes downstairs are up, all wireless devices, and all upstairs wired devices are down..
"I'll fix it when I get home"

I come home, sure enough the upstairs Netgear gigabit switch is toast.
I replace it with a spare 100megabit one and call it a day.

Checking it tonight, the 12v SMPS wall wart is putting out 3v when plugged in to the switch. Inspection of the switch shows nothing obvious, so I crack open the wall wart. Bloated Capxon 470@25.
I replace it, and test. Dead. Hmm..
Get out the loupe, yep, damaged it while cracking it open, or while pulling the bad cap off. A surface mount transistor has shifted ripping a trace. No where near the cap, and not soldering damage, more like I whacked it on somthing. D'oh!

Too tired and blind to do it tonight, will try tomorrow with glasses and light.

Netgear has been my go-to consumer brand since Linksys has always had a high failure rate and Dlink is catching up. Shame a decent unit was crippled by a crap wall-wart. I should pre-emptively fix the downstairs switch I guess.

Maybe I should just power them from a hard drive connecor in the computers...
__________________
36 Monitors, 3 TVs, 4 Laptops, 1 motherboard, 1 Printer, 1 iMac, 2 hard drive docks and one IP Phone repaired so far....
smason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2011, 11:29 PM   #2
PCBONEZ
Grumpy Old Fart
 
PCBONEZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
City & State: Phoenix, AZ
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 10,631
Default Re: *&^%ing wall-warts

Quote:
Originally Posted by smason View Post
Maybe I should just power them from a hard drive connecor in the computers...
I like it.
__________________
Mann-Made Global Warming.
- We should be more concerned about the Intellectual Climate.

-
Be who you are and say what you feel, because those who mind don't matter and those who matter don't mind.

- Dr Seuss
-
You can teach a man to fish and feed him for life, but if he can't handle sushi you must also teach him to cook.
-
PCBONEZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2011, 07:21 AM   #3
370forlife
Large Marge
 
370forlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
City & State: Kalamazoo, MI
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 0-120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 2,924
Default Re: *&^%ing wall-warts

Thats what I do. I have a old external sata (no, not e-sata) pci-slot cover. You plug a molex connector into it and two sata cables from your motherboard. It has a female molex connector on the back. Snipped a molex connector off a junker psu and wired 12v right into my old 3com switch.
__________________


Quote:
Originally Posted by JFK
The American, by nature, is optimistic. He is experimental, an inventor and a builder who builds best when called upon to build greatly
370forlife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2018, 12:15 AM   #4
kleung
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
City & State: Toronto, Ontario
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 48
Default Re: *&^%ing wall-warts

This is a necro thread but my power supply on the GS116 netgear switch also crapped out after a couple of years.

My replacement is now 4 years old and I'm wondering if I should replace it preemtively
kleung is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2018, 11:00 AM   #5
clearchris
Badcaps Veteran
 
clearchris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
City & State: San Antonio
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120v 60hz / 240v 60hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 227
Default Re: *&^%ing wall-warts

Quote:
Originally Posted by kleung View Post
This is a necro thread but my power supply on the GS116 netgear switch also crapped out after a couple of years.

My replacement is now 4 years old and I'm wondering if I should replace it preemtively
I replace my router caps every 2 years. I write the date of last replacement on the bottom of the router. Power supplies get replaced when the routers start getting random reboots every 2-3 years. Lately, I double the amps on the replacement power supply, and they seem to last longer.

I think the oldest router I have in service is 8-9 years old. It's now too slow to by my main router, but it works just fine as as access point for my garage.
clearchris is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2019
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:30 AM.
Did you find this forum helpful?