Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Equipment Usage, Soldering, Techniques, and Reviews
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-12-2015, 06:50 PM   #1
adiapp
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
City & State: Point Pleasant, NJ
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 5
Default Tracer Question

Attached is a pic of the power supply board - BN44-00201A - out of a Samsung TV - I desoldered 2 caps with wick - had a little trouble with 1 leg and scraped the tracer lightly in the photos - appears cosmetic - 2 quick questions - The strip of solder shown and hole for cap are all on one big tracer - correct ? When I solder the new cap can the hole and strip can make contact ? ie can I bridge them with solder ? There was black paint and green coating between the hole and strip of solder - but now you can see the bare copper - sorry for the novice question just trying to be careful - Thanks for any help
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 061A.jpg (301.8 KB, 26 views)
adiapp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2015, 08:15 PM   #2
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 20,251
Default Re: Tracer Question

it's all one connection, bridge it all you want.
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2015, 07:24 AM   #3
ben7
Capaholic
 
ben7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
City & State: Trenton, NJ
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 240/120V 60Hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 3,982
Default Re: Tracer Question

Yep you can bridge it.

To be honest, with power traces like these, I've actually had a hard time trying to intentionally cut them. I have accidentally scraped them before, and it seems that the soldermask comes off. Of course, if you want to be sure it will work, just bridge it over.

-Ben
__________________
Muh-soggy-knee
ben7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2015, 01:39 PM   #4
adiapp
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
City & State: Point Pleasant, NJ
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 5
Default Re: Tracer Question

OK Thanks - 1st time with a power supply board - never saw a tracer that wide - appreciate the response - seems either prior to or when they put the caps in and bend the legs over the board is marked (dotted) with black paint under the leg - not sure I've noticed it before on any other board - do not know what the reason is - mapping components ? quality control as they come off the line ? Actually the most curious about the trail of solder - Thanks again
adiapp is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2019
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:52 AM.
Did you find this forum helpful?