Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > General Topics > Custom Tweaks, Modifications, and Revisions
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-18-2008, 05:37 PM   #1
kc8adu
Super Moderator
 
kc8adu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
City & State: dayton ohio
My Country: U.S.A!
Line Voltage: 12vdc,120/240vac,480vac 3ph on my bench
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 8,268
Default dell 270/280 polymer mods

i just got 2 killerbee mobo's that are mine to mod.
now all i need are the cases/psu.
time to punish these polymers.
kc8adu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2008, 07:51 PM   #2
Topcat
The Boss Stooge
 
Topcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
City & State: Salem, MO
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 12,112
Default Re: dell 270/280 polymer mods

send me some. A corporate client is giving me 3 complete GX270 systems in trade for fixing a few. I can batter some of those polymers as well.
__________________
<--- Badcaps.net Founder & Owner

Badcaps.net Services:

Premade Capacitor Kits
Badcaps.net Capacitor Master List


Motherboard Repair Services


If you've come here in search of replacement capacitors or repair services, please use the links above.
----------------------------------------------
Badcaps.net Forum Members Folding Team
http://folding.stanford.edu/
Team : 49813
Join in!!
Team Stats
Topcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2008, 12:08 AM   #3
kc8adu
Super Moderator
 
kc8adu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
City & State: dayton ohio
My Country: U.S.A!
Line Voltage: 12vdc,120/240vac,480vac 3ph on my bench
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 8,268
Default Re: dell 270/280 polymer mods

i have a package going together for you .
was waiting for my 16v 330 to arrive.
kc8adu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2008, 08:08 AM   #4
bgavin
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
City & State: Orangevale, CA
Posts: 1,354
Default Re: dell 270/280 polymer mods

Source?
bgavin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2008, 12:01 PM   #5
kc8adu
Super Moderator
 
kc8adu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
City & State: dayton ohio
My Country: U.S.A!
Line Voltage: 12vdc,120/240vac,480vac 3ph on my bench
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 8,268
Default Re: dell 270/280 polymer mods

surplus deal.
pretty much one time deal.
kc8adu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2008, 12:03 PM   #6
kc8adu
Super Moderator
 
kc8adu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
City & State: dayton ohio
My Country: U.S.A!
Line Voltage: 12vdc,120/240vac,480vac 3ph on my bench
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 8,268
Default Re: dell 270/280 polymer mods

testing passed!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg MVC-207X.JPG (270.8 KB, 630 views)
File Type: jpg MVC-208X.JPG (244.2 KB, 549 views)
kc8adu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2008, 01:07 PM   #7
bgavin
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
City & State: Orangevale, CA
Posts: 1,354
Default Re: dell 270/280 polymer mods

Sorry to appear dumb, but those yellow/black are polymer? I thought they were just another brand of electrolytic that I didn't recognize... Vent tops on polymers?
bgavin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2008, 01:13 PM   #8
willawake
Super Modulator
 
willawake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
City & State: Αθήνα
Posts: 8,006
Default Re: dell 270/280 polymer mods

http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthread.php?t=4825

yup the polymer with vents
__________________
capacitor lab yachtmati techmati
willawake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2008, 03:37 PM   #9
kc8adu
Super Moderator
 
kc8adu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
City & State: dayton ohio
My Country: U.S.A!
Line Voltage: 12vdc,120/240vac,480vac 3ph on my bench
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 8,268
Default Re: dell 270/280 polymer mods

we need a sticky on this.
oh and i figured out why the vents are there.
the bung is hard not rubber.probably better to keep out moisture.
yeah i sacrificed a few in the name of science.
kc8adu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2008, 10:12 PM   #10
kikkoman
Badcaps Veteran
 
kikkoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
City & State: Heart of Darkness
Posts: 687
Default Re: dell 270/280 polymer mods

Quote:
Originally Posted by kc8adu
the bung is hard not rubber.probably better to keep out moisture.
i have a few of them here (FPCAP RE series) that do have rubber bungs. they've been in a geforce 2, so they're rather old. date code (?) is M 13267.
kikkoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2008, 07:10 PM   #11
Topcat
The Boss Stooge
 
Topcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
City & State: Salem, MO
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 12,112
Default Re: dell 270/280 polymer mods

Here's the first of the three GX270's I have to test the polymer caps. Funny, I have NEVER seen a Dell GX270 in its case, I've always just had the boards sent to me... Seeing one in its case was like seeing your favorite porn star with cloths on.... HAHA

Anyway, this one will get the Fujitsu ploymers...

Some before pics:





Attached Images
File Type: jpg gx_1838.jpg (89.7 KB, 1227 views)
File Type: jpg gx_1839.jpg (95.0 KB, 1213 views)
File Type: jpg gx_1840.jpg (93.5 KB, 1218 views)
Topcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2008, 01:56 AM   #12
Topcat
The Boss Stooge
 
Topcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
City & State: Salem, MO
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 12,112
Default Re: dell 270/280 polymer mods

Ok, its recapped. I just wanted to take a second to thank KC8ADU for supplying the polies I needed for this!! Thanks man!!!

The board passed bench testing, and I'll have it back in it case soon and we'll see how she does from there.







Attached Images
File Type: jpg gx_1841.jpg (103.2 KB, 1197 views)
File Type: jpg gx_1842.jpg (78.5 KB, 1184 views)
File Type: jpg gx_1843.jpg (74.9 KB, 1185 views)
File Type: jpg gx_1844.jpg (159.8 KB, 1167 views)
Topcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2008, 09:20 PM   #13
Topcat
The Boss Stooge
 
Topcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
City & State: Salem, MO
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 12,112
Default Re: dell 270/280 polymer mods

stickied. Looking forward to beating on some of these caps as well
Topcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2008, 02:56 AM   #14
PCBONEZ
Grumpy Old Fart
 
PCBONEZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
City & State: Phoenix, AZ
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 10,631
Default Re: dell 270/280 polymer mods

FPCAP stands for "Functional" Polymer Capacitor.
-
As I recall a while back someone in one of the threads tore one apart and discovered they aren't totally dry. There is still some liquid electrolyte going on, it's just damp instead of wet.
-
Sort of a hybrid between an electrolytic and a true solid polymer.
- And so the vent is needed.

.
__________________
Mann-Made Global Warming.
- We should be more concerned about the Intellectual Climate.

-
Be who you are and say what you feel, because those who mind don't matter and those who matter don't mind.

- Dr Seuss
-
You can teach a man to fish and feed him for life, but if he can't handle sushi you must also teach him to cook.
-
PCBONEZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2008, 03:34 AM   #15
willawake
Super Modulator
 
willawake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
City & State: Αθήνα
Posts: 8,006
Default Re: dell 270/280 polymer mods

its kewl but the photos suck ass

i tore one apart, a FPCAP not an ass
it was dry and crumbly
willawake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2008, 08:47 AM   #16
Topcat
The Boss Stooge
 
Topcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
City & State: Salem, MO
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 12,112
Default Re: dell 270/280 polymer mods

Quote:
Originally Posted by willawake
i...but the photos suck ass...
My GX270 poly pics kick ass though...

For what its worth, the lab rat GX system is back in its case, up and running, clean OS install, and seems to be running solid. I have 2 more of these critters to concoct an experiment out of.
Topcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2008, 07:20 PM   #17
PCBONEZ
Grumpy Old Fart
 
PCBONEZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
City & State: Phoenix, AZ
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 10,631
Default Re: dell 270/280 polymer mods

Quote:
Originally Posted by willawake
its kewl but the photos suck ass

i tore one apart, a FPCAP not an ass
it was dry and crumbly
meebee

Wasn't you that tore it apart I don't think. (not sure)
Was an older post. 1yr? ago.

I have a slew of bloated FPCAP's off some gateway P3 boards.
(Which were in my to-do box when I read that old post and is why I remember it.)

So, there is still something in their "proprietary technology" that can make gas. - And so they need vents, unlike 'true' solid polymer like OSCON that don't.

-- Or that's my take on why FPCAP's have vents.

I don't know what they really are. ... "proprietary technology" ???

Fujitsu still calls them Aluminum Electrolytics:
""Fujitsu has released a range of "FPCAP" (~~~), aluminum electrolytic capacitors which offer small-size with low ESR and high reliability.""
http://jp.fujitsu.com/group/fmd/en/services/capacitor/

...

On my pulls the the bloated ones ESR was .02.
Unbloated bounced between .00 and .01 on the meter.
These are RE-SU or RE-S1 and data sheet says .007 for both.
50% of the FPCAPs were bloated on 7 boards x5 FPCAPs caps/board.

You all can do what you want but FPCAPs are not going on my good list.

...
.
PCBONEZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2008, 05:29 PM   #18
kc8adu
Super Moderator
 
kc8adu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
City & State: dayton ohio
My Country: U.S.A!
Line Voltage: 12vdc,120/240vac,480vac 3ph on my bench
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 8,268
Default Re: dell 270/280 polymer mods

just got a report back.
a 270 i polymerized for a mitek cyber saw at a truss plant down the road solved a long term piss off the pope problem.
every 20th or so start cimplicity would either bsod when starting the project,start the saws without any command,or give a string of errors such as setpoint errors,overtravel alarms,e stop ,motor overheat,ect.
since i polyed the board they have not had any errors.
the shop owner tried all night to provoke a fuckup and he failed.
i now have 7 more of these to do.
kc8adu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2008, 07:33 PM   #19
PCBONEZ
Grumpy Old Fart
 
PCBONEZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
City & State: Phoenix, AZ
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 10,631
Default Re: dell 270/280 polymer mods

Hey Willa,
I found the thread where you cut one.
There was another where they spread the foil out.
Maybe it wasn't on badcaps net.
PCBONEZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2008, 05:39 PM   #20
kc8adu
Super Moderator
 
kc8adu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
City & State: dayton ohio
My Country: U.S.A!
Line Voltage: 12vdc,120/240vac,480vac 3ph on my bench
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 8,268
Default Re: dell 270/280 polymer mods

the earlier fpcaps would bloat after about 5 years of service due to moisture.
asus a7 series boards had lots of these.
not seen any boards in the p4/athlonxp class with bloated fujitsu's.
i have seen some skywell polys bad on video cards though.
kc8adu is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2019
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:25 AM.
Did you find this forum helpful?