Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Welcome to the Badcaps.net Tech Forum! > Announcements & Related News
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-10-2006, 09:07 AM   #21
smokinkane
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 22
Default Re: 865 Boards Albatron / Asus re Capacitors

Ok, so I replaced all the GSC caps, with the panasonic FM's. I booted up the computer, and it stayed up for probably 20 minutes and then rebooted. So it is still doing the same type thing, random reboots (blue screen first). Is there anything else you all can think of? I'm going to try some different ram tonight.

Before all the problems started, I was able to run my computer at the following:
FSB 275 (equaling 3.3ghz)@ 1.575v
Memory 1:1 (equaling 550mhz)@ 2.85v
This setup was fast and stable as hell.
smokinkane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2006, 09:40 AM   #22
willawake
Super Modulator
 
willawake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
City & State: Αθήνα
Posts: 8,006
Default Re: 865 Boards Albatron / Asus re Capacitors

do some memtest86 of the existing ram at those settings
__________________
capacitor lab yachtmati techmati
willawake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2006, 09:55 AM   #23
smokinkane
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 22
Default Re: 865 Boards Albatron / Asus re Capacitors

I ran memtest last night, and there were errors on were a screen full of errors on test 5 and it hard locked my computer after 3 and half hours (at the above settings). I guess I should lower the settings to stock and run it again. Oh and the memory is new OCZ PC4800 1gb kit.
smokinkane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2006, 10:10 AM   #24
willawake
Super Modulator
 
willawake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
City & State: Αθήνα
Posts: 8,006
Default Re: 865 Boards Albatron / Asus re Capacitors

there should be zero errors even after days of memtest86. when changing ram settings you must find the correct speed/voltage that gives no errors in memtest86.

i understand that the memory was working fine before at those settings. This is curious therefore we must eliminate bad ram as an issue first. Try stock speeds first to see if there is errors, if there is then test each stick seperately.

here is OCZ support forum if it turns out the ram is bad.
http://www.bleedinedge.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=45

Last edited by willawake; 02-10-2006 at 10:13 AM..
willawake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2006, 05:20 AM   #25
gonzo0815
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
City & State: Germany
Posts: 1,595
Default Re: 865 Boards Albatron / Asus re Capacitors

if you don`t tested the system before with prime 95 or memtest, then you never know if the problems are new or still right after doing the overclocking.
Generaly, the memtest number 5 errors could easily caused by either bad psu with high ripple or bad vrm caps. Youd should test the memory stiks seperately and if possible in an other system. If the memory is still good, then i would replace the inputcapacitors of the vrm unit (those before the feets and inductors) with caps with higher ripple current value. The overckloking will increase the powerkonsumption of the cpu, therefore the ripple current of the vrm will increase to, depednign on the number of phases uses. If the desinger haven`t had ocing in the mind, even good caps will fail, or degrade to that degree that ocing results are geting limited.
gonzo0815 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2006, 06:12 AM   #26
smokinkane
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 22
Default Re: 865 Boards Albatron / Asus re Capacitors

Well after alot of reading and tweaking, I figured out what was happening. When I shipped my board back to albatron for repair a while ago, they must have shipped me back a different board. This board will not run the 1:1 memory divider at the bus speeds I wanted, I had to lower the multiplier, and then to compensate ran the ram at cas2. Everything was ok, for about 3 weeks, then my cpu water block developed a crack (rma to thermaltake). The crack leaked fluid onto my video card, shorted it, but I cleaned it up and it seems to be working. Anyway, seems like just when you get something fixed something else dies,haha. life of a overclocker,haha
smokinkane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2006, 01:33 PM   #27
willawake
Super Modulator
 
willawake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
City & State: Αθήνα
Posts: 8,006
Default Re: 865 Boards Albatron / Asus re Capacitors

Albatron announce new boards so they must have changed their mind about exiting the motherboard business.

http://www.digit-life.com/news.html?05/98/89#59889





that KI51PV mini-itx looks nice with GeForce 6150 chipset. looks like mostly chemicon and a few oscon.
http://www.hardwarezone.com/news/view.php?id=4020&cid=4



and the PX975X with all chemicon polymer and oscon polymer SEP, and rather wierd features like 2 power supply connector (1 redundant) and 10 sata ports? in case you need all that.......another all polymer limited edition. check out also the metal mosfets mentioned in the below article.

http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/Cebit2006/Day3
Attached Images
File Type: jpg miniitxl.jpg (96.4 KB, 97 views)
File Type: jpg miniitx2.jpg (61.5 KB, 96 views)
File Type: jpg 975.jpg (171.2 KB, 97 views)

Last edited by willawake; 04-26-2006 at 02:48 PM..
willawake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2006, 03:59 PM   #28
willawake
Super Modulator
 
willawake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
City & State: Αθήνα
Posts: 8,006
Default Re: 865 Boards Albatron / Asus re Capacitors

commel are doing a core duo one. LV-677-2D



there is a grand total of 1 can capacitor on the board. looks like they are using Poscap solid electrolyte chip capacitors or similar instead



http://www.watch.impress.co.jp/akiba...c_lv677dc.html
http://www.commell.com.tw/Product/SBC/LV-677.HTM
Attached Images
File Type: jpg LV-677-2D.jpg (291.5 KB, 96 views)
File Type: jpg poscap_chips.jpg (8.6 KB, 83 views)

Last edited by willawake; 04-27-2006 at 02:18 AM..
willawake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2006, 04:47 PM   #29
willawake
Super Modulator
 
willawake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
City & State: Αθήνα
Posts: 8,006
Default Re: 865 Boards Albatron / Asus re Capacitors

anyone got availability of the albatron KI51PV mini-itx at a european online shop? damn i want one so bad.....
willawake is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2019
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:37 AM.
Did you find this forum helpful?