Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting Computer Displays
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-18-2012, 12:47 PM   #1
Jasgriff
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
City & State: England
My Country: UK
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 521
Default Barco LCN-42 No Power

Got hold of a new Monitor to play with!

Its come from a TV studio. They tried another power supply in it to get it going and it wouldn't so they decided to bin it. The nice chap I bought it off said that they don't really try hard to fix them its quicker just to put up a new one.

I have found the company that make then and the model is listed here...

http://www.barco.com/en/product/1821

It looks like they are a really good brand the quality feels amazing.

Has anybody ever delt with one of these? if do you you possibly have access to the service guide for it?

I have attached some pics.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_9112.JPG (472.2 KB, 34 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_9113.JPG (841.0 KB, 31 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_9115.jpg (397.3 KB, 22 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_9117.JPG (609.2 KB, 35 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_9118.JPG (696.9 KB, 42 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_9120.JPG (726.9 KB, 43 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_9121.JPG (580.4 KB, 33 views)
__________________
Fixed so far : 1 Home cinema system, 16 LCD Monitors, 4 LCD TV's

How to resize your pictures guide click HERE
Retiredcaps Ideal post example click HERE
Jasgriff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2012, 01:02 PM   #2
Scenic
o.O
 
Scenic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
City & State: Duisburg
My Country: Germany
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
Posts: 2,614
Default Re: Barco LCN-42 No Power

So.. what's the problem with it? lol

I already see a bunch of bulging caps on the board above the amplifier (?) heatsinks and a SMD fuse (with golden contacts!?) on the same board.

Can't really tell what that board is. The unconnected spaghetti all over the place don't really help either lol
Scenic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2012, 01:06 PM   #3
Jasgriff
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
City & State: England
My Country: UK
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 521
Default Re: Barco LCN-42 No Power

Im still taking it apart. Just took some pictures as it is so that I know what's going where.

I can see some bulging caps on the component input board.

Apparently they have tried another PSU in it already and that didn't work. I am going to take some more stuff off it then I will get some more pics.

You heard of this make before?
Jasgriff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2012, 01:16 PM   #4
Jasgriff
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
City & State: England
My Country: UK
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 521
Default Re: Barco LCN-42 No Power

Noooooooo

Blown Fuse! fallen at the first hurdle!
Jasgriff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2012, 01:51 PM   #5
Jasgriff
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
City & State: England
My Country: UK
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 521
Default Re: Barco LCN-42 No Power

Thought I would strip the Power Supply down a little to see what's going on.

Glad I did. Looks like a couple of caps have had it.

Also looks like there is a resistor burnt out.

Is it thermal paste that is used between the metal heat sinks?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_9122.JPG (830.7 KB, 48 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_9124.JPG (596.2 KB, 44 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_9128.JPG (516.9 KB, 41 views)
Jasgriff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2012, 02:22 PM   #6
Jasgriff
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
City & State: England
My Country: UK
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 521
Default Re: Barco LCN-42 No Power

Here is underneath the board looks like more damage!

There looks to be a blown copper strip just above J34.

J34 also looks to be damaged. I will measure it to see if it is blown.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_9129.JPG (657.8 KB, 51 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_9130.JPG (765.5 KB, 39 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_9131.JPG (1,018.3 KB, 36 views)

Last edited by Jasgriff; 03-18-2012 at 02:24 PM..
Jasgriff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2012, 02:38 PM   #7
retiredcaps
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
City & State: Canada
Posts: 9,092
Default Re: Barco LCN-42 No Power

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jasgriff View Post
Also looks like there is a resistor burnt out.
All I can see with 90% certainty is red black silver. I don't know about the last 2.
__________________
--- begin sig file ---

If you are new to this forum, we can help a lot more if you please post clear focused pictures (max resolution 2000x2000 and 2MB) of your boards using the manage attachments button so they are hosted here. Information and picture clarity compositions should look like this post.

We respectfully ask that you make some time and effort to read some of the guides available for basic troubleshooting. After you have read through them, then ask clarification questions or report your findings.

Please do not post inline and offsite as they slow down the loading of pages.

--- end sig file ---
retiredcaps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2012, 02:45 PM   #8
Jasgriff
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
City & State: England
My Country: UK
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 521
Default Re: Barco LCN-42 No Power

Safe to say its well and truely gone though? Do you know what wattage it might be it looks massive.
Jasgriff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2012, 02:48 PM   #9
retiredcaps
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
City & State: Canada
Posts: 9,092
Default Re: Barco LCN-42 No Power

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jasgriff View Post
Looks like a couple of caps have had it.
In the motherboard and ATX PS sections of this forum, a lot of people say that OST branded caps can fail without bloating. I see some OST caps on your board.
retiredcaps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2012, 02:53 PM   #10
retiredcaps
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
City & State: Canada
Posts: 9,092
Default Re: Barco LCN-42 No Power

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jasgriff View Post
Safe to say its well and truely gone though? Do you know what wattage it might be it looks massive.
Try and measure the resistor out of circuit first to see if the first digit is a "2" for the "red band" on your Fluke 175. It might even show up as 19??? or some close variation.

I'm not the greatest at spatial awareness so I'll pass on the guessing. However, it looks like you have a lot of room around it so if you guess really high for wattage, then it will fit and you have a safety margin.
retiredcaps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2012, 03:05 PM   #11
retiredcaps
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
City & State: Canada
Posts: 9,092
Default Re: Barco LCN-42 No Power

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jasgriff View Post
Blown Fuse!
Whenever I see a blown fuse, I always check the bridge rectifier and power mosfet to see if they are shorted.
retiredcaps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2012, 03:13 PM   #12
Jasgriff
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
City & State: England
My Country: UK
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 521
Default Re: Barco LCN-42 No Power

I am sure that if I can see 2 failed caps then the others will more than likely be in poor condition.

I have fixed the SMD Jumper so now I am thinking replace the Fuse the Resistor and patch the broken track then give it a try?

Could that resistor blowing be responsible for the board damage?

Does the Jumper repair look good enough?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_9137.jpg (743.2 KB, 39 views)
Jasgriff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2012, 03:30 PM   #13
Jasgriff
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
City & State: England
My Country: UK
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 521
Default Re: Barco LCN-42 No Power

Quote:
Originally Posted by retiredcaps View Post
Whenever I see a blown fuse, I always check the bridge rectifier and power mosfet to see if they are shorted.
I will Check the Rectifier and Mosfet now.

Here is a proper picture of the blown resistor it is showing as 'OL' so its definitely gone.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Blown Resistor.jpg (470.7 KB, 23 views)
Jasgriff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2012, 03:31 PM   #14
retiredcaps
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
City & State: Canada
Posts: 9,092
Default Re: Barco LCN-42 No Power

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jasgriff View Post
if do you you possibly have access to the service guide for it?
How good are you at guessing file names?

I found

http://www.fspgroupusa.com/fsp4173m01/p/769.html

http://www.fspgroupusa.com/download/...7-3M01_DIA.pdf

http://www.fspgroupusa.com/download/...-3M01_SPEC.pdf

but neither show a schematic of the power supply.
retiredcaps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2012, 03:32 PM   #15
retiredcaps
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
City & State: Canada
Posts: 9,092
Default Re: Barco LCN-42 No Power

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jasgriff View Post
Does the Jumper repair look good enough?
See if it reads close to 0.0 Ohms. If yes, then it is okay.

edit: It is odd that J33 shows 000 and J34 shows just 0.
retiredcaps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2012, 03:36 PM   #16
retiredcaps
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
City & State: Canada
Posts: 9,092
Default Re: Barco LCN-42 No Power

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jasgriff View Post
I will Check the Rectifier and Mosfet now.
Maybe hookup a light bulb in series after replacing all the components since the fuse is blown?

http://www.repairfaq.org/samnew/tvfaq/tvtslbt.htm
retiredcaps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2012, 03:40 PM   #17
Jasgriff
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
City & State: England
My Country: UK
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 521
Default Re: Barco LCN-42 No Power

Quote:
Originally Posted by retiredcaps View Post
See if it reads close to 0.0 Ohms. If yes, then it is okay.

edit: It is odd that J33 shows 000 and J34 shows just 0.
It shows 000 as I store that off another board and replaced the blown one.

It reads close to 0 OHMS and I have traced it back to the nearest components each side and it still shows as close to 0 OHMS.

See I did such a good job you couldn't tell it was re soldered lol
Jasgriff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2012, 03:50 PM   #18
Jasgriff
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
City & State: England
My Country: UK
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 521
Default Re: Barco LCN-42 No Power

Does Red Black Silver Brown Green look about right for that resistor?
Jasgriff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2012, 03:56 PM   #19
retiredcaps
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
City & State: Canada
Posts: 9,092
Default Re: Barco LCN-42 No Power

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jasgriff View Post
Does Red Black Silver Brown Green look about right for that resistor?
With the above, according to the URL below, it is invalid.

http://www.hobby-hour.com/electronic...calculator.php

The silver might be gray? It is the 3rd and 4th band I'm unsure of. Initially I thought the 3rd band was silver and it still looks more silver than gray to me. However, I see the 3rd band can ONLY be gray due to it being a 5 band resistor.

That would make it 2.08k ohm 0.5% resistor if the 4th band is brown.

Maybe post another pic showing it rotated 180 degrees and try cleaning the resistor up with some isopropyl alcohol?

Last edited by retiredcaps; 03-18-2012 at 04:02 PM.. Reason: doh moment re color gray in a 5 band resistor
retiredcaps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2012, 04:16 PM   #20
Jasgriff
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
City & State: England
My Country: UK
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 521
Default Re: Barco LCN-42 No Power

The middle band cant be silver according to this website.

http://www.diyalarmforum.com/5-band-resistor-calc/

I have attached a better pic.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Blown Resistor 2.jpg (402.5 KB, 20 views)
Jasgriff is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2019
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:08 AM.
Did you find this forum helpful?