Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Motherboards with Bad Capacitors > Major Manufacturers Boards
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-05-2010, 03:35 PM   #1
bp1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
City & State: UK
Posts: 44
Default First motherboard re-cap

Hi

A friend recently upgraded his motherboard. His old MB was a Biostar GeForce 6100-M9 socket 939. The old board was regularly causing BSODs in windows XP and the on board video was also very grainy with lines showing on the monitor.

As I had helped in the installation of his new build PC he let me have the old board, cpu, memory hd and the old case and power supply.

On looking at the old Biostar GeForce 6100-M9 it was quite obvious that the board suffered from bad caps. The board had five 3300uf capacitors near the CPU heat sink and two 1000uf capacitors elsewhere on the board which were bulging.

I had not done a motherboard re-cap before so I decided to give this board a go. I was not too concerned if things went wrong as I just wanted to have a go and learn.

This site has been very educational. I found more information on another site
http://www.punj.co.uk/punjwebfiles/e.../mbbadcap.html
This person had near identical problems and the same capacitor failure to which he successfully got this motherboard working.

On my first attempt I was using a 20W soldering iron but this was just not good for heating and removing the old caps. I then took a break and went to the faq stickys on this site.
After further reading i got my 60W soldering iron out and applied more solder and ensured the tip of my iron was clean. Eventually I had success and the old capacitors came out. I then assumed that cleaning the holes would also be a challenge but my solder sucker from ebay managed this part of the job quite easily. The hardest part of the job was removing the capacitors. I was scared that the 60W iron might have been to hot and cause damage to the board. It seems however now that this iron was ideal for this part of the job.

I had some Panasonic NHG series capacitors of the same uf and voltage value. I know that many people here dont recommend the NHG series for motherboard re-caps as this is a general purpose capacitor. I however used the NHG series that I had. (The faq sticky on this site recommends practising soldering techniques on a trash board, This was my trash board). I used these panasonic caps as replacement.

I was amazed when powering up this motherboard that it powered up and went straight into the XP installation without any problems. I thought after soldering the Panasonic NHG series that this choice of capacitor may provide problems. For now (4 days) the motherboard runs very fast with no grainy video and certainly no BSODS what so ever.

I only have one problem with this MB now. When shutting down from XP the motherboard shuts down but the green power LED remains on. I then have to remove the power from the wall socket and wait for the LED to go off. I can then plug the power socket back in and the motherboard will run great until I shutdown again.
I have the latest bios from Biostars web site.
I have looked in the bios power, wakeup and other settings but everything seems correct I have tried two different PSUs to eliminate the power supply. I have tried different ram and CPU. I have even removed the hard disk and when you press the off button the same symptoms are there eliminating the OS. Apart from this little problem everything works great. I have been told that this problem started about six months ago so I am sure its not related to the caps that I have replaced.

Does anyone have any suggestions or advice on this problem? Like I said apart from this minor problem the motherboard runs great. If I can resolve this problem then I am going to get some more practice with a total recap on this board with some good quality rubys to improve my re-cap techniques further.

Many thanks
Kind regards
bp1
bp1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2010, 03:58 PM   #2
seanc
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
City & State: Cambridge, UK
Posts: 1,274
Default Re: First motherboard re-cap

What power supply are you using?
Have you checked it for bad caps?
seanc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2010, 04:13 PM   #3
bp1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
City & State: UK
Posts: 44
Default Re: First motherboard re-cap

I have just recently tried a brand new Thermaltake TR2 RX 550W. The other power supply i have tried is a faily new Corsair 600W CX PSU. The original power supply was a jeantech 600w. All these PSU work on other machines no problems

Kind Regards
bp1
bp1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2010, 04:24 PM   #4
seanc
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
City & State: Cambridge, UK
Posts: 1,274
Default Re: First motherboard re-cap

Please check the caps in the Jeantech. Does it whine?
Just wondering if it might have caused any damage.

You could well have more failed caps.
Which ones did you replace, just the ones next to the CPU?
There may be another one failed which is shorted.

Can you provide clear photos of your board, top and bottom side.
seanc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2010, 04:45 PM   #5
bp1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
City & State: UK
Posts: 44
Default Re: First motherboard re-cap

I replaced the five 3300uf 6.3v capacitors near the cpu heat sink and two 1000uf 6.3v near the memory slots.
The board has the following capacitors:-
5X UCC KZG series 3300mF 6.3V near cpu heatsink
12X OST RLP 1000uF 6.3V near north bridge and memory slots
3X UCC KZG 1500uF 16V near MOSFET
17X OST RLG 100uF 16V elsewhere on the motherboard

I don't have access to a good camara . I am sorry for not providing the photos. i will try and see if i can see any on the web.

btw thanks for your posts

kind regards
bp1
bp1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2010, 04:58 PM   #6
seanc
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
City & State: Cambridge, UK
Posts: 1,274
Default Re: First motherboard re-cap

So you've replaced the 5 x 3300f 6.3v and 3 x 1500f 16v KZG?
KZG don't like heat, sometimes they can fail without showing it.

OST, these can always fail without showing it.

Flapping around in the dark without pictures & locations.
seanc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2010, 04:59 PM   #7
shovenose
Send Doge Memes
 
shovenose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
City & State: Fairfax, California
My Country: USA
I'm a: Forum Junkie
Posts: 6,141
Default Re: First motherboard re-cap

Since you proved that you can do a recap, why not do a rerecap with the right caps? Thatll improve the longevity, and possibly solve the power problem.
__________________
Sierra: Core i5-7500, 16GB DDR4, 480GB Crucial SSD, RX580 8GB.
Colorado: Athlon 760K, 8GB DDR3, 120GB Kingston SSD, RX560 4GB.
Silverado: Core i3-2120T, 4GB DDR3, 60GB Kingston SSD + 4TB Seagate HDD.
Canyon: Core i5-3470, 16GB DDR3, 120GB Crucial SSD + 500GB WD VelociRaptor HDD + 6x 8TB WD Red HDD.
Plus a bunch of ThinkPads.
shovenose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2010, 10:29 AM   #8
bp1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
City & State: UK
Posts: 44
Default Re: First motherboard re-cap

Thanks for the posts and advice. Had no work today so i recapped another 9 caps on the biostar motherboard. Thats all i had on me today. I took out a combination of the 100uf 16v and 1000uf 6.3v totalling to 9 caps. You guys were spot on to say that the KZG and OST existing caps can fail without showing any visible signs. 7 out of the 9 caps taken out were showing an esr reading of between 2.45 and 14.3 ohms. Ive ordered the remaining old caps and will replace them in a few days time.

Regards
bp1
bp1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2019
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:59 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?