Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting Game Consoles & Other Weird Devices
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-23-2018, 01:51 PM   #1
piernov
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
City & State: Valbonne, 06
My Country: France
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 795
Default Cisco Catalyst 3750 fixed

Hi,
This wasn't an easy repair so I thought it would be interesting to share it, also it's not quite common to see this kind of stuff being worked on.

So here we have a Cisco Catalyst 3750 with a no power issue.

The PSU (Phihong PSM200-120(MC)) was obviously not giving any voltage on its 12V line.
After a bit of basic troubleshooting, the issue was found to be on the primary side: the VCC (pin 13) of the SMPS controller (ML4824) was at around 5V when it should have been around 13.5V. As they often go bad together, I checked the switching MOSFETs, and they were partially shorted. I replaced both the controller and the 2 MOSFETs (IRFP460, good habits to replace all of them in one go if you don't want to see fireworks) and the PSU is good to go. 12V is back and PGOOD signal is 4.6V.

But that wasn't enough to resurrect it: the motherboard would still not give any sign of life. Checked the voltage on the coils on the left side, 3.3V and 5V were present, but no 1.5V, 1.8V and 2.5V (thanks Cisco for labelling those). After some probing, I found that 1.5V and 2.5V controller (ISL6558 on the back side) weren't even powered, but the 1.8V had only around 1V on its VCC when it should have been 5V.
Traced the line back to the 0 ohm resistor near the PIC, itself near the power connector. After removing that resistor, one side had 0V (the one going to the ISL), the other had 5.4V. The path to the ISL wasn't shorted, so I injected 5V and the switch turned on. This line sinked in 60mA.
Ok, so there is an issue on the supply side. Sure enough, the second transistor above the PIC had 12V on its collector, 6V on its base, but the emitter was 1V when the resistor was connected, and 5.4V when it wasn't.
After replacing it with whatever NPN I had lying around (C6144, see the standing transistor near the power connector on the picture), the switch is back in working order.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_20180223_211954.jpg (796.7 KB, 26 views)
__________________
OpenBoardview http://openboardview.org | IRC #openboardview@irc.freenode.net

Last edited by piernov; 02-23-2018 at 01:52 PM..
piernov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2018, 09:56 AM   #2
piernov
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
City & State: Valbonne, 06
My Country: France
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 795
Default Re: Cisco Catalyst 3750 fixed

Today I fixed a 3524 XL PSU: burnt fuse and shorted 2x IRF840. PSU works but I don't have uplink. Going to take a look at the console later.
I'm going to replace a dead LXT970AHC ethernet tranceiver by a LXT970AQC on a 2600 series too. Expensive, a pack of 2 of those is the same price as the used switch in good conditions itself… But I'm not going to throw it out anyway so let's get it fixed.
piernov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2018, 12:41 PM   #3
piernov
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
City & State: Valbonne, 06
My Country: France
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 795
Default Re: Cisco Catalyst 3750 fixed

Unfortunately the 3524XL has multiple bad SRAM (IS63LV1024-12J). They're available only on eBay from a Chinese seller and very expensive…
piernov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2018, 02:57 PM   #4
piernov
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
City & State: Valbonne, 06
My Country: France
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 795
Default Re: Cisco Catalyst 3750 fixed

2600 fixed with the new Ethernet tranceiver.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_20180306_145004.jpg (704.1 KB, 17 views)
piernov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2018, 01:21 PM   #5
Moreno83
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
City & State: Overijssel
My Country: The Netherlands
Line Voltage: 230V
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 1,869
Default Re: Cisco Catalyst 3750 fixed

Good job and thanks for the info , very interesting read!!
Moreno83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2018
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:29 PM.

Did you find this forum helpful?