Capacitor Value and Measurements

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Capacitor Value and Measurements

Hi all, ok im getting more and more knowledge from this forum and i have to say i highly appreciate about all the inputs and outputs out of this forum based on everyone's feedback about caps. Thank you very much for that. I just need to learn a bit more about caps.

Ok example. 220uf 450v cap. Lets take from the microfarad value. Original value of the cap is 220uf, but upon using various testers and meters, it shows

Cap - 240.8 UF
    ESR - 0.16 Ohm

Ok so what i need to know is, the cap uf should be + or - 10% right? And if its above than that then its gone, correct? I'm not assuming, im still learning. Just need some guidance in understanding caps more deeper. So is the above reading for the cap is faulty or its in fine range?

Re: Capacitor Value and Measurements

Originally posted by DjKrish View Post
    Ok example. 220uf 450v cap. Lets take from the microfarad value. Original value of the cap is 220uf, but upon using various testers and meters, it shows

Cap - 240.8 UF
    ESR - 0.16 Ohm

Ok so what i need to know is, the cap uf should be + or - 10% right? And if its above than that then its gone, correct? I'm not assuming, im still learning. Just need some guidance in understanding caps more deeper. So is the above reading for the cap is faulty or its in fine range?
    Actually brand new capacitors very often will measure higher than its labeled value. Any electrolytic capacitor can have up to +/-20% tolerance. The capacitance value will decrease as it ages, subjected to too much heat or too much ripple current beyond its specifications. Usually if it measures way below its nominal 20% tolerance then its either aged a lot (getting too old) or already starting to fail (going bad).

Comment

20%, ok i got that So looks like the cap i stated is dying anyway.........

Comment

Originally posted by DjKrish View Post