Manually Degaussing a CRT

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Manually Degaussing a CRT

My HP A7217A (Rebadged FD trinitron) needs degaussed badly. The lower right corner's blues are non-existent and auto-degaussing isn't doing shit. It was in Topcat's attic for years, stored next to goodness what, then hauled in the back of my truck for 5 hours. Ever since that it's been screwed up and I'm now getting around to fixing it.

Question is what's the best kind of degaussing tool? Even on fleabay they're a bit pricey, so before I plunk down money, I'd like to know if there are any gotcha's to look for. New Chinese coils better than old used coils? What about wand-type degaussers?

I'm a noob at CRT work, but I do know there are a few former TV techs around here...
    sigpic

(Insert witty quote here)

Re: Manually Degaussing a CRT

Originally posted by ratdude747 View Post
    My HP A7217A (Rebadged FD trinitron) needs degaussed badly. The lower right corner's blues are non-existent and auto-degaussing isn't doing shit. It was in Topcat's attic for years, stored next to goodness what, then hauled in the back of my truck for 5 hours. Ever since that it's been screwed up and I'm now getting around to fixing it.
    Aperture wires "stuck" together?

Seen this in a Mistu diamondtron computer monitor. Ironically, gentle tapping on the cabinet near the faceplate of the CRT in the affected area helped. Begin tapping, then engage the degauss coil. You'll probably have to repeat this several times.

If that doesn't help, get a small box or stand fan, with an open C-frame motor, and pass this over the face of the CRT. Try various placement to find where the field from the motor is strong enough. Enclosed motors don't seem to work very well.

A Weller soldering gun also works.

Look inside for any magnets on the PCB that've fallen off the CRT; these (and the ring magnets) are for setup.
    Attached Files
    "pokemon go... to hell!"

EOL it...