Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Newbie - Hand Soldering TO-220 SMD - HELP!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Newbie - Hand Soldering TO-220 SMD - HELP!

I have a lot of experience with PCB thru-hole repairs but only some SMD replacements such as 0805 parts or SOT-23 transistors where i have tacked the pins to the pads manually with a fine solder tip. I am now replacing several TO-220D-A1 diodes on a TV pcb and all of these need the cathode backside of the component soldered to a large ground pad. I have a XYtronic LF-8800 80W hot air pencil (minimum setting is 300C, max is 450C) and used Chipquick low temp lead free solder paste. I have pre-warmed the SMD with the hot air pencil at 300C held about 1" above the SMD for about 1-2mins then turned up the heat to 400C and held that for another 1-2 minutes. Slowly cooled off and the SMD was still not soldered to the ground pad. I unbderstand the ground pad is basically the entire pcb copper plane so big heat sink. How do you do this without destroying things? I have a small IR over for small parts < 6" but this TV board is 18" x 7". Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Jerry NY2KW

Re: Newbie - Hand Soldering TO-220 SMD - HELP!

Use a solder iron with a fairly large tip, add some flux and add some new solder, the solder iron will heat the copper and the transistor easier than the hot air.

Comment

Originally posted by R_J View Post
      Use a solder iron with a fairly large tip, add some flux and add some new solder, the solder iron will heat the copper and the transistor easier than the hot air.
      Sorry if I wasn't clear, the part to solder is not visible/accessible. It is the entire backside of the component which is mounted flat to the PCB - I assume it is constructed so to allow the PCB ground plane act as a large heat sink since these TV diodes (RN1501 or DAF30A) are rated at 20A with 100A surge. Are you saying I should apply the iron tip directly onto the SMD body?

Jerry