Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Equipment Usage, Soldering, Techniques, and Reviews
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-21-2013, 03:45 PM   #1
Kiriakos GR
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2012
City & State: Volos, Magnisia
My Country: Greece
Line Voltage: 380V three-phase 50Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 927
Default New Aoyue 852, experiances / opinions ?

I am close to make my mind about getting the new Aoyue 852 hot air station.

While the station looks to have quality regarding noise when operating, and also features like auto cool-off.

I do like to read opinions from people who actually own it.

What I am interested to find out is if the air flow looks stable and powerful enough to you? (regarding extraction of capacitors from VGA & MB)
Kiriakos GR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2013, 03:59 AM   #2
multimeter
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
City & State: devon
My Country: united kingdom
Line Voltage: 230v 50hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 738
Default Re: New Aoyue 852, experiances / opinions ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kiriakos GR View Post
I am close to make my mind about getting the new Aoyue 852 hot air station.

While the station looks to have quality regarding noise when operating, and also features like auto cool-off.

I do like to read opinions from people who actually own it.

What I am interested to find out is if the air flow looks stable and powerful enough to you? (regarding extraction of capacitors from VGA & MB)
have you got this station yet?

was thinking of getting this one myself,somthing is putting me off though...availabuility of spare parts,the only thing i can find from ebay is the heating element,which is 17xx from germany,and also the earthing situation ive read on other brands of station,something that can be modded though.

im not a great fan of having to mod something to make it safe in test/soldering equipment,i like to be satisfied that the gear is safe and reliable.
__________________
fixed so far...376 lg lcd tv's,24 onn tv;s,24 panasonic lcd,16 jvc lcd,12 marshall jcm800 amps,refurb of various disco equipment lighting,old style disco decks ,and a flymo!

----------------------------------------------
please let us know if everything works ok if your tv gets fixed, as it will be and aid for anyone else having the same problem and wishing to fix it.it would save people clogging up this site with topics that are duplicated,and can be found easily using the search function.,and taking up valuable space.enjoy your fixed tv!,hopefully!
multimeter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2013, 07:07 AM   #3
smason
Badcaps Veteran
 
smason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: Alberta
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: 120VAC 61Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 1,589
Default Re: New Aoyue 852, experiances / opinions ?

Woah wait a sec....
The Great "Money is no object, everyone must have exceptional quality test gear" Kiriakos, wants to buy a cheap Chinese hot air station?

What is the world coming to?
__________________
36 Monitors, 3 TVs, 4 Laptops, 1 motherboard, 1 Printer, 1 iMac, 2 hard drive docks and one IP Phone repaired so far....
smason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2013, 07:42 AM   #4
1supertech
Badcaps Veteran
 
1supertech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
City & State: Smyrna GA
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 362
Default Re: New Aoyue 852, experiances / opinions ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by smason View Post
Woah wait a sec....
The Great "Money is no object, everyone must have exceptional quality test gear" Kiriakos, wants to buy a cheap Chinese hot air station?

What is the world coming to?
oh my gosh
1supertech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2013, 08:18 AM   #5
mariushm
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2011
City & State: Romania
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 3,628
Default Re: New Aoyue 852, experiances / opinions ?

I thought the same thing as smason, but I held my tongue so as to not seem I have something personal with Kiriakos.

Anyway, if it matters, I have the atten 852d+ hot air 'station' ... it works fine for my needs.
mariushm is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2013, 10:08 AM   #6
smason
Badcaps Veteran
 
smason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: Alberta
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: 120VAC 61Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 1,589
Default Re: New Aoyue 852, experiances / opinions ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mariushm View Post
I thought the same thing as smason, but I held my tongue so as to not seem I have something personal with Kiriakos.

I DID put a smiley in there.
smason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2013, 02:29 PM   #7
Kiriakos GR
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2012
City & State: Volos, Magnisia
My Country: Greece
Line Voltage: 380V three-phase 50Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 927
Default Re: New Aoyue 852, experiances / opinions ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by smason View Post
Woah wait a sec....
The Great "Money is no object, everyone must have exceptional quality test gear" Kiriakos, wants to buy a cheap Chinese hot air station?

What is the world coming to?
I bet my socks that your Buy-Now button on eBay is full of rust.
Chinese products and their prices goes up & up daily.

To all :

Price point never bother me as key factor for buying a tool.
Best choice is the one which survives daily work load with out collapsing.
Regarding such hot air tools, they belong to my list of tools for occasional use, and so there is no need to aim for a work horse like Weller.

Personally I am in one dilemma, there is a next corner shop which offer one identical model from another maker (plus tested regarding performance) for 140EUR with a year warranty.
It looks like the ATTEN 850D and comes with out the bubble indicator (air pressure).

And there is also the Aoyue 852 from Germany, at about 105 EUR shipped,
but if something goes wrong I would had to shipped it back to Germany and pay allot more just for that.

A close local friend of my owns this ATTEN looking 850D which comes re branded from Local Greek retailer and so the brand name has no value as information.

Either way the key point in all those is the true performance of the pump in them.
Identical product came with malfunctioning pump which was delivering much less air pressure.

The models with bubble indicator (air pressure) makes easy to see if your pump performs as it should.
In contrast the models with out such pressure indicator it looks like a lotto if they do deliver what they are promising.

And so I am comming back to my original question,
that is did you find the Aoyue 852 as true performer ? ( Even if it does have a air preasure bubble)

Last edited by Kiriakos GR; 05-24-2013 at 02:31 PM..
Kiriakos GR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2018, 04:30 AM   #8
ogodo
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
City & State: lagos
My Country: Nigeria
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1
Default Re: New Aoyue 852, experiances / opinions ?

Hi
Am having issues with my atten 852d It display H-E and its not producing hot air the maximum temperature is 3.
What do i do?
ogodo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2018, 08:11 AM   #9
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 18,186
Default Re: New Aoyue 852, experiances / opinions ?

first meter the heater element incase it's open-circuit.
they often include spares with the stations - so that makes me suspicious.
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2018, 04:54 PM   #10
eccerr0r
Solder Sloth
 
eccerr0r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
City & State: CO
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 3,093
Default Re: New Aoyue 852, experiances / opinions ?

I wonder if I should get spare heating elements for both the iron and the hot air... though I have a clone of a clone noname 898D+...

On the other hand, have people had hair driers and paint stripper heat guns break on them?
eccerr0r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2018, 12:21 AM   #11
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 18,186
Default Re: New Aoyue 852, experiances / opinions ?

it probably depends how hot you run it and how many hours a day.
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2018, 01:05 AM   #12
Th3_uN1Qu3
Believe in
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
City & State: Bucharest
My Country: Romania
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 5,269
Default Re: New Aoyue 852, experiances / opinions ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by eccerr0r View Post
I wonder if I should get spare heating elements for both the iron and the hot air... though I have a clone of a clone noname 898D+...
My first cheapo ZD-939B hot air station's heater failed after 4 years. I have bought a new one, and there is a difference in this version, it does not allow you to set the airflow as low as the old one. I've had this one for over 3 years and it hasn't failed yet.

So i think you should only get spares for the iron.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeteS in CA View Post
Remember that by the time consequences of a short-sighted decision are experienced, the idiot who made the bad decision may have already been promoted or moved on to a better job at another company.
A working TV? How boring!
Th3_uN1Qu3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2018, 03:00 PM   #13
eccerr0r
Solder Sloth
 
eccerr0r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
City & State: CO
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 3,093
Default Re: New Aoyue 852, experiances / opinions ?

So far I've had both my through hole rework station's heating elements burn out on me, so I'm a bit worried about downtime if my hot air station's elements burn out unexpectedly, or wait until I can find them at a good price.
eccerr0r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2018, 10:05 PM   #14
momaka
Badcaps Veteran
 
momaka's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
City & State: VA (NoVA)
My Country: U.S.A.
Line Voltage: 120 VAC, 60 Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 7,922
Default Re: New Aoyue 852, experiances / opinions ?

To prevent your heating elements from burning up, always start with the lowest possible heat setting and turn up the heat slowly from there. I've noticed that many of these stations will run the element until it glows bright yellow if you crank the heat up to a high temperature right away. But if you turn up the heat 10-20C every few moments while waiting for the element to heat up, it will get up to temperature without glowing brightly like that (unless you really turn down the air and your heat setting is too high).

That said, I have the 230V version of the KADA 852D+, but with a 120V US plug (came like that from the factory, LOL ) So even when I crank mine to the max, the heating element just glows orange at worst. I've been using it since 2012. Did a lot of chip reballs with it back then.

Last edited by momaka; 02-23-2018 at 10:07 PM..
momaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2018, 09:10 PM   #15
clearchris
Badcaps Veteran
 
clearchris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
City & State: San Antonio
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120v 60hz / 240v 60hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 218
Default Re: New Aoyue 852, experiances / opinions ?

Yeah, someone actually reprogrammed their hot air station to be PID controlled. All the instructions, hardware and code are out there to do it if you have the time. This hasn't made it onto my list of projects though.
clearchris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2018, 07:32 PM   #16
llonen
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
City & State: united kingdom
My Country: hampshire
Line Voltage: 240 VAC 50Hz / 110 VAC 50 Hz and 415 VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 237
Default Re: New Aoyue 852, experiances / opinions ?

Nearly all of my soldering tools consist of second hand Pace, I use a Hakko FR802 for my larger smd rework and a pace thermojet for smaller smd rework. I have a couple of elements for the hakko just in case. I did consider for a while Aoyue 852 but was not able to find enough information about it and how well it performed.
llonen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2018, 03:22 PM   #17
awyatt2
Badcaps Veteran
 
awyatt2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
City & State: Gaffney, SC
My Country: america
Line Voltage: 120vac 60hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 383
Default Re: New Aoyue 852, experiances / opinions ?

I have the yihua 852d++ and so far so good,been using it for around a yr now. only thing I fuss about is the display is in c not f and a week after I bought mine they had a switch to change from c to f. daily use no but sometimes 2 or 3 times a week.
awyatt2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2018, 07:08 PM   #18
sam_sam_sam
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
City & State: Sunny Jacksonville FL
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120 Volts 60 HZ
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 907
Default Re: New Aoyue 852, experiances / opinions ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Th3_uN1Qu3 View Post
My first cheapo ZD-939B hot air station's heater failed after 4 years. I have bought a new one, and there is a difference in this version, it does not allow you to set the airflow as low as the old one. I've had this one for over 3 years and it hasn't failed yet.

So i think you should only get spares for the iron.
I have one there hot air gun what do not like about there set up is there is no cool down mode

I have put a cool down mode on the unit that I have
__________________
9 PC LCD Monitor
6 LCD Flat Screen TV
30 Desk Top Switching Power Supply
10 Desk Top Power Supply
10 Battery Charger Switching Power Supply for Power Tool
6 18v Lithium Battery Power Boards for Tool Battery Packs
1 XBox 360 Switching Power Supply and M Board
25 Servo Drives 220/460 3 Phase
6 De-soldering Station Switching Power Supply 1 Power Supply
1 Dell Mother Board
15 Computer Power Supply
1 HP Printer Supply & Control Board * lighting finished it *


These two repairs where found with a ESR meter...> Temp at 50*F then at 90*F the ESR reading more than 10%

1 Over Head Crane Current Sensing Board
2 Hem Saw Computer Stack Board

All of these had CAPs POOF
All of the mosfet that are taken out by bad caps
sam_sam_sam is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2018
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:24 AM.

Did you find this forum helpful?