Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Motherboards with Bad Capacitors > Major Manufacturers Boards
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-03-2012, 02:17 PM   #1
matthmal
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
City & State: Malta
My Country: Malta
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 237
Default Asus P5KC

Hi there,

I have this Asus P5KC motherboard which I really liked (when it was still working). I wish to repair it if there is the chance.

Symptoms:
PC starting but no display and not even posting.
It suddenly restarts the computer. (When it was still booting up)
When shutting the computer down, the power supply never turns off, one will have to turn it off manually. (When it was still booting up)

Thanks.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 03122012076.jpg (1.10 MB, 57 views)
File Type: jpg 03122012077.jpg (1.06 MB, 31 views)
File Type: jpg 03122012078.jpg (1.35 MB, 22 views)
File Type: jpg 03122012079.jpg (1.44 MB, 30 views)
File Type: jpg 03122012080.jpg (1.20 MB, 20 views)
File Type: jpg 03122012081.jpg (1.18 MB, 21 views)
File Type: jpg 03122012082.jpg (1.02 MB, 19 views)
File Type: jpg 03122012083.jpg (1.14 MB, 19 views)
matthmal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 05:20 PM   #2
c_hegge
Badcaps Veteran
 
c_hegge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
City & State: North Coast, NSW
My Country: Australia
Line Voltage: 240V 50Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 5,052
Default Re: Asus P5KC

It could be that ASUS random death 'feature'.
__________________
I love putting bad caps and flat batteries in fire and watching them explode!!

No wonder it doesn't work! You installed the jumper wires backwards

Main PC: Core i7 3770K 3.5GHz, Gigabyte GA-Z77M-D3H-MVP, 8GB Kingston HyperX DDR3 1600, 240GB Intel 335 Series SSD, 750GB WD HDD, Sony Optiarc DVD RW, Palit nVidia GTX660 Ti, CoolerMaster N200 Case, Delta DPS-600MB 600W PSU, Hauppauge TV Tuner, Windows 7 Home Premium

Office PC: HP ProLiant ML150 G3, 2x Xeon E5335 2GHz, 4GB DDR2 RAM, 120GB Intel 530 SSD, 2x 250GB HDD, 2x 450GB 15K SAS HDD in RAID 1, 1x 2TB HDD, nVidia 8400GS, Delta DPS-650BB 650W PSU, Windows 7 Pro
c_hegge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 12:37 AM   #3
matthmal
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
City & State: Malta
My Country: Malta
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 237
Default Re: Asus P5KC

so there is nothing that one can do right?
matthmal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 12:53 AM   #4
retiredcaps
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
City & State: Canada
Posts: 9,092
Default Re: Asus P5KC

Have you tried another power supply or opened up the power supply to see if you have bad caps?
__________________
--- begin sig file ---

If you are new to this forum, we can help a lot more if you please post clear focused pictures (max resolution 2000x2000 and 2MB) of your boards using the manage attachments button so they are hosted here. Information and picture clarity compositions should look like this post.

We respectfully ask that you make some time and effort to read some of the guides available for basic troubleshooting. After you have read through them, then ask clarification questions or report your findings.

Please do not post inline and offsite as they slow down the loading of pages.

--- end sig file ---
retiredcaps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 04:45 AM   #5
matthmal
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
City & State: Malta
My Country: Malta
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 237
Default Re: Asus P5KC

yes i did try 3 different psu's and the problem remained the same
matthmal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 06:01 AM   #6
kc8adu
Super Moderator
 
kc8adu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
City & State: dayton ohio
My Country: U.S.A!
Line Voltage: 12vdc,120/240vac,480vac 3ph on my bench
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 8,288
Default Re: Asus P5KC

hold down firmly on nb and power on.repeat sb.bet it posts.
bga strikes again.
last 2 a reflow of nb and sb fixed them
kc8adu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 02:23 PM   #7
RJARRRPCGP
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
City & State: North Springfield, Vermont
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 123-127V 61.5-63.5 Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4,706
Default Re: Asus P5KC

Nice board!

And bad BGA is not likely with P35, IIRC. Not as likely as Nvidia northbridges and southbridges from word that I got.

I wish I had a P5KC in nice condition.
__________________
Asus P6T6 WS Revolution

Core i7 Extreme "Bloomfield" 965

Asus Strix GeForce GTX 970

Windows 7 SP1

SoundBlaster ZXR

Corsair TX850M PSU


"There's nothing more unattractive than a chick smoking a cigarette" -Topcat

"Don't eat yellow snow!" -Salem

"did I see a chair fly? I think I did! Time for popcorn!" -ratdude747

Last edited by RJARRRPCGP; 12-04-2012 at 02:26 PM..
RJARRRPCGP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 04:07 PM   #8
matthmal
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
City & State: Malta
My Country: Malta
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 237
Default Re: Asus P5KC

will try and keep you posted. That's why I want to fix it as it is (or was) a good board.

I couldn't find an exact new one to buy it.
matthmal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 05:38 PM   #9
mockingbird
Badcaps Veteran
 
mockingbird's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4,871
Default Re: Asus P5KC

This is a FET problem... Test the FETS (That is if yuo can desolder them) on the bottom left corner of the board. If they test OK, test the VRM FETS. Asus used underspec'd FETs on that generation of board...

Replace with FETs that have a higher amperage rating and a lower RDS on.
__________________
...Their plight, in fact is even worse, they don't realize that they're cantonists, they think they're free men. What a slavery that is - to confuse slavery for light, and bitter darkness for bright light.
-Rabbi Menachem Mendel Schneersohn
mockingbird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 06:05 PM   #10
Kiriakos GR
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2012
City & State: Volos, Magnisia
My Country: Greece
Line Voltage: 380V three-phase 50Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 927
Default Re: Asus P5KC

I have some experiances where a bad VGA can make the all system to be in trouble.

Edit: Other than that check the pins in the socket. (Get a magnifier glass too)

Last edited by Kiriakos GR; 12-04-2012 at 06:07 PM..
Kiriakos GR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 03:37 PM   #11
matthmal
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
City & State: Malta
My Country: Malta
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 237
Default Re: Asus P5KC

Quote:
Originally Posted by kc8adu View Post
hold down firmly on nb and power on.repeat sb.bet it posts.
bga strikes again.
last 2 a reflow of nb and sb fixed them
i held down firmly both of them and problem persisted.
matthmal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 03:41 PM   #12
matthmal
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
City & State: Malta
My Country: Malta
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 237
Default Re: Asus P5KC

Quote:
Originally Posted by mockingbird View Post
This is a FET problem... Test the FETS (That is if yuo can desolder them) on the bottom left corner of the board. If they test OK, test the VRM FETS. Asus used underspec'd FETs on that generation of board...

Replace with FETs that have a higher amperage rating and a lower RDS on.
How can I test the FETS with a meter? I'm not experienced.
matthmal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 03:42 PM   #13
matthmal
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
City & State: Malta
My Country: Malta
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 237
Default Re: Asus P5KC

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kiriakos GR View Post
I have some experiances where a bad VGA can make the all system to be in trouble.

Edit: Other than that check the pins in the socket. (Get a magnifier glass too)
the vga should be fine as I use it on other PCs and they work fine
matthmal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 03:43 PM   #14
matthmal
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
City & State: Malta
My Country: Malta
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 237
Default Re: Asus P5KC

One thing that I have to point out is that when trying to power the board on, it powers but no display. It then turns off and turns on again automatically and stays on with no display.

I have just noticed this now while doing a bench test.
matthmal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 09:14 AM   #15
Kiriakos GR
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2012
City & State: Volos, Magnisia
My Country: Greece
Line Voltage: 380V three-phase 50Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 927
Default Re: Asus P5KC

Well @matthmal if you are not experienced to do an actual repair of the electronics of this board.
Other than a one attempt for a Bios re-flash, there is nothing that you can do.

I am using on my system an ASUS P5QC which is a great board stable and all,
check this model as alternative if you get out for a second hand buy on ebay.
Kiriakos GR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 10:39 AM   #16
matthmal
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
City & State: Malta
My Country: Malta
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 237
Default Re: Asus P5KC

although i'm not very experienced, i am always willing to learn. well I have been troubleshooting TVs and TFTs with the help of this forum
matthmal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2012, 05:18 AM   #17
matthmal
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
City & State: Malta
My Country: Malta
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 237
Default Re: Asus P5KC

it seems that I can't figure out which are the FETS of the board.... can someone help me please?
matthmal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2012, 07:10 AM   #18
ben7
Capaholic
 
ben7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
City & State: Trenton, NJ
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 240/120V 60Hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 3,983
Default Re: Asus P5KC

Quote:
Originally Posted by matthmal View Post
One thing that I have to point out is that when trying to power the board on, it powers but no display. It then turns off and turns on again automatically and stays on with no display.

I have just noticed this now while doing a bench test.
Tried a different graphics card?!

Also, is the motherboard making any beep sounds?
__________________
Muh-soggy-knee
ben7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2012, 03:08 AM   #19
matthmal
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
City & State: Malta
My Country: Malta
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 237
Default Re: Asus P5KC

Yes I tried it with another one. Nope there are no beeps
matthmal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 09:14 PM   #20
RJARRRPCGP
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
City & State: North Springfield, Vermont
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 123-127V 61.5-63.5 Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4,706
Default Re: Asus P5KC

Quote:
Originally Posted by matthmal View Post
Nope there are no beeps
The no-BIOS-screen-and-no-bleeps symptom ominously reminds me of when I accidentally crushed my T'bird 1.3 with the heatsink on October 13, 2002!
(Because of how I got the heatsink on after coming back from the Keene, NH RadioShack for white heatsink paste.)

(At least the Soyo board was fine, just had to drop the T'bird 900 back in. )

Last edited by RJARRRPCGP; 01-20-2013 at 09:27 PM..
RJARRRPCGP is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2019
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:35 AM.
Did you find this forum helpful?