Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Motherboards with Bad Capacitors > Major Manufacturers Boards
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-14-2013, 04:25 PM   #1
bfordz
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
City & State: G.R.,Mich
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120vac 60hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 45
Default hp dx5150 / ms-7050 bad caps question(s)

I've got another HP board running fine but when I went to do some preventive maintenance (clean out the dust) I found most of the caps bulging or bad series.

Most are Teapo's SM or UCC-KZG series.
I'm looking to order cap from here and my questions are these:

1)
The teapo's are 6.3v 1000uf ripple=950 esr=.053
-looking at Nichicon hz 6.3v 1000uf ripple=2210 'impedance'=14

The ESR=.053 and the impedance=14 is what has me wondering?

Are the HZ's the right choice to replace the teapo sm's?

2)
The board has two different size 6.3v 1500uf caps in the KZG series;
8mm and 10mm and I can't find a direct replacement for the 8mm.

In the HZ series they have an 8mm 1500uf but it's 10v, that should work ok, correct? It's ok to go up in voltage one notch?

TIA
Attached Images
File Type: jpg dx5150-a.JPG (93.5 KB, 51 views)
File Type: jpg dx5150-2.JPG (183.8 KB, 90 views)
bfordz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2013, 04:43 PM   #2
Uranium-235
Muffins
 
Uranium-235's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
City & State: tehas
My Country: US
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 3,210
Default Re: hp dx5150 / ms-7050 bad caps question(s)

Quote:
Originally Posted by bfordz View Post
I've got another HP board running fine but when I went to do some preventive maintenance (clean out the dust) I found most of the caps bulging or bad series.

Most are Teapo's SM or UCC-KZG series.
I'm looking to order cap from here and my questions are these:

1)
The teapo's are 6.3v 1000uf ripple=950 esr=.053
-looking at Nichicon hz 6.3v 1000uf ripple=2210 'impedance'=14

The ESR=.053 and the impedance=14 is what has me wondering?

Are the HZ's the right choice to replace the teapo sm's?

2)
The board has two different size 6.3v 1500uf caps in the KZG series;
8mm and 10mm and I can't find a direct replacement for the 8mm.

In the HZ series they have an 8mm 1500uf but it's 10v, that should work ok, correct? It's ok to go up in voltage one notch?

TIA

thats an mohm impedance measurement, so its really 0.014

they should be fine

going from 6.3 to 10 is ok. Also, if there is enough space around the 8mm, you can use a 10, the spacing is so close on the leads it should not make any difference

edit: are those to the right of the memory bloated too? its hard to tell with your picture
__________________
Cap Datasheet Depot: http://www.paullinebarger.net/DS/
^If you have datasheets not listed PM me

Last edited by Uranium-235; 03-14-2013 at 04:50 PM..
Uranium-235 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2013, 04:57 PM   #3
bfordz
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
City & State: G.R.,Mich
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120vac 60hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 45
Default Re: hp dx5150 / ms-7050 bad caps question(s)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Uranium-235 View Post
edit: are those to the right of the memory bloated too? its hard to tell with your picture
Yes, those are the Teapo's, and they're ALL bloated.
bfordz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2013, 02:00 AM   #4
Uranium-235
Muffins
 
Uranium-235's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
City & State: tehas
My Country: US
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 3,210
Default Re: hp dx5150 / ms-7050 bad caps question(s)

replace all teapos, anything with "KZG" too

there are apparently different versions of this board. An earlier hardware version (1.x) uses mostly panasonic caps, KZG's on the PCI/-E slots, and southbridge vrm

apparently this is what happens when HP wants to cut corners. Come out with later versions of the board (yours is clearly 2.x) that has cheaper parts. And this shit happens.

1.x pic

http://cdn.overclock.net/b/b4/b4bf34...0_w1365px.jpeg
Uranium-235 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2013, 07:58 AM   #5
bfordz
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
City & State: G.R.,Mich
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120vac 60hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 45
Default Re: hp dx5150 / ms-7050 bad caps question(s)

Thank You for the clarification on the caps questions and the added advise about the two version of boards.

This board does have 4 panasonic caps; like you said, that must have been the limit of their budget. nice! thank you very much hp!!

And I just "thought" I was going to clean the dust out and re-assign this Pc!
bfordz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2019
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:37 AM.
Did you find this forum helpful?