Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Suitable Replacement Caps for Video Card

Hi all,

I have a dead video card with some bulging caps. I've always been interested in just how easy it would be to resurrect a piece of hardware by simply replacing the caps, so now is a good time to give it a go!

The bad caps are KZG 1500uF/6.3V. I was wondering if the following would be a suitable replacement?

https://au.rs-online.com/web/p/alumi...itors/0571969/

They are the same rating and a similar size, but I have no idea about ESR and anything else that may need to match in order to be suitable. I am new to this and still reading through the forum, but any help/direction would be appreciated!

Cheers.

Re: Suitable Replacement Caps for Video Card

those caps are too fat. i believe the kzg caps u have are 10x12.5mm? the ones u picked are 12.5x15mm. u havent said what video card it is or shown us pictures so we wont know if the fatter caps can fit. some cap layouts on pcbs have the caps together side by side with no room in-between. if that is the case with the layout, then the fatter caps wont fit.

panasonic fs 1500uF 6.3v 10x12.5mm EEUFS0J152 would be a better fit. polymodding may also be possible but we need to see what video card it is to know if the vrm has a switching frequency high enough to handle the ultra-low esr of polymers. we also need to know if its a low-power gpu or a power hungry gpu.

Comment

use 10mm polymers.
      there are links in one of my xbox threads.

Comment

Originally posted by ChaosLegionnaire View Post
        those caps are too fat. i believe the kzg caps u have are 10x12.5mm? the ones u picked are 12.5x15mm... ...panasonic fs 1500uF 6.3v 10x12.5mm EEUFS0J152 would be a better fit.
        Yes, the caps I have are 10x12.5mm. I was relying too much on the image as the one I picked looked to be of similar proportions. The one you listed would be the better fit, thanks!