Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Equipment Usage, Soldering, Techniques, and Reviews
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools
Old 08-08-2019, 10:01 AM   #961
eccerr0r
Solder Sloth
 
eccerr0r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
City & State: CO
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 5,162
Default Re: component testers

Not quite two zeners... at least to prove if it works properly.

Plus these component testers don't directly do high voltage zeners either...

Speaking of weird devices, it probably can't figure out tunnel diodes either.
eccerr0r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2019, 05:58 PM   #962
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 23,505
Default Re: component testers

some testers have dc-dc convertors to test zeners upto 30 or even 50v
i'm looking at one that may make a good starting platform, but it would still need a rotary encoder and a better cpu.
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2019, 02:00 AM   #963
eccerr0r
Solder Sloth
 
eccerr0r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
City & State: CO
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 5,162
Default Re: component testers

Right, but those dc-dc converters are not well suited for testing DIACs
(Effectively the best thing for testing DIACs is a curve tracer type functionality...)
eccerr0r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2019, 02:36 AM   #964
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 23,505
Default Re: component testers

well if the output was controlled by an analog pin on the cpu that could be done.
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2019, 10:11 PM   #965
redwire
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
City & State: Alberta
My Country: Canada
Posts: 1,854
Default Re: component testers

I reprogrammed AY-AT/ST7735 20MHz xtal and it seems to work fine. I have to play around with it more. It's a small font.

ARVDUDE does not work with Atmel AVRISP MkII, it's a years old bug, something about the USB driver. Wasted hours going down that rabbit hole. In the end, I had to have Zadig rollback to its old Win7 USB driver to get it to work. Otherwise the usual "No USB device found" error in AVRDUDE
I might get/make USBASP as a backup, with the 6-pin cable.

stj thanks for posting the files.
redwire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2019, 03:16 PM   #966
ducky29
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
City & State: -
My Country: Europe
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 252
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

Has anyone ever tried the GME model 236 sold by TEquipment.NET ? Does it test in circuit like it claims?
ducky29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2019, 06:54 PM   #967
brethin
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
City & State: Owensboro, KY.
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 1,756
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

Quote:
Originally Posted by ducky29 View Post
Has anyone ever tried the GME model 236 sold by TEquipment.NET ? Does it test in circuit like it claims?
Nothing can test in circuit accurately due to other components effecting it.
brethin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2019, 06:50 PM   #968
lotec25
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
City & State: New Port Richey
My Country: United States
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 5
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

So witch meter is best to buy at this time? I seen this one recommended a page back

https://www.aliexpress.com/item/32832292103.html

Is there a post that states what items are needed to mod it to where it can be used with the new firmware that has been written?

Thanks
lotec25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2019, 04:40 AM   #969
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 23,505
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

that question depends on if you want to just use it,
or if you intend to do upgrades & stuff.
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2019, 12:59 PM   #970
lotec25
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
City & State: New Port Richey
My Country: United States
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 5
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

stj,
I would like one to upgrade and mess around with. Can you recommend one? and a link to what parts i should look for?
lotec25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2019, 04:31 PM   #971
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 23,505
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

hard to say right now.
i'm personally leaning towards the TC1 because it can take a bigger mcu,
now just to get it up to current standards it will need a rotary encoder and a new voltage reference (LM4040) just to start.

but as a base, it's nice - fully cased with a colour display and lithium battery inside.
there is lots of pictures and stuff here:
https://yadi.sk/d/yW8xa5NJgUo5z
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2019, 07:14 PM   #972
lotec25
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
City & State: New Port Richey
My Country: United States
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 5
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

How many pins does the rotary encoder need for the TC1?
lotec25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2019, 05:24 AM   #973
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 23,505
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

the same as any other, 2.
but they are shared with the other things anyway - pincount is not the issue - size of the flash is.
all the cheap testers have 32k, we want more than that.
now here is the issue, most testers use the atmega328p and that has 32pins.
we cant get a better chip with that pincount.

the tc1 is different - it uses the atmega324 and that has 44pins.
we can get 64k chips in that package.
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2019, 02:58 AM   #974
Per Hansson
Super Moderator
 
Per Hansson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
City & State: ----
My Country: Sweden
Line Voltage: 230v 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4,586
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

The M644 based one is nice if you want to have a full-featured model.
I have bought one and really like it, I have not tinkered with the firmware on it though.
Vince linked this one a page back, I bought mine on eBay but that auction does not exist anymore...

https://www.aliexpress.com/item/M644...912063006.html
__________________
"The one who says it cannot be done should never interrupt the one who is doing it."
Per Hansson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2019, 06:35 AM   #975
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 23,505
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

i looked at that one before, on banggood.

not bad but no colour display.
i want colour display because it has better contrast and a noticably higher resolution.
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2020, 02:13 AM   #976
TheOnlyDocc
New Member
 
TheOnlyDocc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
City & State: Mönchengladbach
My Country: Germany
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 8
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

I hope you can help me. I am searching for a new Tester. After moving to a new location i can not find my old gm-328 (modded with new quarz. . . .).
I am not planing to mod the new one. But i was checking what is available out there and found a version with PWM Generator (would be helpfull when working with leds /modding led circuits). https://www.banggood.com/de/9-12V-DC...r_warehouse=CN
But the version i found on Banggood seems to have some problems (comment from the reviews:firmware don't fit with the resistors divider/The software came as version 1.13k but there are much newer versions available
TheOnlyDocc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2020, 05:27 AM   #977
Jatsekku
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
City & State: Wrocław
My Country: Polska
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

Hi guys! Could someone point me out the newest version of tester (hardware and software as well)? Maybe the newest is not a good term, I think most advanced version will be better description.
I would like to develop new version based on STM32, but there is so many version as far that I don't even know which one I should treat as reference for my design.
Jatsekku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2020, 05:58 AM   #978
Per Hansson
Super Moderator
 
Per Hansson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
City & State: ----
My Country: Sweden
Line Voltage: 230v 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4,586
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

The idea behind the "transistor tester" project is to make something with as few external components as possible perform the required job.
In the case of the tester this relies on a 5v compatible ADC.
The STM32 is much more expensive, and also a 3.3v device.
I'm not saying it can't be done: of course it can, but it takes the project in a different direction than what the authors intended.

As for the "latest tester" or "best tester" this rotinely comes up over at the long eevblog thread.
I think the M644 based version I linked in my previous post above hits a good balance of cost vs features.
But it of course depends on what features you want, there is for example the BSIDE version that I have too, in a quite nice case.
But it uses the regular Atmega 328 controller instead.

Last edited by Per Hansson; 06-14-2020 at 06:04 AM..
Per Hansson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2020, 05:58 AM   #979
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 23,505
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

if you want to build one, start here:
https://www.mikrocontroller.net/svnb...nsistortester/

but arm based chips wont work, they only have 3.3v outputs - you need 5v
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2020, 07:57 PM   #980
sam_sam_sam
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
City & State: Sunny Jacksonville FL
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120 Volts 60 HZ
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2,231
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

Is a better ESR meter than the blue meter that I have now

I am not really looking for a component tester at this point
__________________
9 PC LCD Monitor
6 LCD Flat Screen TV
30 Desk Top Switching Power Supply
10 Battery Charger Switching Power Supply for Power Tool
6 18v Lithium Battery Power Boards for Tool Battery Packs
1 XBox 360 Switching Power Supply and M Board
25 Servo Drives 220/460 3 Phase
6 De-soldering Station Switching Power Supply 1 Power Supply
1 Dell Mother Board
15 Computer Power Supply
1 HP Printer Supply & Control Board * lighting finished it *


These two repairs where found with a ESR meter...> Temp at 50*F then at 90*F the ESR reading more than 10%

1 Over Head Crane Current Sensing Board ( VFD Failure Five Years Later )
2 Hem Saw Computer Stack Board

All of these had CAPs POOF
All of the mosfet that are taken out by bad caps
sam_sam_sam is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums © 2003 - 2020
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:46 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?