Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

BGA CPU or PCH Replacement

Dear technicians,

I am not experienced in BGA rework. So I have got a question.
    I know GPU replacement will not last much. Despite GPUs, recent BGA CPU/PCH chips have many more tiny balls underneath (more than 1000). So the questions are:
    1- How much is the success rate if a skilled technician desolder a recent BGA CPU/PCH from a donor board and solder it onto another board?
    2- How long is it expected to last as a working laptop?

--- assuming the BGA chip was not faulty on the donor board.
    --- also assuming the technician uses the best BGA machine.

thanks
    Last edited by caspian; 11-23-2017, 02:54 PM.

Re: BGA CPU or PCH Replacement

the most safest way is to get a new bga chip and new solder balls, that will give you the best result

Comment

Hi,ad1: The reliability is depending from quality of the process,you must use the right balls(i change the ROHS hi-temp lead free for leaded ones),clean the board from old solder,repair solder mask if needed,use realy good flux and right amount etc..Dont forget to dry out the board and chips..The process itself take maybe 1-2 hours but you must calculate also time for drying in bake chamber- personaly minimum 6hours at 105Celsius ..

Quality of bga machine is not so important,you need only two heaters with time-temperature control and good heat homogeneity ,more important are the other things around...

ad2: If you make everything good and you ensure good heat transfer from chip then must last as long as the chip itself

Comment

I am afraid of the high number of solder balls and the tiny size of them.
        I think these two factors may lead to low success rate in CPU/PCH replacement and also lead to short durability.
        is this true?
        So I am guessing If a technician discovers a bad BGA CPU/PCH on a board, the best way is to scrap the board. is this true?
        Last edited by caspian; 11-24-2017, 05:18 AM.