Clear All

Samsung 242mp PSU problem

Samsung Syncmaster 242mp
    PSU model: PN120LPS-VF rev 2.0
    Code: BN96-01849A

Mainb model: P024FS
    Code: BN41-00552C

Description of problem/defect:
    Monitor works fine at all inputs if leaved unplugged for 2hrs+, until power off. It will not power up again unless it has been unplugged for those 2hrs.

What i have done/measured:
    Changed a bunch of caps (bottom leakage). Reheated/solder entire PSU. All this whitout any positive effect.

Measured at full function:
    392v at big 450v/150uf cap
    24v to inverter
    12v and 5v to main
    all ok

Measured when refusing to power up:
    306v at big cap
    18v to inverters, slowly dropping to zero!
    12v mainb feed measures zero
    5v mainb feed is fine.

I have not been able to find any schematics for the PSU. I have very little knowledge of how such PSUs work.

Supplied form wall is 240v/50hz.
    Attached Files

Re: Samsung 242mp PSU problem

Hi I have been unable to upload the Pdf but the manual is here

Its very impressive and lots of tests.

Can you post a picture of the underside of the board
    Voltage at the Big Cap is too low when not working - did you change that?
    Whilst it fails less often than smaller caps it is between 2 heatsinks so may be
    "cooked" What make is it?
    Last edited by selldoor; 01-31-2012, 02:48 PM.
    Please upload pictures using attachment function when ask for help on the repair
    http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthread.php?t=39740

Comment

Ok, thanks! Checked it out. But there is not really anything about the PSU board there. those steps just end up as "check adapter" (psu) and that is just my problem.... little unsure where to start, since the psu is so compact its even harder without schematic.

Comment

Originally posted by selldoor View Post
        Can you post a picture of the underside of the board
        Voltage at the Big Cap is too low when not working - did you change that?