Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Component blow up, Asus GL704

Hi,

I have a laptop that stopped working, it dont turn on, I removed the battery and plugged the charger still not power On but I have led charge indicator on and after sometimes it start blinking, bcz missing the battery, but if i connect the battery and plug the charger I have nothing (no led on)

after I tried to force power on button for 50sec press, I heard a spark inside, open the pc and inspected it found a component blow up with black fume traces.

that component is connected to the pin 1,2,3 and 4 of the LVDS connector.

as there is no schematic or boardview of this motherboard I checked other asus motherboard I fond something similar on the GL702 (pics Attached).

the component could be a ferrite bead 0603 120Ohm/3A, but could be other thing?

if its a ferrite what is the safest characteristic to test?

PS: please go easy on me im new in this field which I discover and am loving it.
    Attached Files
    Last edited by ZoOLf; 04-20-2021, 05:51 AM. Reason: duplicated photo

Re: Component blow up, Asus GL704

Any idea, what if i short it with a wire?

Comment

Is one of the pads a ground? If yes probably a capacitor. If no maybe resistor or fuse.

I would not short it as you could make it unrepairable, have you tried to power up without it?
      Last edited by Scotchmist; 04-21-2021, 12:32 PM.

Comment

Originally posted by Scotchmist View Post
        Is one of the pads a ground? If yes probably a capacitor. If no maybe resistor or fuse.

I would not short it as you could make it unrepairable, have you tried to power up without it?
        No one of the pads are grounded, and yes i did try power up without it still nothings,

Comment

The side connected to the smd labeled "P" will be a polyfuse, I suspect the small component that blew could be a small inductor and there could be a short in the lvds line or panel/t-con