Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting Audio Equipment
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-19-2017, 07:40 AM   #1
gretter74
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
City & State: Copenhagen
My Country: Denmark
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 9
Default System dead - ATP3 - Altec Lansing Computer Speak System with subwoofer

Model: ATP3

Issue: The system doesn't respond. As in ... totally dead.

The sound of the system was great for my use, so I'll try to fix it.

There's no visual indication of problems on the components. No smells or sound either.

I've measured the transformer and apparently there's a broken primary coil in the transformer. ( Resistance above 1990 khms. )

Do you agree, it's broken?
How do I go about buying a new one?

gretter74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2017, 01:54 PM   #2
gretter74
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
City & State: Copenhagen
My Country: Denmark
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 9
Default Re: System dead - ATP3 - Altec Lansing Computer Speak System with subwoofer

I'm sorry for not getting the photo link in the first post. Don't know what happened.



The sticker label says:

TEN PAO Model no.:TG51219F0
Input: AC 230V/50Hz
Output: AC 12.5V/2.5A

So I guess I'll be getting one of those.
gretter74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2017, 09:33 PM   #3
ant3202
Badcaps Veteran
 
ant3202's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
City & State: Singapore
My Country: Singapore
Line Voltage: 230V 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 210
Default Re: System dead - ATP3 - Altec Lansing Computer Speak System with subwoofer

Quote:
Originally Posted by gretter74 View Post
I'm sorry for not getting the photo link in the first post. Don't know what happened.



The sticker label says:

TEN PAO Model no.:TG51219F0
Input: AC 230V/50Hz
Output: AC 12.5V/2.5A

So I guess I'll be getting one of those.

some said that if you need to change, consider a good toroidal transformer as a replacement.

and i think there is multiple voltage on the transformer iirc
ant3202 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2017, 03:30 AM   #4
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 20,895
Default Re: System dead - ATP3 - Altec Lansing Computer Speak System with subwoofer

you still didnt upload any pictures.
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2017, 04:33 AM   #5
gretter74
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
City & State: Copenhagen
My Country: Denmark
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 9
Default Re: System dead - ATP3 - Altec Lansing Computer Speak System with subwoofer



The purpose of this post is to test if either I'm a fool for forgetting the image or there's something wrong with my image link...

Edit: ok, that didn't work, so my links are broken.. trying again.
That's better.

Last edited by gretter74; 08-29-2017 at 04:38 AM..
gretter74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2017, 07:26 AM   #6
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 20,895
Default Re: System dead - ATP3 - Altec Lansing Computer Speak System with subwoofer

no it's not.
images must be uploaded here because other hosts wont link properly.
you see it because they put a cookie on your browser.
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2017, 02:50 PM   #7
kaboom
"Oh, Grouchy!"
 
kaboom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
City & State: PA
My Country: USA
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 2,228
Default Re: System dead - ATP3 - Altec Lansing Computer Speak System with subwoofer

Quote:
Originally Posted by gretter74 View Post
I've measured the transformer and apparently there's a broken primary coil in the transformer. ( Resistance above 1990 khms.
Make sure you check the amp and power supply diodes for shorts. Those transformers typically have thermal fuses for UL (or equivalent NRTL in your country) listing.

Don't put a transformer in there w/o a thermal fuse unless you really know what you're doing! The amp PCB may or may not have fuses, need pix to determine this.

Another thing that commonly opens thermal fuses in those transformers is overvoltage on the AC line, such as when the local 416Y/240V network looses the neutral somewhere before the transformer, putting more than the nominal 240V into your service. Light bulbs get really bright.
__________________
"pokemon go... to hell!"

EOL it...

Quote:
Originally Posted by smashstuff30
guilty,guilty,guilty,guilty!
guilty of being cheap-made!
kaboom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2017, 08:11 PM   #8
goontron
5000!
 
goontron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
City & State: South Greeley, Wyoming
My Country: US
Line Voltage: 13.9kv HT service and some 240v center tap oddity.
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 3,972
Default Re: System dead - ATP3 - Altec Lansing Computer Speak System with subwoofer

^ Yes, Yes they do!
__________________
Things I've fixed: anything from semis to crappy Chinese $2 radios, and now an IoT Dildo....

"Dude, this is Wyoming, i hopped on and sent 'er. No fucking around." -- Me

Excuse me while i do something dangerous


You must have a sad, sad boring life if you hate on people harmlessly enjoying life with an animal costume.

Sometimes you need to break shit to fix it.... Thats why my lawnmower doesn't have a deadman switch or engine brake anymore
goontron is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2019
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:52 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?