Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting & Designing Networks
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-10-2016, 10:27 PM   #1
mikail13
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
City & State: istanbul
My Country: Turkiye
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 69
Default Disaster of 400 V Caps

My Airties Air5440 Adsl Modem was working properly at 7/24 for three years .
it is a quality device.

Recently i often see
"The service is unavailable." message at browser pages.
at least 3 times a day. it needs restart the modem.

and also modem is very hot. i suspect the adapter that is labelled DVE 9V.
i replace it. " The service is unavailable." message disappered at site.

I opened to the adapter and see red area at pcb. it frys.



Caps looks like O.K.they must be 4,7 uF (400 v)
But Multimeter says it's not.

and i also controlls other corrupted bulb lamps, swich and modem adapters
i measured and see 5200 uF ,4800 uF, 2200uF
all of them exceed to thousands. i change these.
everthing's O.K. now.

Attached Images
File Type: jpg 709f9fee8185d46c7ea79dcad1cbc305.jpg (1.13 MB, 3 views)
File Type: jpg ae4839dd-2feb-4a0b-a664-cd925f0e8f15.jpg (1.16 MB, 6 views)

Last edited by Per Hansson; 09-12-2016 at 12:37 PM.. Reason: uploaded offsite images
mikail13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2016, 03:26 AM   #2
TechGeek
Computer Geek
 
TechGeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
City & State: Insanely Hot Texas
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 118-126VAC@60hZ/200A
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 1,468
Default Re: Disaster of 400 V Caps

what brand of caps was installed in the power supply?
__________________
Don't buy those $10 PSU "specials". They fail, and they have taken whole computers with them.

For computer parts, go to Newegg
OR
Amazon.

For electrical stuff(pushbuttons, capacitors, etc), use Digikey
OR
Mouser.

Windows 10!? Oh yeah, that sorry excuse of an operating system that spies on you 24/7/365!

Samsung = Seagate = Seatrash = Trashgate
Don't buy Seagate drives. Don't use Seagate drives. If you have any in service right now, make plans to replace them ASAP.

TVs repaired: Toshiba 32AV500U
Stereo Receivers brought back to life: 1(Fisher RS-1056)
Stereos/Stereo receivers to recap: Fisher RS-1056


TechGeek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2016, 09:37 PM   #3
mariushm
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2011
City & State: Romania
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 3,718
Default Re: Disaster of 400 V Caps

It's always plugged in the mains, so it's ALWAYS ON
When loaded, heat is produced which has nowhere to go, because the adapters are usually sealed for safety
So heat keeps the capacitors always warm which shortens their life span.
mariushm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2016, 07:32 PM   #4
kc8adu
Super Moderator
 
kc8adu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
City & State: dayton ohio
My Country: U.S.A!
Line Voltage: 12vdc,120/240vac,480vac 3ph on my bench
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 8,289
Default Re: Disaster of 400 V Caps

and those cheap caps are in trouble even when not overheated 24/7.
i see this type of failure often.
i replace all with high quality parts and it outlasts the units usefulness.
kc8adu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2016, 11:53 PM   #5
ant3202
Badcaps Veteran
 
ant3202's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
City & State: Singapore
My Country: Singapore
Line Voltage: 230V 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 211
Default Re: Disaster of 400 V Caps

either i get a better design power adapter or recap with better specs on it.
ant3202 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2019
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:53 AM.
Did you find this forum helpful?