Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Electronics Theory and Troubleshooting > Equipment Usage, Soldering, Techniques, and Reviews
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools
Old 07-30-2017, 03:30 PM   #781
Per Hansson
Super Moderator
 
Per Hansson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
City & State: ----
My Country: Sweden
Line Voltage: 230v 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3,761
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

That's exactly what I did.
Mine is a GM328R
__________________
"The one who says it cannot be done should never interrupt the one who is doing it."
Per Hansson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2017, 12:25 PM   #782
xelectech
retired tech
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
City & State: NC
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 240/120VAC single phase 60hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 192
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

Longtime lurker here checking in - I finally got cable internet a little while ago, never be able to go back now...

Anyway, got tired of not having a working esr meter so tried another one, this time from aliexpress, a supposedly pre-assembled- and working one - but it doesn't work; the problem is it won't measure the capacitor during self-test, just keeps flashing the '>100nF' and 0pF
till it times out and says 'end test' (or whatever). Over a period of 3 days I must have tried to
complete the self-test 2 or 3 dozen times, and then this morning it finally completed the test once, by correctly reading the 100nF cap hooked up to it, but after the test it still couldn't read any component correctly, and was once again found unable to complete the self-test ( wouldn't read the .1 cap ).

Also, the pins on the 'chip socket' don't ohm out with respect to the numbered pads (1,2,3)
like they did on previous ones, can someone please tell me what the chip socket pin-out should be?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_1940.JPG (609.0 KB, 28 views)
xelectech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2017, 12:58 PM   #783
vinceroger69
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
City & State: Nuneaton Warwickshire
My Country: uk
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 4,715
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

Quote:
Originally Posted by xelectech View Post
Longtime lurker here checking in - I finally got cable internet a little while ago, never be able to go back now...

Anyway, got tired of not having a working esr meter so tried another one, this time from aliexpress, a supposedly pre-assembled- and working one - but it doesn't work; the problem is it won't measure the capacitor during self-test, just keeps flashing the '>100nF' and 0pF
till it times out and says 'end test' (or whatever). Over a period of 3 days I must have tried to
complete the self-test 2 or 3 dozen times, and then this morning it finally completed the test once, by correctly reading the 100nF cap hooked up to it, but after the test it still couldn't read any component correctly, and was once again found unable to complete the self-test ( wouldn't read the .1 cap ).

Also, the pins on the 'chip socket' don't ohm out with respect to the numbered pads (1,2,3)
like they did on previous ones, can someone please tell me what the chip socket pin-out should be?
im not sure if the latest firmware is in this thread so maybe look in this eevblog thread as it has this identical meter in it with the latest firmware etc
https://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/$20-lcr-esr-transistor-checker-project/4000/
vinceroger69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2017, 01:07 PM   #784
xelectech
retired tech
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
City & State: NC
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 240/120VAC single phase 60hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 192
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

Thank you sir!
xelectech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2017, 01:10 PM   #785
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 16,387
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

that's an "AY-AT" loads of info on that.
btw, to calibrate it you need a 220nF cap for best results.
a 100nF cap can be read as 99nF and then not complete the test - it must see 100n or higher.
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2017, 03:57 AM   #786
jondoe
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
City & State: A
My Country: UK
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 307
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

Make sure the cap isn't in the device until it starts flashing/asking for it, then use a 220nF as mention above, I've found if you put it in early the calibration can fail.
jondoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2017, 05:32 AM   #787
xelectech
retired tech
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
City & State: NC
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 240/120VAC single phase 60hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 192
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

Quote:
Originally Posted by stj View Post
that's an "AY-AT" loads of info on that.
btw, to calibrate it you need a 220nF cap for best results.
a 100nF cap can be read as 99nF and then not complete the test - it must see 100n or higher.
I'd only used 100nF before on the 2 previous testers I had and never had a problem with calibrating, thanks for the info - I'll just twist a couple together and try it with 200nF.

What's "AY-AT"? Gotta go read eevblog now for about 4372 posts...
xelectech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2017, 07:07 AM   #788
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 16,387
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

well there are shitloads of these devices with small differences.
it gets to be a serious problem when you need to upgrade with the correct firmware.

so i started calling that model the "AY-AT" because it's screen printed on the pcb, and it just caught on.
so i set the trend.

the other common one is the GM328 series from E-Z studio's
which surprisingly has exactly that screen printed on it.

the real problems come from the scraping the bottom of the barrel types like the T4 that actually never says anything on it!
that's the crude yellow pcb model you see for peanuts.

Last edited by stj; 09-15-2017 at 07:08 AM..
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2017, 07:41 AM   #789
ruky con
a fake rubycon
 
ruky con's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
City & State: california
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 122.5VAC 59.9Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 356
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

I recently got a new part test unit thingy... Here it is.

Not sure what the model is but i think it's the one stj has been calling 'AY-AT'.
The black box [the one you can't see in the photo :P] behind it is a 8 AA battery holder in place of the 9v battery, the reason for it is because the 9v battery holder for some reason just stopped working. [By that i mean the unit would not work at all even with a brand new cell.] One problem i had out-of-the-box was a broken copper track, But i fixed it.
This unit seems to be decent for the price and i'm happy with it.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20170915_062746[1].jpg (2.05 MB, 103 views)

Last edited by ruky con; 09-15-2017 at 07:43 AM..
ruky con is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2017, 08:05 AM   #790
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 16,387
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

you dont need 9v, the regulator can probaby handle 6v.

i'm intending to run mine from a pair of lithium 18650's once i get some protection boards from china.
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2017, 08:44 AM   #791
ruky con
a fake rubycon
 
ruky con's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
City & State: california
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 122.5VAC 59.9Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 356
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

Quote:
Originally Posted by stj View Post
you dont need 9v, the regulator can probaby handle 6v.

i'm intending to run mine from a pair of lithium 18650's once i get some protection boards from china.
My original plain was to make my unit run off of two 18650 cells. I have all of the parts i need to do so.
__________________
rukycon
making high quality
electrolytic
capacitors
since never
ruky con is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2017, 04:15 AM   #792
xelectech
retired tech
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
City & State: NC
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 240/120VAC single phase 60hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 192
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

Quote:
Originally Posted by stj View Post
well there are shitloads of these devices with small differences.
it gets to be a serious problem when you need to upgrade with the correct firmware.

so i started calling that model the "AY-AT" because it's screen printed on the pcb, and it just caught on.
so i set the trend.

the other common one is the GM328 series from E-Z studio's
which surprisingly has exactly that screen printed on it.

the real problems come from the scraping the bottom of the barrel types like the T4 that actually never says anything on it!
that's the crude yellow pcb model you see for peanuts.
Oh, that the acronym came to me, 'And Yet - An other Tester;

I twisted a couple .1uF caps together to do the self test, then I set em down somewhere, only new ones in the house, grr...
xelectech is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2017
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:39 PM.

Did you find this forum helpful?