Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Electronics Theory and Troubleshooting > Power Supply Design and Troubleshooting
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-25-2017, 01:45 PM   #21
budm
Badcaps Veteran
 
budm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: S.F. Bay area
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 30,169
Default Re: Wavetek Model 130 Function Generator - Power supply problem

You are getting negative Voltage through R108, 106.
As I indicated, R8 is the Bias resistor, so when IC6 is removed then you should have over 20V on the Emitter of Q17.
So what DCV do you have at each end of R8?
Is one end of R8 actually making electrical connection to the Base of Q18?
What DCV do you have at the Base of Q17?
What DCV do you have at the Base of Q18?
Right now Q17/18 is not getting the bias current through R8.
__________________
Never stop learning
Basic LCD TV and Monitor troubleshooting guides.
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...956#post305956

Voltage Regulator (LDO) testing:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...999#post300999

Inverter testing using old CFL:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...er+testing+cfl

Tear down pictures : Hit the ">" Show Albums and stories" on the left side
http://s807.photobucket.com/user/budm/library/

TV Factory reset codes listing:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthread.php?t=24809
budm is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2017, 01:47 PM   #22
Dgtech
E. Technician
 
Dgtech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
City & State: Pittsburgh
My Country: Steeler
Line Voltage: 120 VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 1,371
Default Re: Wavetek Model 130 Function Generator - Power supply problem

I actually got an Idea. I'm just wondering if this would work. What if I simply bypass all this crap by eliminating this section of the power supply by implementing two 15 volt regulator IC's?

Here is my plan:
Pull Q17,18,and 19.
pull CR19

Input of 15V regulator at +29V, ground TP1, output to "J"point past TP2 leaving jumper open. I just have to heatsink it to something.

Do you guys think this could work or am I going too far? I just think this circuit is over complicated for DC power supply of 15V.
__________________
The strong-minded rise to the challenge of their goals,the weak-minded BECOME HATERS

Dgtech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2017, 01:51 PM   #23
Dgtech
E. Technician
 
Dgtech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
City & State: Pittsburgh
My Country: Steeler
Line Voltage: 120 VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 1,371
Default Re: Wavetek Model 130 Function Generator - Power supply problem

zero volts on base of Q18.
-6.6 volts on anode of CR19

That R88 measures good out of circuit and point to point ohms out to its connections. 29 volts on one side. zero on the other. its not smoked either. I dont think its dropping the voltage.
Dgtech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2017, 03:02 PM   #24
Dgtech
E. Technician
 
Dgtech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
City & State: Pittsburgh
My Country: Steeler
Line Voltage: 120 VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 1,371
Default Re: Wavetek Model 130 Function Generator - Power supply problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by budm View Post
So unless R88 is open circuit or the two new transistors are bad or not properly installed or bad trace in that section, you do have +22V feeding the Transistor so it has to have output Voltage.
After I pulled this out of the board to diode check it. I saw the leg was tucked over the other one. Once installed CORRECTLY. 15VDC on TP2.

Put everything back together and hooked up the output to the scope - ALL IS WELL. All ranges of frequencies look good on my scope as well as the Fluke meter.

So to recap: The replacement of Q17 and 18 would have done the trick if some goofball (ME) would have installed it right the first time. And I used to work as a board inspector/tester. I used to get on the assemblers for making mistakes like that. The shoe is on the other foot today.

Bud, Longbow, Redwire - thanks for all the assistance.
Dgtech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2017, 04:12 PM   #25
budm
Badcaps Veteran
 
budm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: S.F. Bay area
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 30,169
Default Re: Wavetek Model 130 Function Generator - Power supply problem

Thanks for the follow-up. When something defy the logic, it is when you have to recheck the works.
budm is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2017, 07:07 PM   #26
budm
Badcaps Veteran
 
budm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: S.F. Bay area
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 30,169
Default Re: Wavetek Model 130 Function Generator - Power supply problem

BTW, it would have saved lots of times if follow my suggestion on post #2.
budm is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2017, 04:39 PM   #27
Longbow
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
City & State: Brighton, U.K.
Posts: 579
Default Re: Wavetek Model 130 Function Generator - Power supply problem

This fix is a good example of the importance of visual inspection. I say that to someone who is a trained inspector, I guess. Good fix.
__________________
Is it plugged in?
Longbow is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2017
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:40 PM.

Did you find this forum helpful?