Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > General Electronics Technical Discussion
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-02-2018, 10:34 AM   #101
budm
Badcaps Veteran
 
budm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: S.F. Bay area
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 33,645
Default Re: Cyberpower PR1500 won't charge battery

The VIPER has internal charge pump circuit that charge up the 22uF startup/running cap, when the the VDD reach the startup Voltage point to get the VIPER running then the charge pump stops then the VDD get the running Voltage from the AUX winding.
That protection Zener D23 is not needed for the VIPER to run, it is for protection in case the VDD goes up to high, typical Voltage for that Zener is around 22V.
The diode and the 50K resistor and the the cap are for the RCD snubber circuit (R1/D1/C2 in the example circuit as shown in the spec sheet).
From VIPER22 spc sheet page 6/20
Power supply of the control circuits. Also provides a charging current during start up
thanks to a high voltage current source connected to the drain. For this purpose, an
hysteresis comparator monitors the VDD voltage and provides two thresholds:
- VDDon: Voltage value (typically 14.5V) at which the device starts switching and turns
off the start up current source.
- VDDoff: Voltage value (typically 8V) at which the device stops switching and turns on
the start up current source.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf VIPER22A.pdf (308.7 KB, 2 views)
__________________
Never stop learning
Basic LCD TV and Monitor troubleshooting guides.
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...956#post305956

Voltage Regulator (LDO) testing:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...999#post300999

Inverter testing using old CFL:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...er+testing+cfl

Tear down pictures : Hit the ">" Show Albums and stories" on the left side
http://s807.photobucket.com/user/budm/library/

TV Factory reset codes listing:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthread.php?t=24809

Last edited by budm; 05-02-2018 at 10:38 AM..
budm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2018, 10:55 AM   #102
reberhar
Computer Tech
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
City & State: Oaxaca, Oaxaca Mexico
My Country: Mexico
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60 Cycles
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 18
Default Re: Cyberpower PR1500 won't charge battery

Hi Bud,

I just measured the aux winding. The D25 is providing 12.5 volts DC. This goes to the optocoupler and then to the Feedback pin. The D23 is connected then to the negative side of the aux winding and then down onto the VDD.

So I am trying to wrap my mind about this. This means that the negative side of the aux winding is providing the power for the SMPS as you call it. Since there is no center tap on the aux winding that means that ground is coming through the SMPS. There should be 12.5 volts on the negative side too, although I read nothing when measuring the aux negative tap on the AC of the VOM. Otherwise how can the SMPS turn on? My reference is on the negative pin of the filter capacitor.

I will read your post again about the zener.

I have repaired lots of digital stuff over the years, analog not so much. Usually though, if I am patient I can get these too.

Thanks,

Roy
reberhar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2018, 11:02 AM   #103
reberhar
Computer Tech
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
City & State: Oaxaca, Oaxaca Mexico
My Country: Mexico
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60 Cycles
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 18
Default Re: Cyberpower PR1500 won't charge battery

Hi Bud,

Thanks for the help. Any suggestions on which zener? I can read the spec sheets to I guess.

You are a wonderful resource.

God bless you,

Roy
reberhar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2018, 01:29 PM   #104
budm
Badcaps Veteran
 
budm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: S.F. Bay area
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 33,645
Default Re: Cyberpower PR1500 won't charge battery

This is what I see based on your pictures, see the attached marked picture,
D23 22V ~ 24v 0.5W ZENER should be OK.
The circuit in the spec sheet left out the protection Zener, most of them do not use it to save money.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg SMPS connections.jpg (322.2 KB, 9 views)

Last edited by budm; 05-02-2018 at 01:31 PM..
budm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2018, 03:43 PM   #105
reberhar
Computer Tech
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
City & State: Oaxaca, Oaxaca Mexico
My Country: Mexico
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60 Cycles
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 18
Default Re: Cyberpower PR1500 won't charge battery

I ordered some 22 Volt units as per your first suggestion. The 1500 had 24 volt units. 22 should be ok though.

Roy

Last edited by reberhar; 05-02-2018 at 03:45 PM..
reberhar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2018, 11:28 AM   #106
reberhar
Computer Tech
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
City & State: Oaxaca, Oaxaca Mexico
My Country: Mexico
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60 Cycles
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 18
Default Re: Cyberpower 1350AVR wouldn't charge battery - but does now.

Hi Bud,

Thanks for the annotated graphic of the circuit. It does indeed charge without the zener. I am at 27 volts which seems a little low. I am going to change some diodes and the filter cap in that circuit. If it was a lightening strike those could have been compromised. Checking the with scope shows no ringing so perhaps it is a diode or perhaps it is totally normal. I need to let the batteries finish charging.

Your patience is outstanding and your help has been great. I would shake your hand, but I can't reach the west coast of the US from Oaxaca Mexico.

I hope helping is as rewarding to you as it is to the rest of us.

I do similar work everyday helping Bible Translators with their computers, managing the servers and firewalls and yes fixing hardware. It is exhausting. If you get as tired as I do then may God bless you with rest.

Roy

Last edited by reberhar; 05-03-2018 at 11:29 AM.. Reason: Misspelling.
reberhar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2018, 12:16 PM   #107
budm
Badcaps Veteran
 
budm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: S.F. Bay area
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 33,645
Default Re: Cyberpower PR1500 won't charge battery

The charging Voltage for your two batteries connected in series should be around 13.75 x 2 = 27.5V so you may be OK, I would connect the batteries to the unit and let them charged up over night, no need to turn on the UPS since the charging circuit is running 24/7 the minutes the UPS is plugged into the AC outlet.

https://www.powerstream.com/SLA.htm

Last edited by budm; 05-03-2018 at 12:26 PM..
budm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2018, 02:09 PM   #108
reberhar
Computer Tech
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
City & State: Oaxaca, Oaxaca Mexico
My Country: Mexico
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60 Cycles
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 18
Default Re: Cyberpower PR1500 won't charge battery

Hi Bud,

Since charging is a current operation it is a little hard to tell. However, I am up to 27.2 so that is a good sign. The batteries are connected and seem like they are warming a little. That is also a good sign. I will let you know how things look tomorrow when they have charged overnight.

Roy

Last edited by reberhar; 05-03-2018 at 02:12 PM..
reberhar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2018, 02:23 PM   #109
reberhar
Computer Tech
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
City & State: Oaxaca, Oaxaca Mexico
My Country: Mexico
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60 Cycles
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 18
Default Re: Cyberpower PR1500 won't charge battery

Hi Bud,

So we are not looking at 14.2 x 2 or 28.4 like lead acid batteries in a car. Gel cells want 13.75 times x 2 or 27.5. At this point I am at 27.3. which is pretty good.

Roy
reberhar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2018, 08:55 AM   #110
reberhar
Computer Tech
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
City & State: Oaxaca, Oaxaca Mexico
My Country: Mexico
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60 Cycles
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 18
Default Re: Cyberpower 1350AVR won't charge battery

Looks fixed. Battery is at 100%. I have been using batteries from another unit. I have also ordered replacement batteries as the others were bad. I found a 24Volt Zener locally which I will install today.

Last edited by reberhar; 05-04-2018 at 08:57 AM..
reberhar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2018, 10:12 AM   #111
budm
Badcaps Veteran
 
budm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: S.F. Bay area
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 33,645
Default Re: Cyberpower PR1500 won't charge battery

Thanks for the follow-up on the repair.
budm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2018, 03:38 PM   #112
reberhar
Computer Tech
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
City & State: Oaxaca, Oaxaca Mexico
My Country: Mexico
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60 Cycles
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 18
Default Re: Cyberpower 1350AVR won't charge battery

reberhar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2018, 03:48 AM   #113
cyberlander
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
City & State: Melbourne
My Country: Australia
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1
Default Re: Cyberpower PR1500 won't charge battery

Quote:
Originally Posted by jr219 View Post
I can do that. I haven't tested anything further. Forgive me, but I'm more of a software and digital guy...

If you let me know what I would need to test (ie: look for chip x, which should run to cap X and measure the output, etc) I can do it and report back.

thanks,

-jr
Hi Jr219,

Did you ever resolve the issue with your UPS? I have the same board with the same issue. Thanks
cyberlander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2018, 11:19 AM   #114
jr219
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
City & State: Montverde, FL
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 9
Default Re: Cyberpower PR1500 won't charge battery

Quote:
Originally Posted by cyberlander View Post
Hi Jr219,

Did you ever resolve the issue with your UPS? I have the same board with the same issue. Thanks

I have not. It's still on the bench. Not sure if I should replace that one cap or not. Considering just purchasing a new one as sad as that is.
jr219 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2018, 11:10 AM   #115
alphatango
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
City & State: Ontario
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1
Default Re: Cyberpower PR1500 won't charge battery

Just opened up my PR1500LCDRT2U because it wouldn't start up. Battery was voltage was 26V but the charging leads couldn't hold steady voltage on the multimeter. The cause looks like 2x 63V 2200uF leaking caps in the back left corner of the board. I've never done a cap replacement before but I'm going to try!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_20180815_1241243.jpg (182.4 KB, 9 views)
alphatango is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2018, 11:46 AM   #116
budm
Badcaps Veteran
 
budm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: S.F. Bay area
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 33,645
Default Re: Cyberpower PR1500 won't charge battery

See post #17 and read the follow-up posts.
budm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2018
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:07 PM.

Did you find this forum helpful?