Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting Laptops, Portable, and Mobile Devices > BIOS Requests ONLY!
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-12-2019, 04:29 AM   #1
gabry120
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
City & State: roma
My Country: italia
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 22
Default HP 840 G1 is not in committed state

Hello! I have HP 840 G1, i changed motherboard and i could fill serial number, SKU ecc...I locked MPM and everythings ok, but i have always "Warning: Machine is not in committed state" error on bootup, how can I clean it? I've tried Brand11,12,13,14 but doen't work.
Thank You very much.
gabry120 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2019, 01:27 PM   #2
bachir2004
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
City & State: casablanca
My Country: maroc
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 265
Default Re: HP 840 G1 is not in committed state

You need to to clean the me region.post your dump here.
bachir2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2019, 12:27 AM   #3
mcplslg123
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
City & State: siliguri
My Country: india
Line Voltage: 220vac,60hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 2,347
Default Re: HP 840 G1 is not in committed state

It has got nothing to do with me region. You still have some missing dmi info.
mcplslg123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2019, 02:24 AM   #4
gabry120
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
City & State: roma
My Country: italia
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 22
Default Re: HP 840 G1 is not in committed state

Quote:
Originally Posted by mcplslg123 View Post
It has got nothing to do with me region. You still have some missing dmi info.
But after i used NbDmiFit i don't have Product Information Not Valid" error message and dmi info are correct.
gabry120 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2019, 03:15 AM   #5
RethoricalCheese
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
City & State: Tartu
My Country: Estonia
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 324
Default Re: HP 840 G1 is not in committed state

Same problem with 820 G2.

Main bios was deleted so I took clean BIOS region (from HP website) and clean ME, stitched them together and programmed main bios. First it had no DMI data and then it retrieved it from EC bios. All data was present and correct.

Only "Warning: Machine is not in committed state" remained.
RethoricalCheese is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2019, 03:16 AM   #6
gabry120
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
City & State: roma
My Country: italia
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 22
Default Re: HP 840 G1 is not in committed state

Quote:
Originally Posted by bachir2004 View Post
You need to to clean the me region.post your dump here.
Here you are
Attached Files
File Type: rar Hewlett-Packard-L71Ver.01.39.rar (3.01 MB, 21 views)

Last edited by gabry120; 11-13-2019 at 03:32 AM.. Reason: Attach Files
gabry120 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2019, 04:19 AM   #7
RethoricalCheese
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
City & State: Tartu
My Country: Estonia
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 324
Default Re: HP 840 G1 is not in committed state

I have one 840 G1 which had "ME state in recovery mode".

Replaced ME region with clean ME. Now it says "Warning: Machine is not in committed state" instead.
RethoricalCheese is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2019, 07:16 AM   #8
bachir2004
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
City & State: casablanca
My Country: maroc
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 265
Default Re: HP 840 G1 is not in committed state

Post your full dump.full dump is 16 mb.

Last edited by bachir2004; 11-13-2019 at 07:32 AM..
bachir2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2019, 04:29 AM   #9
gabry120
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
City & State: roma
My Country: italia
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 22
Default Re: HP 840 G1 is not in committed state

Quote:
Originally Posted by bachir2004 View Post
Post your full dump.full dump is 16 mb.
And how can i do full dump?
gabry120 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2019, 08:08 AM   #10
mcplslg123
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
City & State: siliguri
My Country: india
Line Voltage: 220vac,60hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 2,347
Default Re: HP 840 G1 is not in committed state

By reading your eeprom chip with a bios programmer. you need to desolder the bios chip.
mcplslg123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2019, 08:36 AM   #11
RethoricalCheese
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
City & State: Tartu
My Country: Estonia
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 324
Default Re: HP 840 G1 is not in committed state

No, you don't need to desolder it.

Unplug battery.
Plug in charger.
Turn the laptop on (and go to bios or whatever, doesn't matter).
Turn the laptop off but DO NOT remove charger.
Connect soic8 clip to eeprom and read bios.

This way it almost always reads without a problem. Otherwise the programmer might not even recognize eeprom.
RethoricalCheese is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2019, 10:52 AM   #12
Akintunde
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
City & State: Ikeja/Lagos
My Country: Nigeria
Line Voltage: 220/240
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 12
Default Re: HP 840 G1 is not in committed state

[QUOTE=RethoricalCheese;925511]No, you don't need to desolder it

Unplug battery.
Plug in charger.
Turn the laptop on (and go to bios or whatever, doesn't matter).
Turn the laptop off but DO NOT remove charger.
Connect soic8 clip to eeprom and read bios.

This way it almost always reads without a problem. Otherwise the programmer might not even recognize eeprom.

Thanks for this information.
Akintunde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2019, 10:47 PM   #13
mcplslg123
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
City & State: siliguri
My Country: india
Line Voltage: 220vac,60hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 2,347
Default Re: HP 840 G1 is not in committed state

Quote:
Originally Posted by RethoricalCheese View Post
No, you don't need to desolder it.

Unplug battery.
Plug in charger.
Turn the laptop on (and go to bios or whatever, doesn't matter).
Turn the laptop off but DO NOT remove charger.
Connect soic8 clip to eeprom and read bios.

This way it almost always reads without a problem. Otherwise the programmer might not even recognize eeprom.
I dont prefer this method as there are models where soic8 clip doesnt read bios properly when taken in circuit-Why leave room for confusion when it hardly takes 5 mins to do the job.
mcplslg123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2019, 11:20 PM   #14
RethoricalCheese
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
City & State: Tartu
My Country: Estonia
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 324
Default Re: HP 840 G1 is not in committed state

Verification takes care of that problem, dont you use it?

Elitebooks handle hot air station without a problem but probooks dont. It isnt 5 minutes anymore if disassembly is needed.
RethoricalCheese is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2019, 06:34 AM   #15
mcplslg123
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
City & State: siliguri
My Country: india
Line Voltage: 220vac,60hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 2,347
Default Re: HP 840 G1 is not in committed state

Quote:
Originally Posted by RethoricalCheese View Post
Verification takes care of that problem, dont you use it?

Elitebooks handle hot air station without a problem but probooks dont. It isnt 5 minutes anymore if disassembly is needed.
Verification i always do and my programmer is set that way only. All mobo's can handle heat if you do things nicely. If probook mobo's cant bear a hot air station , then how do we change IC's on those.

See, the point is everyone one of us do repairs in their own way. Something which i dont prefer is not the norm. One can always disagree.
mcplslg123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2019, 01:07 PM   #16
RethoricalCheese
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
City & State: Tartu
My Country: Estonia
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 324
Default Re: HP 840 G1 is not in committed state

Not the mobos, I meant the plastic housing doesnt take heat well on probooks. It starts melting instantly. Thus I would need to disassemble the laptop before using hot air on mobos which takes way more than 5 minutes.

Using my method to read eeprom on-board works pretty much always and if it doesn't, it will let you know.

If you want to waste time, it is on you. Whatever you prefer. But saying that it reads incorrectly is just not right. Yes if you just connect the soic8 clip and try to read, it mostly doesn't work but when you turn the laptop on and off and then try reading, it works very well almost always. If it doesn't work, the programmer will let you know about it.
RethoricalCheese is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2019, 01:21 AM   #17
mcplslg123
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
City & State: siliguri
My Country: india
Line Voltage: 220vac,60hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 2,347
Default Re: HP 840 G1 is not in committed state

Sir, i never said it reads incorrectly. Re-read my post again. i said on some motherboards it doesnt reads properly. Does that mean -"it reads incorrectly" always. Why'nt read the statement in whole "there are models where soic8 clip doesnt read bios properly" Any way lets not argue unnecessarily.
mcplslg123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2019, 08:38 AM   #18
gabry120
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
City & State: roma
My Country: italia
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 22
Default Re: HP 840 G1 is not in committed state

Quote:
Originally Posted by bachir2004 View Post
Post your full dump.full dump is 16 mb.
This is full dumb, or i hope so!
Attached Files
File Type: rar 840g1.rar (7.80 MB, 3 views)
gabry120 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2019, 03:44 AM   #19
SMDFlea
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
City & State: York
My Country: UK
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3,051
Default Re: HP 840 G1 is not in committed state

Quote:
Originally Posted by gabry120 View Post
This is full dumb, or i hope so!
Try this bios .
Attached Files
File Type: zip 840g1_ME CLEAN.zip (9.38 MB, 9 views)
SMDFlea is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2019
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:19 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?