Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting TVs and Video Sources
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-24-2019, 03:45 AM   #41
Stuckster
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
City & State: Sydney
My Country: Australia
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 30
Default Re: Backlights but no picture - No 12v to Tcon board

Quote:
Originally Posted by budm View Post
https://www.badcaps.net/forum/attach...2&d=1571874353

Emitter pin (Top) is connected to R125/C181
Collector pin (Middle pin) is connected to R126
Base is the bottom pin.
Thanks.

Emitter pin = 0.0v ON, 0.0v OFF
Collector pin = 11.5v ON, 0.0v OFF
Base pin = 0.0v ON, 0.0v OFF
Stuckster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2019, 07:04 AM   #42
dick_barton
Badcaps Veteran
 
dick_barton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
City & State: Cardiff
My Country: Wales
Line Voltage: 230V AC, 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 4,901
Default Re: Backlights but no picture - No 12v to Tcon board

This may be the layout for the smd transistor. The readings given for the base does not appear correct.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 1AM smd.JPG (27.0 KB, 7 views)
__________________
Willing to help but I'm no expert.
dick_barton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2019, 05:57 PM   #43
Stuckster
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
City & State: Sydney
My Country: Australia
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 30
Default Re: Backlights but no picture - No 12v to Tcon board

Quote:
Originally Posted by dick_barton View Post
This may be the layout for the smd transistor. The readings given for the base does not appear correct.
Do you mean that the 0v reading on the base pin means that that component is faulty? Or that you think I measured the voltage incorrectly?

Last edited by Stuckster; 10-24-2019 at 05:59 PM..
Stuckster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2019, 06:03 PM   #44
budm
Badcaps Veteran
 
budm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: S.F. Bay area
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 36,351
Default Re: Backlights but no picture - No 12v to Tcon board

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stuckster View Post
Thanks.

Emitter pin = 0.0v ON, 0.0v OFF
Collector pin = 11.5v ON, 0.0v OFF
Base pin = 0.0v ON, 0.0v OFF
BASE is not being driven.
Check the resistance between GND and the Base pin.
__________________
Never stop learning
Basic LCD TV and Monitor troubleshooting guides.
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...956#post305956

Voltage Regulator (LDO) testing:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...999#post300999

Inverter testing using old CFL:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...er+testing+cfl

Tear down pictures : Hit the ">" Show Albums and stories" on the left side
http://s807.photobucket.com/user/budm/library/

TV Factory reset codes listing:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthread.php?t=24809
budm is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2019, 06:17 PM   #45
Stuckster
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
City & State: Sydney
My Country: Australia
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 30
Default Re: Backlights but no picture - No 12v to Tcon board

Quote:
Originally Posted by budm View Post
BASE is not being driven.
Check the resistance between GND and the Base pin.
Resistance between GND and the Base pin is 3.3 measured at 200k Ohms.
Stuckster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2019, 06:34 PM   #46
budm
Badcaps Veteran
 
budm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: S.F. Bay area
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 36,351
Default Re: Backlights but no picture - No 12v to Tcon board

3.3K is not bad.
Right now you can try removing the LVDS cables from the main board first the try forcing on Q1 by connecting 100 Ohms resistor between GND and Gate pin and see if you will get 12VDC at Drain pin or not.
https://www.badcaps.net/forum/attach...2&d=1571874353
budm is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2019, 07:36 PM   #47
Stuckster
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
City & State: Sydney
My Country: Australia
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 30
Default Re: Backlights but no picture - No 12v to Tcon board

Quote:
Originally Posted by budm View Post
3.3K is not bad.
Right now you can try removing the LVDS cables from the main board first the try forcing on Q1 by connecting 100 Ohms resistor between GND and Gate pin and see if you will get 12VDC at Drain pin or not.
https://www.badcaps.net/forum/attach...2&d=1571874353
Hmm. I really appreciate your help, but unfortunately I don't have a 100 Ohms resistor, nor the experience to solder components to the board. So this might be getting beyond my abilities.

Is there some other way to simulate 100 Ohms of resistance between GND and the Gate pin? Possibly using the meter?

Failing that, how certain are you at this stage that replacing the mainboard would essential fix the TV? And if I put a new mainboard in, from what we have already diagnosed, what is the chance that there could be something feeding back from the PSU or the Tcon and damaging Q1 on the mainboard? Or is that very unlikely?
Stuckster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2019, 10:38 PM   #48
budm
Badcaps Veteran
 
budm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: S.F. Bay area
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 36,351
Default Re: Backlights but no picture - No 12v to Tcon board

Well, if you do not have the ability to solder the component on the main board then how are you going to fix the the board?
At this you know that the main board is not sending the 12V to run the T-CON, so there is nothing else you can do but replacing the main board with KNOWN WORKING BOARD.
You can take the board to the local repair shop and have them solder in the resistor for you.
Q1 is not being turned on by Q2 that is why we are trying to do force on with the resistor to provide the 12V to run the T-CON, if there is no problem with T-CON and other problems with the main board then all the functions of the TV should work, if not then you have more than just 12V to the T-CON board problem, so the only way to find out is to force on Q1 but since you do not know how to solder then it is moot point to do further troubleshooting the board. If force on gets the TV to function then we can use other signal to turn on Q1 instead but that will require board modification which you cannot do.

Last edited by budm; 10-24-2019 at 11:10 PM..
budm is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2019, 12:46 AM   #49
Stuckster
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
City & State: Sydney
My Country: Australia
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 30
Default Re: Backlights but no picture - No 12v to Tcon board

Quote:
Originally Posted by budm View Post
Well, if you do not have the ability to solder the component on the main board then how are you going to fix the the board?
At this you know that the main board is not sending the 12V to run the T-CON, so there is nothing else you can do but replacing the main board with KNOWN WORKING BOARD.
You can take the board to the local repair shop and have them solder in the resistor for you.
Q1 is not being turned on by Q2 that is why we are trying to do force on with the resistor to provide the 12V to run the T-CON, if there is no problem with T-CON and other problems with the main board then all the functions of the TV should work, if not then you have more than just 12V to the T-CON board problem, so the only way to find out is to force on Q1 but since you do not know how to solder then it is moot point to do further troubleshooting the board. If force on gets the TV to function then we can use other signal to turn on Q1 instead but that will require board modification which you cannot do.
Hey. My intention from the outset was to diagnose the cause so I could confidently return and replace the faulty board.

Is the fix you have suggested a temporary measure for further testing or will it actually fix the problem and if so if I'm able to get it repaired it is it ok to leave it like that permanently?
Stuckster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2019, 05:48 AM   #50
nomoresonys
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
City & State: midwest
My Country: U.S.
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4,221
Default Re: Backlights but no picture - No 12v to Tcon board

Maybe try there, they indicate that they have 1 mainboard, I don't know anything about them, might want to look their record up: http://a1tv.com.au/TCL.html
nomoresonys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2019, 09:07 AM   #51
Stuckster
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
City & State: Sydney
My Country: Australia
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 30
Default Re: Backlights but no picture - No 12v to Tcon board

Quote:
Originally Posted by nomoresonys View Post
Maybe try there, they indicate that they have 1 mainboard, I don't know anything about them, might want to look their record up: http://a1tv.com.au/TCL.html
Hi. Yeah I have enquired with those guys. They want $355.00 plus $22.00 postage for a new board! Hard to justify on a 4 year old set.

I can get a new board off Ebay for around $270, which is still pricey. So I first need to arrange a refund on the faulty board to obtain the funds.

Might have to learn how to solder pcbs!
Stuckster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2019, 09:24 AM   #52
nomoresonys
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
City & State: midwest
My Country: U.S.
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4,221
Default Re: Backlights but no picture - No 12v to Tcon board

Ok, I guess they lied, in their ad it said, we are back in business, all parts are 120 dollars, there at the bottom: http://a1tv.com.au/index.html
nomoresonys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2019, 12:15 PM   #53
dick_barton
Badcaps Veteran
 
dick_barton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
City & State: Cardiff
My Country: Wales
Line Voltage: 230V AC, 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 4,901
Default Re: Backlights but no picture - No 12v to Tcon board

The board you are working on that's failing to power the Tcon was one you've just bought?
The one you've just looked at in post#51 is you feel, too expensive to buy for a 4 year old set?

Even though the Tcon is not being powered with the mainboard you already have, do you have sound, can you change channels etc to try and work out if the rest of the mainboard is functioning?

Is this your own TV or are you repairing it for someone else?

Last edited by dick_barton; 10-25-2019 at 12:24 PM..
dick_barton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2019, 12:33 PM   #54
budm
Badcaps Veteran
 
budm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: S.F. Bay area
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 36,351
Default Re: Backlights but no picture - No 12v to Tcon board

Post #1 I need to be 100% certain which board is faulty before I outlay money to replace it.
But it looks like he did outlay the money to get the replacement board to begin with, but I thought he did not want to spend big money on the board.
I have already determined:
- Tcon board not receiving any 12V.
- Mainboard only outputting 2.6v to audio/speakers
- Replacement PCB (no change)
- Replacement Tcon board (no change
)

Bottom line, the replacement board we are troubleshooting is not sending the 12V either.
budm is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2019, 03:42 PM   #55
Stuckster
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
City & State: Sydney
My Country: Australia
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 30
Default Re: Backlights but no picture - No 12v to Tcon board

Quote:
Originally Posted by nomoresonys View Post
Ok, I guess they lied, in their ad it said, we are back in business, all parts are 120 dollars, there at the bottom: http://a1tv.com.au/index.html
Ha. Yes. When I was googling it took me straight to the page with the part. I never saw the home page. Will have to call them on it and see what they say. Thank you
Stuckster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2019, 03:49 PM   #56
Stuckster
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
City & State: Sydney
My Country: Australia
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 30
Default Re: Backlights but no picture - No 12v to Tcon board

Quote:
Originally Posted by dick_barton View Post
The board you are working on that's failing to power the Tcon was one you've just bought?
The one you've just looked at in post#51 is you feel, too expensive to buy for a 4 year old set?
Hey. No the replacement board I bought was from a private seller and was sold in "used working condition". Was trying to save some $$. Lesson learned I guess.

Quote:
Originally Posted by dick_barton View Post
Even though the Tcon is not being powered with the mainboard you already have, do you have sound, can you change channels etc to try and work out if the rest of the mainboard is functioning?
I can't see a thing on the screen. So I have tried hooking up an external audio source, but I can't tell if it's on the right input. Have tried cycling the source button to no avail.

Quote:
Originally Posted by dick_barton View Post
Is this your own TV or are you repairing it for someone else?
My own TV.
Stuckster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2019, 04:00 PM   #57
Stuckster
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
City & State: Sydney
My Country: Australia
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 30
Default Re: Backlights but no picture - No 12v to Tcon board

Quote:
Originally Posted by budm View Post
Post #1 I need to be 100% certain which board is faulty before I outlay money to replace it.
But it looks like he did outlay the money to get the replacement board to begin with, but I thought he did not want to spend big money on the board.
I have already determined:
- Tcon board not receiving any 12V.
- Mainboard only outputting 2.6v to audio/speakers
- Replacement PCB (no change)
- Replacement Tcon board (no change
)

Bottom line, the replacement board we are troubleshooting is not sending the 12V either.
Hi Budm. To clarify. The replacement board I first bought was a used board. Was trying to save some money. Unfortunately it didn't work. Now that we have determined fairly conclusively that is faulty (with your generous help) I would like to return the used board so I can buy a new board.
Stuckster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2019, 06:08 AM   #58
Stuckster
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
City & State: Sydney
My Country: Australia
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 30
Default Re: Backlights but no picture - No 12v to Tcon board

Ended up returning the used board and received a refund through Paypal. Got the TV serviced and new mainboard installed. Repairs are warranted for 3 months. Thanks all for your help.

The moral of this story? Never buy used electronic components unless you can diagnose and repair them!
Stuckster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2019, 10:55 AM   #59
budm
Badcaps Veteran
 
budm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: S.F. Bay area
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 36,351
Default Re: Backlights but no picture - No 12v to Tcon board

Thanks for the follow-up on the repair.
budm is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2019
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:19 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?