Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > General Topics > General Computer Discussion
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools
Old 05-27-2018, 03:02 AM   #1
Michale32086
Badcaps Veteran
 
Michale32086's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
City & State: St Augustine, FLORIDA
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 971
Default MAC A1312 Dead After Power Failure

I had gotten in a nice MAC A1312 a bit ago..

Did a reflow on the video card to get it up and running..

ref: https://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthread.php?t=69512

Had it plugged into the wall at my shop and the power failed. Damn tripped breaker..

Now the unit won't come on at all.. It appears completely dead..

Am I looking at a likely blown fuse on the PSU?? Or a blown PSU??
Michale32086 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2018, 05:08 AM   #2
Michale32086
Badcaps Veteran
 
Michale32086's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
City & State: St Augustine, FLORIDA
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 971
Default Re: MAC A1312 Dead After Power Failure

Well.. THAT's not good.. :^/
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20180527_070128.jpg (451.9 KB, 20 views)
File Type: jpg 20180527_070134.jpg (499.9 KB, 18 views)
Michale32086 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2018, 05:28 AM   #3
Michale32086
Badcaps Veteran
 
Michale32086's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
City & State: St Augustine, FLORIDA
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 971
Default Re: MAC A1312 Dead After Power Failure

All the blown caps are TAICON.. They don't appear to be available thru DigiKey, my go-to source...

I know Apple is really picky about parts and such.. Should I use TAICON or are NICHICON sufficient??
Michale32086 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2018, 06:29 AM   #4
Per Hansson
Super Moderator
 
Per Hansson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
City & State: ----
My Country: Sweden
Line Voltage: 230v 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4,035
Default Re: MAC A1312 Dead After Power Failure

Of course you should not use Taicon.
They are not the best brand (not the worst either).
Look up their specs and buy reputable brands from the major Japanese manufacturers.
That said your issue will not only be the caps.
Probably the switching mosfets are shorted if the fuse went out.
__________________
"The one who says it cannot be done should never interrupt the one who is doing it."

Last edited by Per Hansson; 05-27-2018 at 06:30 AM..
Per Hansson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2018, 06:38 AM   #5
Michale32086
Badcaps Veteran
 
Michale32086's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
City & State: St Augustine, FLORIDA
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 971
Default Re: MAC A1312 Dead After Power Failure

Awww crap.. I was hoping not have to buy a new PSU... They are about $100...
Michale32086 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2018, 01:13 PM   #6
Michale32086
Badcaps Veteran
 
Michale32086's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
City & State: St Augustine, FLORIDA
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 971
Default Re: MAC A1312 Dead After Power Failure

Replacement PSU found for around $40..

Problem solved..
Michale32086 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2018
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:06 AM.

Did you find this forum helpful?