Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > General Topics > General Capacitor Questions & Issues
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-10-2019, 02:30 PM   #1
mrmazda
MrMazda
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
City & State: Hernando, FL
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 92
Default Replace OST RLP and Nich HM with what?

Apparently 1000uF 6.3v is being obsoleted off the planet. Those I need to replace are 8X11.5x3.5 from various motherboards, mainly near DDR2 ram slots and northbridges. If in fact they are being obsoleted, there must be some polys suitable for sustitution, but what? 8X15 or 8x16 lytics can still be had, but troublesome to fit in various spots, similar to 10mm.

Some years back, the board currently in need of resurrection had the same problem as just returned last night. Back then I replaced about 18 with new HM, the rest with FR. Now I can only get it to post by cutting DDR2 RAM back to only one slot. It had been running nicely for over 3 years with 4 2G sticks.

Is Panasonic FR with twice as much spec ESR as HM well enough suited to this task? What can anyone recommend? Some sort of poly?
mrmazda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2019, 03:45 PM   #2
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 20,090
Cool Re: Replace OST RLP and Nich HM with what?

https://uk.rs-online.com/web/p/alumi...itors/8513841/

https://www.aliexpress.com/item/Soli...859957324.html

https://www.aliexpress.com/item/1000...857793603.html

https://www.aliexpress.com/item/Soli...833331851.html
Attached Files
File Type: pdf FPcap L8.pdf (1.03 MB, 1 views)
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2019, 06:37 PM   #3
BigTroll
Badcaps Veteran
 
BigTroll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
City & State: Jefferson
My Country: LAMBDA SOND
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 490
Default Re: Replace OST RLP and Nich HM with what?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrmazda View Post
Apparently 1000uF 6.3v is being obsoleted off the planet. Those I need to replace are 8X11.5x3.5 from various motherboards, mainly near DDR2 ram slots and northbridges. If in fact they are being obsoleted, there must be some polys suitable for sustitution, but what? 8X15 or 8x16 lytics can still be had, but troublesome to fit in various spots, similar to 10mm.

Some years back, the board currently in need of resurrection had the same problem as just returned last night. Back then I replaced about 18 with new HM, the rest with FR. Now I can only get it to post by cutting DDR2 RAM back to only one slot. It had been running nicely for over 3 years with 4 2G sticks.

Is Panasonic FR with twice as much spec ESR as HM well enough suited to this task? What can anyone recommend? Some sort of poly?
I have been buying caps from this guy its NOS caps but he ships super quick and I believe they are legit. https://www.ebay.com/itm/10x-1000uF-...s/252468792756

I just ordered some from him last week the date code was B1413. so about 5 years old.
__________________
My Computer: AMD Ryzen 7 2700X, Asrock X370 Killer SLI/AC, 16GB Geil EVO X DDR4 3000, 500GB WD Black NVME and 2TB Toshiba HD,EVGA GTX 1080 SC, In-Win 303 White, EVGA SuperNova 750 G3, Windows 10 Pro
BigTroll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2019, 07:15 PM   #4
mrmazda
MrMazda
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
City & State: Hernando, FL
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 92
Default Re: Replace OST RLP and Nich HM with what?

STJ, thanks. I ordered these, so I wouldn't have to wait 35+ days for delivery from overseas.
mrmazda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2019, 08:54 PM   #5
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 20,090
Default Re: Replace OST RLP and Nich HM with what?

is that how long you wait for china post??
it gets to europe in under 20 days.
it will be even faster soon, once the chinese rail link via russia and iran into the european network to germany is complete.
then it can travel by rail instead of ship
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2019, 09:03 PM   #6
mrmazda
MrMazda
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
City & State: Hernando, FL
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 92
Default Re: Replace OST RLP and Nich HM with what?

Those three ads all stated an estimated delivery time "X" days. The shortest X was 35. I've ordered from overseas before. Wait time has been highly variable, from under a week, to much more than a month. Orders from Mouser using lowest cost shipping arrive in as little as 3 days.

Last edited by mrmazda; 02-10-2019 at 09:06 PM..
mrmazda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2019, 09:13 PM   #7
Sparkey55
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
City & State: OK
My Country: USA
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 1,524
Default Re: Replace OST RLP and Nich HM with what?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrmazda View Post
Those three ads all stated an estimated delivery time "X" days. The shortest X was 35. I've ordered from overseas before. Wait time has been highly variable, from under a week, to much more than a month. Orders from Mouser using lowest cost shipping arrive in as little as 3 days.
I live less than 250 miles from Mouser warehouse in Dallas and often get my goodies the next day.
Sparkey55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2019, 02:36 AM   #8
ChaosLegionnaire
HC Overclocker
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
City & State: Singapore
My Country: Singapore
Line Voltage: 240VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 1,388
Default Re: Replace OST RLP and Nich HM with what?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrmazda View Post
Some years back, the board currently in need of resurrection had the same problem as just returned last night. Back then I replaced about 18 with new HM, the rest with FR. Now I can only get it to post by cutting DDR2 RAM back to only one slot. It had been running nicely for over 3 years with 4 2G sticks.

Is Panasonic FR with twice as much spec ESR as HM well enough suited to this task? What can anyone recommend? Some sort of poly?
thats not the root cause of your problem. the root cause of your problem is the usage of a junk psu outputting lots of ripple and killing even the jap caps. thats why the problem returned again. either recap the psu with good caps as well or get rid of it and get an ultra-low ripple modern psu platform like the superflower leadex series or evga g2/g3 series.
ChaosLegionnaire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2019, 03:09 AM   #9
mrmazda
MrMazda
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
City & State: Hernando, FL
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 92
Default Re: Replace OST RLP and Nich HM with what?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChaosLegionnaire View Post
the root cause of your problem is the usage of a junk psu outputting lots of ripple and killing even the jap caps. thats why the problem returned again. either recap the psu with good caps as well or get rid of it and get an ultra-low ripple modern psu platform like the superflower leadex series or evga g2/g3 series.
Its PS is an Antec EA-430. I already replaced its OSTs with (mostly) Nichicons years ago. The CPU is 65W TDP. 3 500G Seagates as of a few months ago, was 1 for past several years until a few months ago, originally 2 320G when it was my LAN server. Passively cooled Radeon video. So this is not a power hungry configuration, and it doesn't get used enough to justify throwing much money at it.
mrmazda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2019, 12:50 PM   #10
Sparkey55
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
City & State: OK
My Country: USA
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 1,524
Default Re: Replace OST RLP and Nich HM with what?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrmazda View Post
Its PS is an Antec EA-430. I already replaced its OSTs with (mostly) Nichicons years ago. The CPU is 65W TDP. 3 500G Seagates as of a few months ago, was 1 for past several years until a few months ago, originally 2 320G when it was my LAN server. Passively cooled Radeon video. So this is not a power hungry configuration, and it doesn't get used enough to justify throwing much money at it.
An OUNCE of prevention is worth a POUND of cure.
Sparkey55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2019
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:06 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?