Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting Computer Displays
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-23-2013, 05:29 PM   #1
zoop57
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
City & State: Ipswich
My Country: United Kingdom
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1
Default Dell P2210f no power

Hi guys,

I'm new to this forum and was hoping someone could help me diagnose the problem with this power supply from a dell p2210f monitor.

I've attached some photos of the board, no caps seem to be visibly bulging and I can't spot any blown components.

Anyone got any ideas?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_1586.jpg (407.9 KB, 68 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_1587.jpg (456.0 KB, 83 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_1588.jpg (424.0 KB, 68 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_1589.jpg (428.8 KB, 61 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_1590.jpg (402.6 KB, 60 views)
zoop57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2013, 12:29 PM   #2
Davi.p
Badcaps Veteran
 
Davi.p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
City & State: Milan
My Country: Italy
Line Voltage: 230Vac 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 1,534
Default Re: Dell P2210f no power

1: Clarify your skill level. if you will use the forum in the future report always which test you have done in the first post. 2: tests with mains voltage switched on or off with main cap. charged can be very dangerous, if you know about that, with a dmm control if around 325v arrives to the legs of the bigger cap. 3: if doesn't control the fuse for open, that black cilinder near 220VAC socket. if is ok wait for further instructions or 4: test the outputs voltages, keep present that testing voltages on primary need the negative lead of dmm to be put on a part connected to the - of the big cap., for the secondary you can use those points connected to - of biggers secondary caps, to find the one for inverter section check the middle pin of those 3pin double diodes, if there aren't test with voltage off for short the main transistor on the primary, if it's shorted test the big resistor near it and everything connected to it for open/short apart the transformer 5: check for any other fuse on the secondary, them are labeled F1, F2 or PF1, PF2 etc..
Davi.p is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2013, 01:47 AM   #3
Rtech
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
City & State: Harrogate UK
Posts: 1,087
Default Re: Dell P2210f no power

How have you confirmed that it is the Power Supply that is faulty ?? When you switch the monitor on WITH a PC attached,does the Power light come on ?? Does the Power led change colour when the PC sends a signal to it ?? does that colour stay on all of the time ???
Rtech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2013, 03:21 PM   #4
hano009
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
City & State: Solna
My Country: Sweden
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1
Default Re: Dell P2210f no power

Im having the same exact problem, did you find a solution for this problem?
hano009 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2013, 10:10 PM   #5
lexwalker
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
My Country: Malaysia
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
Posts: 297
Exclamation Re: Dell P2210f no power

Quote:
Originally Posted by hano009 View Post
Im having the same exact problem, did you find a solution for this problem?
Did you try checking the easiest components to diagnose? Check the fuses, thermistor and diodes first. Discharge the big main capacitor first before checking! Use the continuity test on the multimeter to diagnose these components. You can use the same continuity test to quick check the capacitors for ability to charge (again, discharge the capacitors first before using this test).

Attach the IP (inverter and power supply) board to the mains power. Check for any voltages on the secondary side (one of them should be +5V while the other should be +12V or greater), then check the voltage across the big main capacitor on the primary side (should measure anywhere from +168V to +350V depending on your mains voltage).

Warning! Please put the board on a piece of insulator (e.g. cardboard, thick plastic, etc) and avoid the direct contact with the primary section while the board is connected to the mains power. Just becareful!
lexwalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2016, 07:49 AM   #6
mde_
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
City & State: Eupen, LG
My Country: Belgium
Line Voltage: 250VAC/50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 1
Default Re: Dell P2210f no power

Hi,

as I found this thread googling around for the same problem and nobody seems to have documented a fix, here's mine:

I had the same dead power supply and found that one of the big SR520 diodes was shorted. All caps looked fine in my case as well.

It seems to be insanely difficult to come by new SR520 diodes. Due to incorrect data sheets online (essentially copied SB520 data sheets), I figured it was a 5A 20V diode when it seems that it is in fact 200V. So I ended up buying SB560 (5A, 60V) as a replacement. This did NOT work.
I then went for a MUR420 "ultrafast diode" as a replacement - as suggested in another forum. Even though it is only specified at 4A instead of 5A, it seems to work well so far. As far as I can tell it is very unlikely that the diode actually has to support 5A in the first place: It is located on one of at least two secondary rails and the whole screen does not use as much power as this diode is designed for. If anyone has a different opinion about that I'm interested in hearing it, though.

Anyway, I hope this helps the next person coming along with the same (apparently quite common) problem.
mde_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2016, 02:14 AM   #7
vhartong
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
City & State: Delft
My Country: Netherlands
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 2
Default Re: Dell P2210f no power

Quote:
Originally Posted by mde_ View Post
Hi,

as I found this thread googling around for the same problem and nobody seems to have documented a fix, here's mine:

I had the same dead power supply and found that one of the big SR520 diodes was shorted. All caps looked fine in my case as well.

It seems to be insanely difficult to come by new SR520 diodes. Due to incorrect data sheets online (essentially copied SB520 data sheets), I figured it was a 5A 20V diode when it seems that it is in fact 200V. So I ended up buying SB560 (5A, 60V) as a replacement. This did NOT work.
I then went for a MUR420 "ultrafast diode" as a replacement - as suggested in another forum. Even though it is only specified at 4A instead of 5A, it seems to work well so far. As far as I can tell it is very unlikely that the diode actually has to support 5A in the first place: It is located on one of at least two secondary rails and the whole screen does not use as much power as this diode is designed for. If anyone has a different opinion about that I'm interested in hearing it, though.

Anyway, I hope this helps the next person coming along with the same (apparently quite common) problem.
Just aquired two broken 2210f monitor (and time to look at it). All caps also looked fine and indeed it was the SR520 diode that is broken. I can confirm this for two boards now (with one it was D855 and the other D854). Will try the fix as soon as I have the new parts.
Thanks for the post after 5 years!
vhartong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2016, 06:20 PM   #8
vhartong
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
City & State: Delft
My Country: Netherlands
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 2
Default Re: Dell P2210f no power

On both boards I have replaced D855 and D854 with the MUR420 and now the displays work again! (And thus confirming with two more repairs)
vhartong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2018, 09:20 AM   #9
Leanoric
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
City & State: Nottingham
My Country: UK
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3
Default Re: Dell P2210f no power

Same with my dead Dell P2210F; blows one of the parallel configured diodes D855 or D854. One of them goes s/c. Replaced twice with SB type. Now will try with suggested MUR420 type - ordered on EBay. Will post results. (Not expecting to work, problem may be elsewhere, but worth a try?)
Leanoric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2018, 05:51 AM   #10
Leanoric
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
City & State: Nottingham
My Country: UK
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3
Smile Re: Dell P2210f no power

Quote:
Originally Posted by vhartong View Post
On both boards I have replaced D855 and D854 with the MUR420 and now the displays work again! (And thus confirming with two more repairs)
Same here, with two Dell 2210f monitors. One monitor working fine. The other found to be faulty LCD panel - turns off after 2secs when power applied. Swapped the panels and found fault lies with panel. Both Power boards, with same repair, now fully working. Played all night on Neverwinter Online with my new HD monitor! Well chuffed. Thanks for this solution guys. Now just need to view more YouTube vids about repairing t-con boards for panels.
Leanoric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2018, 05:54 AM   #11
Leanoric
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
City & State: Nottingham
My Country: UK
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3
Default Re: Dell P2210f no power

Quote:
Originally Posted by mde_ View Post
Hi,

as I found this thread googling around for the same problem and nobody seems to have documented a fix, here's mine:

I had the same dead power supply and found that one of the big SR520 diodes was shorted. All caps looked fine in my case as well.

It seems to be insanely difficult to come by new SR520 diodes. Due to incorrect data sheets online (essentially copied SB520 data sheets), I figured it was a 5A 20V diode when it seems that it is in fact 200V. So I ended up buying SB560 (5A, 60V) as a replacement. This did NOT work.
I then went for a MUR420 "ultrafast diode" as a replacement - as suggested in another forum. Even though it is only specified at 4A instead of 5A, it seems to work well so far. As far as I can tell it is very unlikely that the diode actually has to support 5A in the first place: It is located on one of at least two secondary rails and the whole screen does not use as much power as this diode is designed for. If anyone has a different opinion about that I'm interested in hearing it, though.

Anyway, I hope this helps the next person coming along with the same (apparently quite common) problem.
Thank you it did. Just hope it's not 'masking' another problem? Will see how long solution lasts, hopefully, won't be a problem in future.
Leanoric is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2020
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:16 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?