Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Looking to buy my first hot air station.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Looking to buy my first hot air station.

What is the best hot air station I could buy under 200€?

I would like to use it for smd removal from laptop/desktop motherboards, gpu boards, maybe cellphones occasionally.

Might try to reflow some bga too.

I have zero experience in this field.

I don't care if it has a soldering iron as long as it is of acceptable quality and doesn't break down easily.

I have already looked at older posts about hot air stations but I feel a bit confused.

Anyway, thank you for reading this. This forum is the best

Re: Looking to buy my first hot air station.

I found some posts from momaka and others that recommend this:

http://www.xtronicusa.com/#!/X-TRONI...tion/p/9238594

Problem is I can't find it outside USA and I live in Greece...

Comment

Xtronic is the same stuff as all of the other Chinese stations (i.e. Aoyue, Yihua, KADA, etc.) The only difference is they offer much better warranty and support service, should something go bad with your station. Of course, this is reflected in their prices as well (they are generally more expensive). Since you are in Greece, I doubt there is much point in buying specifically from them.

Now, I will say that I am no expert when it comes to these hot air stations. I've just opened a few that we had back when I used to work in a repair shop, and that's all I have for my experiences with these stations.

The station you pointed to in the above link is the "older" style of hot air stations with a diaphragm pump inside. For one thing, they are more noisy than the new "newer" stations (which use a fan in the hot air wand to directly blow out the hot air). But in terms of build quality, I remember them being somewhat better with thicker wires inside. That was back around 2012, so things could have certainly changed now.