Yamaha RX-V665 After 3 sec. shuts down

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Yamaha RX-V665 After 3 sec. shuts down

I am new to this so please bear with me. My in-laws have a RX-V665 av receiver that will not stay powered on. When it initially quit they heard a loud pop through the speakers and then no sound. I got a copy of the service manual and put it in the self diagnostic mode and it powers on for 3 seconds with "DC PRT: 000L" on the display before it powers off. It does this 3 times then will not allow anymore power ons until I unplug and replug back in. My troubleshooting abilities in electronics are limited and any guidance would be greatly appreciated. Just don't know where to begin.

Re: Yamaha RX-V665 After 3 sec. shuts down

I'd say you have a shorted output transistor and the amp is in DC protect mode. As soon as the protection circuit senses DC on one of the output channels, it will protect itself and your speakers. So check the output transistors. Upload your service manual some pictures, so we have something to look at.

Comment

Here is a compressed version of the service manual. Too large to send in original format. Thank you for your help!
      Kevin
      Attached Files

Comment

I'm fully capable using a multimeter just not so capable troubleshooting electronics but trying to learn. I'll take some photos when I get home from work today. Just need some guidance on where these transistors are located and testing them. Im guessing they would be shorted to ground if bad? Thank you

Comment

There is a huge heatsink inside. So either there are "bricks" or individual transistors mounted to that heatsink. That's where we need to look at. I can't look at that zip file on my tablet, but I'll get it when I am on my PC again.

Comment